Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Duncan (The Lucky Irish Series, #1)” as Want to Read:
Duncan (The Lucky Irish Series, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Duncan (The Lucky Irish Series, #1)

by
4.02  ·  Rating details ·  41 ratings  ·  25 reviews
One horrible night changes Kayla’s life drastically. Instead of seeking help from her loved ones, Kayla freaks out and makes the snap decision to instantly pack up and leave her home, work and family in New Jersey.

Kayla is on her own as she recovers on the other side of the country in Austin, Texas. Determined on making a new life for herself, the last thing Kayla needs
...more
ebook
Published September 13th 2019
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Duncan, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Duncan

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.02  · 
Rating details
 ·  41 ratings  ·  25 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Duncan (The Lucky Irish Series, #1)
Jessi
Sep 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I love the characters and Pops seems like a hoot & a half. I love the storyline formula. You definitely can’t go wrong with Good Girl meets Bad Boy + instant attraction + hilarious/crazy family & friends + fall in love = good times. For this authors first work I think she did an outstanding job.

The only thing I would say about this book is that parts felt rushed a little. Sometimes it was a little difficult to differentiate between character thoughts and time changes. I would also have
...more
Denise Levendoski
Thank you to Anna Castor and Goodreads.com I won this book in a Giveaway.

Sweet, sexy and oh so much fun ! Can't wait to see what's in store for the other Mills boyos ! :-) There are quite a lot of characters and most have the same sounding names but it was a great quick fun book to read.
Laurie
Jan 09, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaways-won
3.0 Stars! I rec'd a digital Kindle copy through a Goodreads Giveaway in exchange for an honest review. Not a whole lot of complaints about this one, but also not a whole lot to brag about, it was just predictable. I do however think this story needed to slow it's roll a bit. Everything just happened way too fast and since it was only 176 pages there was definite room for lengthening and more story developing. Duncan and Kayla were a hot insta-love couple which is quite common in these reads, ...more
Louise
This was a quick, enjoyable read, very light (although there's some definite heavy stuff that happens). I'm giving it 3 stars: not fabulous, not bad. Based on what happens in this book, I can predict the pairings-off of other characters in further books in this series, and it seems just too neat. I doubt I'll pick up the rest of the series because of this.

I won this book through a Goodreads giveaway and I'm giving my honest opinion in return.
Cynthia
Dec 27, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a new author to me

I won a copy of this book from Goodreads giveaways and was required to give a favorable review. This story touches on a few things that I thought were well written about. Kayla fled from her hometown and very protective Iris family and ended up in Austin working for a PI. Duncan is Kayla's board brother and an ex MMS fighter. But she still has a stalker out there.
Kim Lady Saga
I won this book on goodreads. Thank you for the giveaway! The book is nicely written with a challenging topic. I enjoy the typical Irish family bound (aka everyone knows about everyone’s business) in the book and development of the story. There were scenes where I was laughing out loud and scenes that made me think and tear up. Looking forward to the second book.
Kerri
Sep 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not bad

Not a bad read, 3.5 stars rounded up to 4. It was entertaining and the romance was hot, though not entirely believable. The characters maybe could've used a little more detail/depth to them. Still, I generally enjoyed this one.
I won this book in a giveaway in exchange for an honest review.
Susan Parks
Good start

I received a free copy of this ebook in exchange for an honest review. The book started kind of slowly and was a bit disjointed in the first half. Everything came together very quickly towards the end. I'll look for the next book in the series.
Louise Wardell
Sep 26, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Nice read

Strong characters with good story line. Both Duncan and Kayla come from close Irish families. Kayla moves to Austin after being attacked. Duncan's family welcome her with open arms. Kayla's family come to her aid when her attacker reappears.
This is a romantic suspence.
Cindy
Dec 29, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I really liked both main characters of the book although I did wish there was more background for them in the beginning. There was a couple parts in the book that made me laugh out loud. I liked all the characters that were brought into the book and and can’t wait to read their stories ...more
Amanda Srygler
Dec 27, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Good Start

I won this book in a giveaway. I really like to characters especially pops, and the love of this big ol Irish family. It was short and fast. It's a really good start of a new series.
Samantha
Jan 02, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I won this book on a goodreads giveaway from this new to me author and I have to say I can't wait to read more. I love the characters and Pops seems like a typical Irish old man & is a hoot &a half. I love the storyline. Bad boy meets a sweet girl
Alma Petterson
Dec 31, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I liked it and can't wait for the rest of the books.
Mary
Oct 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Love Irish stories.Won this from Goodreads Want to read the whole series now.
Teresa
Dec 29, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaways
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Was a quick read that I couldn't put down. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.
Yvonne Munn
Jan 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loved the story and can’t wait for the next book.
Kasey
Oct 30, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Thank you for the opportunity to review this book as a giveaway recipient. I am excited to read it and will update my thoughts on this book soon!
Kathy Church
Jan 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Sexy

I enjoyed reading about Duncan and Kayla. I'm looking forward to reading about the love pairings of the rest of their brothers and sisters.
Jennifer Pierson
Sep 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
Duncan is the start of The Lucky Irish Series, and seriously, who doesn't love the Irish?! Oh, I so love me some Irish Luck, and this story is about 3 Irish families & their love lives! Okay, let me get on with it. This is the story of the good girl, Kayla, who shocks the hell out of her family when she packs up everything, and leaves her family, home, and work after a horrible night that wrecks her. So Kayla ends up in Austin, Texas, working for Duncan's older brother, and even though she's ...more
Lisa
Sep 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Rating: 4.5*

This series has started with a bang and I loved it. I felt so at home with all the characters as though I had known them a long time. The characters are each unique and bring their own brand of quirkiness and fun to the book. I am going to enjoy returning to these families time and time again.

Kayla is a fighter. She has survived a brutal attack, given up her job and moved far away from her family to protect them. Her determination in getting a job and the confidence she exuded, along
...more
Fran Zoch, LSoR
Sep 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is the first of this series and we have Kayla and Duncan, Kayla has a bad time so she packs everything up and moves to Austin, Texas and meets Duncan because she works for his brother.
The chemistry is awesome and I love the push and pull because I did not think it should be insta love with what she went through
 Laura
Sep 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
I liked the book. . The beginning had a lots of same tape of start of book as of a lot of books. But as you read it was better. I liked the family.
Kris
Jan 04, 2020 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kindle, own
Received digital thru #GoodreadsGiveaways. I wish, I could give this a favorable review. It sounded intriguing and I love to discover new authors and see how the develop. At best, the grammar and spelling were good. What failed for me was the immature take on a VERY over-used trope. It was a compilation of poorly worded ideas from other works, with heavy influences from Fifty Shades of Grey. The setting is supposed to be in Texas, but the accent and culture were not coming thru. The story starts ...more
Conny
Oct 03, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads, romance
I was a First Read Winner of this Book and on the surface it was everything I like in a good romance, but somehow I just never really got into it. I am an avid reader and I really hate when this happens to me. The characters for me lacked real chemistry, though they all seemed very likable, but I just could not buy the storyline, but clearly I am in the minority here. Also how many times in the course of a conversation, with only 2 characters, do you need to say the other persons name? Overall ...more
Susan Becker
Oct 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance
I won this book from Goodreads giveaway Duncan is the first book in The Lucky Irish series.

Book one is the story of Duncan and Kayla. The heroin in this story is having a bit of a rough patch so she packs up and moves to Austin Texas where she meets our hero Duncan. Their Chemistry is off the charts there is a back and forth with them that draws you in. They meet paths as she works for her brother. This book gives it all to you I found myself laughing out loud on some of the pages you get
...more
lisa yohner
rated it liked it
Dec 26, 2019
Melissa
rated it it was amazing
Sep 11, 2019
 Laura
rated it really liked it
Sep 13, 2019
jeanne weaver
rated it really liked it
Jan 15, 2020
Marcella Early
rated it really liked it
Nov 11, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Initiation (Filthy Rich Americans, #1)
  • Wicked Bite (Night Rebel, #2)
  • The Witch and the Guillotine (The Lives Of Lilly Parris, #2)
  • Breaking Up with Barrett (The English Brothers, #1; Blueberry Lane, #1)
  • Caballeros
  • Open Season: on love and death
  • The Girl in White Gloves
  • Midnight in Palmyra (Fresco Nights saga Book 3)
  • Fast Lane
  • A Good Man
  • Forever Lies
  • Playing for Keeps (Hot Jocks, #1)
  • Accidental Knight
  • Accidental Romeo
  • Accidental Rebel
  • Dirty Secret (Slayers Hockey, #1)
  • Darklight (Darklight, #1)
  • Wolf Gone Wild (Stay A Spell, #1)
See similar books…
28 followers
Former wedding photographer turned author. Sometimes funny & sweet, but always sexy—these ingredients are a must for her TBR books and those she writes.

She loves to write the banter between siblings but also the real talk that comes with family. There's no hiding from a nosy Pops ;-) Her books are for mature readers only because of their steamy content.

While photographing weddings, Anna Castor
...more