Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Goldminer's Sister” as Want to Read:
The Goldminer's Sister
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Goldminer's Sister

by
4.35  ·  Rating details ·  194 ratings  ·  59 reviews
Gold is a fever. Will it lead her to love ... or death? A suspenseful romance set on the turbulent goldfields of 1870s Australia, for readers of The Postmistress and The Woman in the Green Dress.

'There are people in this town with the gleam of gold in their eyes and cold steel in their hearts.'

1873. Eliza Penrose arrives in the gold mining town of Maiden's Creek in search
...more
ebook, 400 pages
Published July 1st 2020 by Mira Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Goldminer's Sister, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Goldminer's Sister

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.35  · 
Rating details
 ·  194 ratings  ·  59 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Goldminer's Sister
Phrynne
Jun 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 5000-2020
Alison Stewart writes really good historical fiction and this book is no exception.

The Goldminer's Sister is based on a young English miner who leaves the failing Cornish tin mines to go to the Australian goldfields. Five years later he sends for his sister to join him as he feels he is successful and established enough to provide them both with a future. Sadly during the course of her long sea crossing the situation changes radically and the story tells of how she survives and overcomes many d
...more
Brenda
When Eliza Penrose finally arrived in the Victorian town of Maiden’s Creek after long, arduous travel from England, she was looking forward to seeing the brother she hadn’t seen in the five years since he’d left home. Now, with her mother passed, she’d come to join William so they could forge a future together as part owners of the Shenandoah gold mine near Maiden’s Creek. But when she learned how circumstances had changed, Eliza was shattered; a strong young woman, she was determined to find he ...more
Brooke - One Woman's Brief Book Reviews
*www.onewomansbbr.wordpress.com

**4.5 stars**

The Goldminer's Sister by Alison Stuart. (2020).

**Thank you to Harlequin Australia for sending me a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review; published 8 July 2020**

In 1873 Eliza arrives in the goldmining town of Maiden's Creek in search of her brother but instead she finds a tragic mystery and hints of betrayals by those closest to her. Mining engineer Alec left Scotland to escape the memory of his dead wife and child and despite the b
...more
Karren  Sandercock
Aug 11, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
Thanks to NetGalley, Harlequin Australia and Alison Stuart for my copy of: The Goldminer’s Sister.

1873, after a very long journey from England Eliza Penrose arrives in the gold mining town of Maiden's Creek in Australia it’s been five years since she last saw her brother William and she’s excited to see him. When she arrives at her uncle’s Charles Cowper house she’s receives some very bad news about Will and she’s in total shock.

Alec McLeod left Scotland to escape the memories of losing his wife
...more
❀ Sarah ❀
A rural Australian story set in the 1870's goldrush era. With a romance and a mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Eliza, a young woman in Cornwall makes the arduous journey to Australia following a letter from her brother with an exciting prospect of fortune at a mine in Victoria. However when Eliza arrives to Maiden's Creek the prospects are looking far different than she ever imagined. The small town has a variety of residents with different faiths, living arrangements and p
...more
Mandy White (mandylovestoread)
I have recently discovered historical fiction, and found that I really enjoy it. Especially stories set in Australia. The Gold Miner's Sister was a wonderful story that had me transported back to 1873 rural Victoria. Alison Stuart brought the gold mining town of Maiden's Creek to life with her vibrant characters and descriptions of the beautiful landscapes. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the past.

Eliza Penrose has travelled from England to see her brother Will after 5 long years. Only when she
...more
Amanda - Mrs B's Book Reviews
*https://mrsbbookreviews.wordpress.com

'Please don’t patronise me, Uncle. I am not a girl. I am twenty five years old and I have been making my own way in the world for the last five years.’

Family, love, loyalty, mystery and plenty of determination comes into play in Alison Stuart’s The Goldminer’s Sister. A glimpse back in time to colonial Australia, we bear witness to the compelling journey of Eliza Penrose as she works to uncover the plot of betrayal and intrigue surrounding her brother’s myst
...more
✰  BJ's Book Blog ✰Janeane ✰
ARC received from Harlequin/Mira Australia for an honest review

I have lost a bit of my reading mojo lately, however when I picked up The Goldminer's Sister, it was back with a vengeance baby!

Australian historicals have been my jam the last 6 - 12 months. Alison Stuart is a new to me author, however after reading this story, I will be searching out more in the future.

Eliza is the kind of woman I want to be when I grow up. She doesn't need a man to look after her. She is strong. She is feisty. She
...more
Helen
Jul 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
‘One thing I’ve learned after my years out here is that gold is a fever, just like they say. It can change a man.’

The Goldminer’s Sister is a rich historical drama from 1873 set in a fictional gold mining town in the state of Victoria, Australia. The lead character of Eliza Penrose is a fabulously strong and determined woman for her time who pushes on, despite of and against the odds surrounding agitation from the local community and other surprising sources.

This story is engaging on so many l
...more
Jennifer (JC-S)
‘Out of the way, woman!’

June, 1873. After travelling from England, Eliza Penrose has arrived in the goldmining town of Maiden’s Creek, Victoria. She’s looking to start a new life with her brother, William, whom she’s not seen for five years. But Will does not turn up to meet her, and when she arrives at her uncle Charles Cowper’s home, she discovers why.

Alec McLeod is a mining engineer who came from Scotland to try to escape the memory of his dead wife and child. He’s determined to never fall in
...more
Helen
Jul 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Alison Stuart is such a fabulous story teller, this time she has taken us back to 1873 to a town called Maiden’s Creek Victoria were gold is the be all and end all and there are some people who will do anything to make sure they have as much as they can. This is a follow on from The Postmistress and a fabulous one, one I could barely put down, a must read.

Eliza Penrose arrives from England to meet up with her brother William, they have planned to make a new life here running the Shenandoah gold
...more
Bree T
I read and really enjoyed The Postmistress last year by Alison Stuart and this is a connected book, set in the same town and featuring characters that appeared in that previous book. In The Goldminer’s Sister, Eliza Penrose arrives deep into country Victoria where her brother William has been establishing a mine. In communication with Eliza, he has indicated that he believes it will turn the family’s unfortunate finances around and that she should come and join him when she can. However when she ...more
Maya Linnell
This is my second Alison Stuart novel and I really enjoyed being swept up in the gold rush. The character of Eliza Penrose was very well done. I enjoyed seeing her journey throughout the story, plus the depiction of a strong, intelligent and bold lead in times where women were very often undermined. Alec was a fitting male lead, I enjoyed the cast of support characters and the beautiful bush setting was well depicted.
Cindy L Spear
Jul 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Over the weekend I completed Alison's new novel The Goldminer's Sister. This is stunning work. Pure mystery genius. She has done an incredible amount of research and it sings with detail. I loved it from start to finish-- a real page turner. I give it 5 stars. Highly recommend everyone read it! ...more
Bronwyn
I thoroughly enjoyed The Goldminer's Sister. Engaging characters, gripping story, and I love the way that the author's historical research gets the small details right and gives a realistic sense of everyday life on the goldfields in the 1870s. That's a talent that many authors of historical novels lack. ...more
Jessica
Apr 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow!! An absolutely fantastic story about family, love, loss, greed and mystery. I am so glad that I got the chance to read this book, I absolutely loved it. I couldn't put it down. ...more
Kate thebooklover
The Goldminer’s Sister by Alison Stuart is a wonderful novel set in the fictional Victorian gold mining town of Maiden’s Creek. The story has it all, love and loss, tragedy, greed and suspense.

As I read I was taken back to the late 1800’s and could imagine the town, the people and the landscape as described throughout the pages of the book.

The story’s main focus is around the arrival of Eliza to the town and her learning of the death of her brother Will. Determine to understand her brothers fin
...more
Rachel
Wow! This book is special and does not fall short on characters, conflict, or the beautiful historical setting of goldrush Australia. It is completely captivating and definitely one of the best books I've read all year.

Set in 1873 in the fictional gold mining town of Maiden's Creek, Victoria, it is not an easy world or life for anyone, let alone a young woman. Eliza has just docked in Australia from England with plans to reconnect with her brother, only to learn that he has died in a dreadful, s
...more
Vicki Doak
Sep 23, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another easy to read, engaging historical drama by Stuart. I really enjoyed her prior novel, The Postmistress, so I welcomed the follow up book which has the same setting and some familiar characters. It is it’s own story by itself however. It has a good mix of mystery, romance and drama which has strong female leads throughout. Stuart writes good stories which are enjoyable to read knowing that they are loosely based on our history and apart of the very fabric of our nations identity.
Adrienne
Aug 07, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
There's nothing like a good Australian fiction novel to get me out of the doldrums and this one did not disappoint. I was able to get totally immersed in the lives of this goldminer's sister, her exciting problems and the many interesting characters who touched her life. It sure got me to forget about the pandemic, isolation, etc. Two thumbs up. ...more
Aryani Siti
Jul 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed the book so much. A historical set in the late nineteenth century in the countryside of victoria. Story about history, mystery and romance. Overwhelming reading!
Michelle
Aug 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Brilliant. I really, really loved this book. I love books with bad guys. Definitely a page turner. Cannot wait for more from this amazing author. Think I’m going to have withdrawals from this now.
Marg
Jul 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: aww-2020
In the 1850's gold was discovered in various places in Victoria. People left their homes to try their chances to find gold, to set themselves up for life on the basis of that one big find. And if that big find doesn't come today, then it will come tomorrow, or the day after, or when you move to a new mine. Even today, there are people who spend their lives either fossicking in the hope of finding a nugget, or doing large scale mechanical mining in the wilds of places like Alaska. Gold fever! And ...more
Roslyn Stillman
Jul 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is the second book by this author that I have read and have found them both to be excellent reads. After reading a couple of other murder mysteries that took a while to set the scene, this book has you turning the page from page 1. Although it is the second in the series I had no trouble following the characters and setting. The characters are well written and very easy to identify with. There has been a lot of research into the mining industry from 1873 that I found very interesting but no ...more
Jeannette
Sep 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Gold is a fever. Will it lead her to love ... or death? A suspenseful romance set on the turbulent goldfields of 1870s Australia, for readers of The Postmistress and The Woman in the Green Dress.
______
MY THOUGHTS:
Apart from being very partial to the name McLeod (!!!) I also enjoy books with strong female characters and I loved Eliza.

In 1873, Eliza Penrose arrives in the gold mining town of Maiden's Creek in search of her brother, planning to make a new life for herself. Instead she finds a tra
...more
Cel Jel
Sep 22, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed going back to the mining town again. I loved the opening scene with the almost collision set up between two of the characters in the book. A woman has travelled from Scotland to join her brother, only to find out that he has died. Her uncle takes her in and then tries to help her with gaining a job back in the main city of the colony.
Finally she realises there is more to her brothers death, and things move along to the ned.
I really enjoyed the weaving of the threads and the understand
...more
Kath
Jul 09, 2020 added it
Thoroughly enjoyed reading the second historical narrative about Maidens's Creek and the struggles the people of those times faced. I loved reading about the goldmines and the struggles the goldminers endured back in the 1800s. Miss Eliza Penrose, what a strong and vibrant character, I loved the build up to the final few chapters. Thank you for bringing the beautiful town of Walhalla to life Alison! ...more
Donna McEachran
Jul 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loved it.
Kathryn J H Jones
Dec 06, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a lovely. The author really managed to bring a small Australian mining town to life! The characters were wonderful. Really enjoyed it
Yolanda S
Sep 16, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I've not read Alison Stuart before and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I've also not read many books, fiction or non fiction, about mining in Australia circa 1800, and I can't comment on the accuracy of the detail and history. From reviews, however, it seems Alison Stuart is meticulous in researching her subject matter and the details in this proved is no different.

Overall, I found this book entertaining, enthralling and captured me from the moment I started reading to the end. I read the book
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Elsa Goody, Bushranger
  • Flying the Nest
  • The Silk House
  • The Mystery Woman
  • The Champagne War
  • The Cartographer's Secret
  • The Family Inheritance
  • The Road to Ironbark
  • The Last Truehart
  • The Women's Pages
  • The Good Woman of Renmark
  • The Sister’s Gift
  • Tiny White Lies
  • Deadman's Track
  • Something to Talk About
  • The Cake Maker’s Wish
  • Bottlebrush Creek
  • The Godmothers
See similar books…
275 followers
Mystery, history, romance and ghosts… Award winning Australian author, Alison Stuart learned her passion for history from her father. She has been writing stories since her teenage years but it was not until 2007 that her first full length novel was published. Alison has now published eight full length historical romances and a collection of her short stories and is working on a series of historic ...more

Related Articles

As this strange summer of staying put winds down, one thing remains truer than ever: Books offer us endless adventure and new horizons to...
57 likes · 30 comments