Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “An Exotic Heir (Merry Men Quartet Book 1)” as Want to Read:
An Exotic Heir (Merry Men Quartet Book 1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

An Exotic Heir

(Merry Men #1)

by
3.55  ·  Rating details ·  226 ratings  ·  18 reviews
For fans of Mary Jo Putney and Meredith Duran, an enchanting tale of revenge and the risks people will take in the name of love.

Weaving a web of revenge can be satisfying, but dangerous to your heart.
London society is shallow and cruel, sending Cassandra Renwick running to Calcutta, India, the exotic seat of the British Raj. It’s a fascinating place filled with interest
...more
Kindle Edition, 255 pages
Published January 6th 2014 by Anessa Books (first published June 7th 2005)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about An Exotic Heir, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about An Exotic Heir

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.55  · 
Rating details
 ·  226 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of An Exotic Heir (Merry Men Quartet Book 1)
Kathy Golden
Oct 13, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An Exotic Heir (Merry Men Quartet Book 1)



This is a clean romance and a really interesting read. The Calcutta setting is refreshing. The author gives us a hero who grapples with his mixed race in a way that is vulnerable and realistic. The heroine, too, encounters her own personal difficulties as a woman who wants to be more than just a prize with a generous dowry.

The way in which the author handles the theme of revenge provides some interesting twists. For the most part, I enjoyed this coup
...more
Romance Novels in Color
This is a story about the norms and dictates of upper English society and how true love can and will break those barriers!

Cassandra Renwick is from a moderately well-statured English family living in Calcutta, India, where her father has a position of prominence. She was sent to London for a “Season” to “come out” with her cousin, but was deeply humiliated by a member of the Ton, Lord Felbridge, who thought she wasn’t deserving of him. Cassandra flees back to Calcutta in shame. This begins Cassa
...more
Allie
Nov 10, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: voraciousreads
An Exotic Heir by Meredith Bond is the first in the Merry Men Quartet series. While I was interested in this book first because of the romance, the overall highlights from this book come from the messages that are still true today. This book pretty much had me interested from the beginning. When I usually read a historical book it is generally centrally focused in England. The first part of this book was focused in India and I truly loved the imagery.

I haven’t read very many books featuring Ind
...more
Stephanie
Oct 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received this book from For Voracious Readers only for an honest review.

I love historical romances. I started reading them back in eighth grade with my best friend, Julie. We would sleep over at each other's houses and spend late nights reading, giggling over the salacious parts and passing books between us. Flea markets were scrounged for these novels and Johanna Lindsey became a household name.

Fast forward to now...I was excited to be offered this free book. It's a clean historical romance,
...more
HR-ML
This was originally titled "Love of My Life." It occurred
in London, Calcutta, and London again in 1810. I really
wanted to like this book but some elements impeded a
better story.

The focal point of this story involved a bright, attractive
"Eurasian" man, Julian with an Indian mother & English
father. English ex-patriots in Calcutta gave Julian the
"cut direct" and spoke rudely to him and about him.

Cassandra had an abbreviated 1st season due to her naivete.
She didn't realize ton marriages occ
...more
Judy Munoz
Oct 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a review copy of this book from the author through Voracious Readers.
I was excited to read this book. Historical romance is my favourite genre. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The author created engaging and loveable characters. I particularly liked how strong, and yet vulnerable, Cassie and Julian were, each in their own way. The plot moved well and I enjoyed the touches of humour the author included. Personally I would have preferred a bit more romantic drama, but the
...more
Sharon Eikenberry-Deary
Prejudice revenge love and honesty

Cassandra over hearing 2 different conversations in different countries tries and different times. But even so the message was the same. She was not good enough to marry on her own merits but because of her dowary fathers position these 2 men would marry her. When in Calcutta she found she was wanting to help people like herself who had been wronged. Juliane was treated with prejudice and she tried to help. She fell in love but found out he had deceived her. Wha
...more
Seema
This was an okay book. The story of a young English girl who travels to India and meets a man whose father was an Earl and mother a Bengali lady. It talks about the racism in society at the time. Julian is shunned by the British society in India and England until the heroine manages to get him acceptance by Prinny. Cassandra herself is an outsider yet manages to make herself successful as she is a beauty. It was well written but I enjoyed reading about julian's friends more than the two main cha ...more
Deb Diem
Dec 31, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An Exotic Heir also known as Love Of My Life by Meredith Bond is a fabulous historical romance. Ms. Bond has provided us with a smooth read with her well-written book. Cassandra and Julian's story has plenty of twists and turns, drama, humor and spice. I enjoyed reading An Exotic Heir and look forward to reading more from Meredith Bond soon. An Exotic Heir is book 1 of the Merry Men Quartet Series but can be read as a standalone. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger. ...more
Heather
An exotic heir

I enjoyed the story and the characters. It flows well and i keeps you engage. I gave the book a 3.5 because it is need of editing. The Aunt refers to the heroine as Cousin even though she is her niece. Maybe this is a cultural thing that i am not aware of. I found it confusing though. There are also several other spelling errors (ie. Our instead of your)

All in all it was a good story
James Overcash
Feb 14, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Quick, amusing, stand-alone read. What's a body to do when one is shunned in England and India both?

Would have given a 5 if plot more full-bodied. Easy simple read. Characters need more depth-fleshing out. Comparable to thin Regency Harlequin books, which I always enjoy.
...more
Jennifer Smalley
It was an ok read. I liked the friendship aspect but didn't love some plot design. I'll still read the rest. ...more
Victoria
Mar 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It is a great book to read
Presly Jones
Apr 19, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: meh
I appreciate the fact that the book encourages one to rise above every form of discrimination, aside that it was just an okay read.
Rubia La Faye
To fit in

A lighthearted and easy to read tale about being ignored in social circles. Some things felt anachronistic. But will keep you entertained for awhile.
Nicky Penttila
A traditional regency, with a twist. The Calcutta setting adds depth to a familiar tale, a young girl's learning how her heart works and a very lucky young man.
Reissue: I think its first title was Love of My Life
...more
Nancy Messina
Jul 18, 2020 rated it liked it
This was a cute story. It didn’t feel very realistic in a historical sense. There was a bit too much travel between continents and the heroine seemed to be able to get away with a lot.
LemontreeLime
Unusual variation on a theme, very nice!
Ashley
rated it it was amazing
Sep 27, 2020
Janet Hussain
rated it liked it
Jan 27, 2018
Michele Sprague
rated it liked it
Dec 19, 2017
Delene Vrey
rated it really liked it
Jan 29, 2018
Virginia Volkman
rated it it was amazing
Feb 17, 2018
Cindy Coker
rated it it was ok
Dec 12, 2017
Debra Collis
rated it it was ok
Oct 25, 2017
Sabrina
rated it it was ok
Mar 26, 2020
Mahesh
rated it it was ok
Nov 10, 2019
Selton
rated it really liked it
Dec 12, 2018
Lidy
rated it liked it
Oct 31, 2017
Derineh Cooper
rated it really liked it
May 14, 2019
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Sinopsis en Español // Synopsis in Spanish 1 1 Nov 04, 2015 09:56AM  
Making Connections: 993. - AN EXOTIC HEIR (Merry Men #1) by Meredith Bond 4 24 Mar 21, 2013 09:20AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • An Affair in Winter (Seasons #1)
  • Barely a Bride (Free Fellows League #1)
  • Once Upon a Duke (12 Dukes of Christmas, #1)
  • The Pleasure Of His Kiss (Tales From Seldon Park #15)
  • Stone Devil Duke (Hold Your Breath, #1)
  • Worth of a Duke (Lords of Fate #1)
  • The Curse of Felsham Hall (A Lord and Lady Covington Mystery Book 1)
  • The Duke of My Heart
  • Mask of Duplicity (The Jacobite Chronicles #1)
  • The Mask of Time
  • Tame a Wild Heart (Tame, #1)
  • The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae (Cynster, #18; The Cynster Sisters Trilogy, #3)
  • The Untamed Bride (Black Cobra Quartet #1)
  • Cowboy Blue
  • Death at a Drop-In (Myrtle Clover Mysteries, #5)
  • The Edge of Desire (Bastion Club, #7)
  • The Lady Chosen (Bastion Club, #1)
  • Sins of the Past (The Star Elite's Highwaymen Investigation Book 2)
See similar books…
174 followers
Meredith Bond's books straddle that beautiful line between historical romance and fantasy. An award-winning author, she writes fun traditional Regency romances, medieval Arthurian romances, and Regency romances with a touch of magic. Known for her characters “who slip readily into one’s heart,” Meredith loves to take her readers on a journey they won't soon forget. She is currently living in Europ ...more

Other books in the series

Merry Men (7 books)
  • The Merry Marquis (Merry Men Quartet, #2)
  • A Rake's Reward (Merry Men Quartet, #3)
  • A Dandy In Disguise (Merry Men Quartet, #4)
  • My Lord Ghost (The Grace Sisters Trilogy, #2; Merry Men, #5)
  • A Spanish Dilemma: A Regency Novella (Merry Men, #5.5)
  • My Gentleman Thief (The Grace Sisters Trilogy, #3; Merry Men, #6)

Related Articles

  Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people fall in love with books about falling in love. Every month our team...
48 likes · 4 comments