Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “What's Left of Me Is Yours” as Want to Read:
What's Left of Me Is Yours
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

What's Left of Me Is Yours

by
4.53  ·  Rating details ·  19 ratings  ·  8 reviews
A gripping debut set in modern-day Tokyo and inspired by a true crime, for readers of Everything I Never Told You and The Perfect Nanny, What's Left of Me Is Yours charts a young woman's search for the truth about her mother's life--and her murder.

In Japan, a covert industry has grown up around the "wakaresaseya" (literally "breaker-upper"), a person hired by one spouse
...more
Hardcover, 352 pages
Expected publication: April 21st 2020 by Doubleday Books (first published April 7th 2020)
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • What's Left of Me Is Yours by Stephanie     Scott
    What's Left of Me Is Yours
    by
    Release date: Apr 21, 2020
    *ARC GIVEAWAY*
    A gripping debut set in modern-day Tokyo and inspired by a true crime, for readers of Everything I Never Told You and The Perfect Nanny,
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 20 copies available, 3477 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jan 17 - Feb 16, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about What's Left of Me Is Yours, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about What's Left of Me Is Yours

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-49
    Average rating 4.53  · 
    Rating details
     ·  19 ratings  ·  8 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of What's Left of Me Is Yours
    Fiona Mitchell
    Nov 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    This graceful and evocative novel, told in two time frames, transports you all the way to modern-day Tokyo. In the present, we meet Rina’s daughter Sumiko who, when she is on the cusp of qualifying as a lawyer, gets a phone call from the Prison Service about an inmate called Kaitarō who is somehow connected to her mother Rina. Sumiko has always believed that her mother died in a car accident, but now everything she knew about her family is about to fall apart.

    The past charts the growing love
    ...more
    Shannon A
    Nov 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    How do I write a review for a book that is so descriptive and beautiful that it seems to have been an opera whispered?
    This story is so meticulous researched that you forget that this a novel; a story of a family and love so masterfully woven you forget the crime.
    A stunning debut of the many shades of love & how the best of lies are told nearest to truth.
    Tammy
    Dec 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
    Review TK
    Louise Beech
    Dec 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    A beautiful, beautiful book that defies genre - and my words. There is a crime. There is betrayal. There is love. There is history. This is truly an epic, meticulously and lovingly researched, with such exquisite description and detail that I read the same lines over, many times. There are thought-provoking observations, unforgettable characters, and heart-breaking decisions that set in motion catastrophic events. I will not forget this book for a long time.
    Roman Clodia
    Nov 30, 2019 rated it liked it
    This is a beautifully written but rather slight novel about the consequences of passion and long-held family secrets. What lifts it above many books in the same space is the elegant precision of the writing, and the insight into modern Japanese culture. The structure of a daughter reconstructing her mother's life is very familiar, but the relationship at the heart of the book is rendered with a visceral sense of bodies. Nicely done but not a book to linger in my mind once read.The

    ARC from
    ...more
    Elle Rudy
    Nov 08, 2019 marked it as to-read
    Shelves: netgalley, 2020
    *Thanks to Doubleday Books & Netgalley for an advance copy!
    Charissa
    Dec 24, 2019 rated it it was ok
    I was very frustrated with this story in that it seemed like it was all over the place. I kept rereading sections because I thought I missed something but it was very hard to follow.
    Thank you NetGalley for a copy of the book.
    Tyler
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 18, 2020
    Amy Morgan
    rated it really liked it
    Sep 18, 2019
    Carol
    rated it it was amazing
    Sep 29, 2019
    Rene Denfeld
    rated it it was amazing
    Dec 11, 2019
    Margo
    rated it it was amazing
    Oct 16, 2019
    Lolly K Dandeneau
    rated it really liked it
    Sep 19, 2019
    Jill Joplin
    rated it it was amazing
    Dec 15, 2019
    Doris Moore
    rated it it was amazing
    Oct 06, 2019
    Christina Stockard
    rated it it was amazing
    Sep 26, 2019
    Mary Helvoigt
    rated it really liked it
    Dec 27, 2019
    Doubleday  Books
    rated it it was amazing
    Dec 12, 2019
    Heather Smith
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 20, 2020
    Caroline
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 04, 2020
    Jennifer
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 22, 2019
    Tia
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 26, 2019
    Jenn Adams
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 08, 2019
    Rachael
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 23, 2019
    Elaine
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 03, 2019
    Catherine
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 10, 2020
    Reggie
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 15, 2019
    Read In Colour
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 19, 2019
    Shauna
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 19, 2019
    Janet
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 22, 2019
    Nancy
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 30, 2019
    Mary McBride
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 03, 2019
    Heike
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 06, 2019
    Olivia Elizabeth
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 12, 2019
    Meliney
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 12, 2019
    Catherine Peterson
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 12, 2019
    Jennifer
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 13, 2019
    Kelly
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 13, 2019
    Cortney
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 13, 2019
    Audrey
    added it
    Sep 14, 2019
    Erika Verbeck
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 14, 2019
    Fareeda
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 15, 2019
    Michelle
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 16, 2019
    Jenna Friebel
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 16, 2019
    Dasca
    added it
    Sep 16, 2019
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family
    • My Dark Vanessa
    • Code Name Hélène
    • The Other People
    • Take Me Apart
    • The Anthill
    • The Lies We Hide
    • Saint X
    • The Girl with the Louding Voice
    • The Secrets We Kept
    • The Glass Hotel
    • The Family Upstairs
    • If I Had Your Face
    • The Love Story of Missy Carmichael
    • Pursuit
    • Good Citizens Need Not Fear: Stories
    • The Majesties
    • Running with Sherman
    See similar books…