Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bad Witch Burning” as Want to Read:
Bad Witch Burning
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bad Witch Burning

by
4.94  ·  Rating details ·  64 ratings  ·  15 reviews
For fans of Us and The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina comes a witchy story full of black girl magic as one girl’s dark ability to summon the dead offers her a chance at a new life, while revealing to her an even darker future.

Katrell doesn’t mind talking to the dead; she just wishes it made more money. Clients pay her to talk to their deceased loved ones, but it isn’t enou
...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Expected publication: August 24th 2021 by Delacorte
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bad Witch Burning, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Jessica Lewis Yes there are!! Some gore, physical violence against a minor, and emotional manipulation.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.94  · 
Rating details
 ·  64 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Bad Witch Burning
Victoria Schwab
Feb 07, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Practical Magic + Black Girl Magic. This was a taut, powerful novel. I couldn't put it down. ...more
Fanna
Jun 23, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2021-releases
June 23, 2020: I mean, how do you not expect me to be excited for a teen witch raising the dead for some cash?
Circe Moskowitz
Feb 23, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2021, cover-lust
When I was a teen, there was very little YA contemporary that I could relate to. Not only because it was white girl city—but because many of them contained a myriad of problems I couldn’t connect with. I didn't have the perfectly quirky and eccentric “coming of age” that I often saw depicted in mainstream media.

I struggled with drug addiction. I skipped school and got into lots of trouble and gave the world hell. My family wrestled with money problems, moved from place to place, never quite roo
...more
J. Elle
Nov 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is one of the best books I’ve ever read. The main characters voice pulled me right in and immediately captivated me. I don’t want to give a lot away but this is a book you devour in one sitting. The author has painted a vivid character with stakes you can really relate to. And the way she weaves in such suspense, it’s impossible to put down. All those things considered and the nuanced commentary in this masterpiece, I am absolutely sure this piece is going to make so many kids feel seen.

A
...more
Elvin-bala Parrilla
Jun 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I'll put it this way: when I read Bad Witch Burning, I missed a few meetings at work because I HAD TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS NEXT. Jessica Lewis crafted a tense-filled story from start to finish, and with every chapter the suspense goes up and up. Katrell is a heroine you can't help but root for, flaws and all. She's been through a lot, where even her dark magic abilities can't fix. So seeing her earn money with her powers is plausible and relatable. Black Witch Burning is filled with Black girl ...more
Lin
Dec 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
For reference: I read an earlier draft of this back when it was an early, early draft. I'm sure much has changed (I know it has) but I will write to the version I read and update when I have read the full book.

The version I read was top notch. The emotions I felt coming from Katrell were so real it made me feel her pain and her anger. I won't say much, as the book hasn't come out and I don't want to post spoilers or possibly say something vastly incorrect, but just know that this was a fantastic
...more
Lin Smith
Jun 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I was lucky enough to read an early-ish version of this book, and I read it in one sitting. I couldn't put it down. The concept is so fresh and gripping, the characters so perfectly imperfect, and the tension will keep you up at night. With magic sprinkled throughout, this #ownvoices book touches some pretty serious themes, including Black poverty, and the lengths a teenage girl will go to fight her way out of it. It made me laugh and cry multiple times. Cannot recommend this book highly enough! ...more
Mary
Sep 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
This book is LIFE CHANGING good, y'all. Life changing. ...more
Tas
Oct 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
THIS BOOK IS EVERYTHING YOU WILL EVER NEED IN YOUR LIFE!!
Maria
Nov 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book is going to be epic!
Alyssa Thomas
Jun 23, 2020 marked it as to-read
um i need this
Meg Long
Apr 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book is so authentic and magical and gripping! I was lucky and got to read an early version. I read it over the course of a couple of days and couldn't put it down. I had to know what happened to Katrell and Conrad and Will.

If you're looking for something that's unapologetically #ownvoices and full of black girl magic, then you've definitely found it. This book's got a fresh take on zombies, a dog that I would die for, a powerful friendship, and a main character I never stopped rooting for
...more
Sarah C. Street
Feb 11, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I was lucky to read a very early version of this book in... 2018?? and it was already incredible then. I cannot wait to read Katrell's story in its final form! Life changing, y'all. You do not wanna miss this one! 🖤 ...more
Lizzy.Writes
Jul 13, 2020 marked it as to-read
A witchy book?? It's more likely than you think. ...more
Phoebe Jeziel
Yooooo... this book sounds dope as hell. I think black authors are some of the richest story tellers, and this book feels no different. This is definitely going to be one of my most anticipated.
SE
rated it it was amazing
Apr 15, 2020
Lynn Painter
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2020
Evinus
rated it it was amazing
Apr 15, 2020
Chad Lucas
rated it it was amazing
Aug 04, 2020
TANMOY MITRA
rated it liked it
Feb 11, 2021
Remi
rated it really liked it
Feb 22, 2021
Heather
rated it it was amazing
Apr 26, 2020
Louisa Onomé
rated it it was amazing
Apr 16, 2020
Joan F.
rated it it was amazing
Oct 29, 2020
C.M. Fick
rated it it was amazing
Feb 18, 2021
Crystal Maldonado
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2020
Alysa
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2020
Christina Li
rated it it was amazing
Apr 24, 2020
Anne-Sophie
rated it it was amazing
Jul 21, 2020
Shakirah Bourne
rated it it was amazing
Apr 16, 2020
« previous 1 3 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Can't Take That Away
  • Be Dazzled
  • Jade Fire Gold
  • You and Me at the End of the World
  • Kingdom of Secrets
  • Alone
  • The Dead and the Dark
  • Jay's Gay Agenda (Jay's Gay Agenda, #1)
  • A Lesson in Vengeance
  • Blood Like Magic (Blood Like Magic, #1)
  • Beach Read
  • The Devil Makes Three
  • Down Comes the Night
  • Red at the Bone
  • Josephine Against the Sea
  • American Betiya
  • Two Can Keep a Secret
  • A Pho Love Story
See similar books…

News & Interviews

  As dedicated readers already know, some of the best and most innovative stories on the shelves come from the constantly evolving realm of...
10 likes · 3 comments