Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Smuggler's Fortune (Eterean Empire, #0.5)” as Want to Read:
Smuggler's Fortune (Eterean Empire, #0.5)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Smuggler's Fortune

(Eterean Empire #0.5)

by
4.31  ·  Rating details ·  26 ratings  ·  12 reviews
An Eterean Empire standalone novel

Kyrra d'Aliente's metal arm gets her in trouble. Sometimes, it's not even her fault.

Mercenary Kyrra d’Aliente’s homecoming is not as triumphant as she hoped. Her family is dead, her pockets empty, the man she loves missing, and a bunch of out-of-work sellswords want to steal her metal arm. So, when an encounter with an old friend leads to
...more
Kindle Edition, 169 pages
Published October 22nd 2020 by Impossible Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Smuggler's Fortune, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Smuggler's Fortune

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-44
Average rating 4.31  · 
Rating details
 ·  26 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Smuggler's Fortune (Eterean Empire, #0.5)
Bjørn
Jan 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
When I read the first book in the series, Fortune's Fool, I originally gave it four stars, because I found the young Kyrra irritating – not unlikeable, just irritating, and if it weren't for the double timeline there would be a chance of me not finishing the book. As I progressed, I became more and more immersed in the world – Ms Boord does an impeccable job at worldbuilding. Then I finished, reviewed the book, gave it four stars and moved on. Except I didn't actually move on, because I found my ...more
Lukasz
Jan 02, 2020 rated it really liked it
4.5/5

Smuggler's Fortune is set in between the past and present narratives of Fortune's Fool. It shows the beginnings of Kyrra and Razi's friendship.

I loved the writing. characterization, pacing and the world. It made me excited for more stories from the world.

* At 170 pages it's rather a short novel but whatever.
...more
a.♡
Sep 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I really liked them both in book one, and after this, I definitely hope we will get to see Razi and Nibas make more appearances/play a larger role in book 2 than they did in Fortune’s Fool.
Kel
Jan 17, 2021 rated it it was amazing
For readers of Fortune's Fool, Smuggler's Fortune provides some excellent backstory, establishes Kyrra's friendship with Razi, and is a fast-paced, adventurous read. For those new to the series, Smuggler's Fortune would be an excellent (and slightly less daunting) introduction to the Eterean Empire, with the world-building seamlessly and masterfully integrated into this short and entertaining read. Very glad I picked this one up. ...more
Levi Jacobs
Jan 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Loved this! Boord's characters shine--each with deep cultural and personal history, motivations, and reasons for joining the rapidly-descending-into-chaos quest that drives the plot of this shortish novel. Their banter is wonderful, their shifting relationships make for a wonderful backdrop to the twists and action, and she has a wonderful knack for balancing nuanced, troubled humanity with levity and humor. Smuggler's Fortune is a quick and rollicking ride with a lovable bunch of vagabonds--per ...more
Angela Boord
Oct 16, 2020 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: my-books
** Smuggler's Fortune is now available for pre-order! Release date for the e-book is October 22!

Paperback and hardback editions will also contain the bonus Eterean Empire story Dragonmeat.***

...more
Krystle
Dec 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Boord returns us to the Eterean Empire with this fast-paced story about Kyrra's time as a mercenary. For those who've read Fortune's Fool, we get a delightful treat: more of Razi and Nibas, who were so fantastic in Fortune's Fool. However, those looking to try out Boord's novella are able to jump right in without needing to read Fortune's Fool first!

The story itself is tight and exciting, at times humourous and heart breaking. A fantastic addition to Boord's growing repertoire!
...more
Britta
Feb 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
Boord does it again. She just stands back, arms crossed with a half-smile on her face as her characters grab you by the collar and pull you head first into their world.

Honestly, what a treat this was. In a perfect world, more authors would "accidentally" turn a short story into a novella (although I preferred it when she informed Twitter that the word count originally made this "accidentally" a novel). 170 pages is not enough Kyrra and nowhere NEAR enough Razi, but I'll take what I can get in th
...more
Suzannah
Jun 29, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy, rating-r
A beautifully written midquel novella in the same series as FORTUNE'S FOOL, the runner-up to the 5th annual SPFBO competition! I enjoyed this lighter, tighter story - it's full of grim humour and visceral action, but my favourite part by far was the numinous sequence in a labyrinthine tomb, where our main character comes face to face with one of the rival gods that's interested himself in her life.

Thrilling and gorgeously written. Rated R for violence and language.
...more
Ray Curto
Jun 09, 2020 rated it liked it
Smuggler's Fortune is a long novella.

The author does an amazing job in world-building and the setting. She also has created some compelling and interesting characters, particularly Kyrra.

It has been a few weeks since I read the novella, but I don't remember the story or the plot.

The author is a fantastic writer because she created vibrant, interesting, engaging, and three-dimensional characters, the world-building and setting are the most interesting and original that I have read in a fantasy n
...more
Virginia
Nov 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I adored this. Also, where do I officially sign up for team Ravi?
Julia
Nov 11, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Wow.

I loved this book. Good world building, believable characters that you care about. I want to know more! Which is why I leave you now to read the next book!
Catberks
rated it really liked it
Jan 03, 2021
Aleina Markham
rated it it was amazing
Jan 07, 2020
_apr_
rated it liked it
Feb 06, 2021
Jesper Pettersen
rated it really liked it
Apr 19, 2020
Charlotta
rated it it was amazing
Jan 03, 2021
Jon Adams
rated it really liked it
Mar 27, 2020
Matty
rated it really liked it
Oct 22, 2020
Steve Boivie
rated it really liked it
Dec 19, 2020
Kraig
rated it really liked it
Dec 23, 2020
Kristin
rated it really liked it
Dec 28, 2020
Janet Tippens
rated it it was amazing
Sep 18, 2020
Tamara
rated it it was amazing
Jan 11, 2020
Aaron
rated it really liked it
Apr 14, 2021
Darren McGowan
rated it liked it
Feb 02, 2021
Travis Riddle
rated it really liked it
Jan 27, 2020
Jon Auerbach
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2019
Luke Tarzian
marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2020
Carol
marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2020
Liilia
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2020
alice.
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2020
Ricardo Guerrero
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2020
Erin Dydek
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2020
Kim
marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2020
OldBird
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2020
David de Weger
marked it as to-read
Mar 04, 2020
Quiraang
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2020
Jason
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2020
Jason Aycock
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2020
James Fitzjimbles
marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2020
Angelica Padilla
marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Lost War (Eidyn #1)
  • The Sword of Kaigen
  • Bringing Down the Duke (A League of Extraordinary Women, #1)
  • The Siege of Skyhold (Mage Errant #5)
  • This Is How You Lose the Time War
  • Carpet Diem
  • A Prince of Song and Shade (A Tale of Stars and Shadow, #2)
  • Spellbreaker (Spellbreaker Duology, #1)
  • She Dreams in Blood (The Obsidian Path, #2)
  • The First Girl Child
  • The Last Guardian (Jon Shannow, #2)
  • Bloodstone (Jon Shannow, #3)
  • Wolf in Shadow (Jon Shannow, #1)
  • Penric's Fox (Penric and Desdemona, #5)
  • The Glamourist (The Vine Witch, #2)
  • Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth
See similar books…
64 followers
Angela Boord lives in northwestern Mississippi with her husband and the seven of their nine kids who are still under the age of eighteen, where she writes most of her books at the kitchen table.

FORTUNE'S FOOL is her debut novel and placed second in Mark Lawrence's 2019 SPFBO 5. She is currently hard at work on more books in the Eterean Empire series, as well as a Cold War portal fantasy series set
...more

Other books in the series

Eterean Empire (1 books)
  • Fortune's Fool (Eterean Empire #1)

Related Articles

  Author C.L. Clark is no newcomer to the sci-fi and fantasy scene. Though she just published her first novel, The Unbroken, earlier this year,...
126 likes · 12 comments