Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Anthill” as Want to Read:
The Anthill
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Anthill

4.40  ·  Rating details ·  5 ratings  ·  1 review
An intoxicating literary ghost story told through the eyes of a young woman returning to her former homeland of Colombia to seek redemption for a past she can't entirely remember.

Twenty-eight year old Lina has come home to the country of her childhood. Sent away from Colombia to England after her mother's death twenty years before, she's searching for a connection to
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: May 12th 2020 by Doubleday Books
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • The Anthill by Julianne Pachico
    The Anthill
    by
    Release date: May 12, 2020
    *GALLEY GIVEAWAY*

    Enter for a chance to win a copy of THE ANTHILL by Julianne Pachico.

    For readers of The Vegetarian and Friday Black, The Anthill is
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 2797 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jan 01 - Jan 31, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about The Anthill, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about The Anthill

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-33
    Average rating 4.40  · 
    Rating details
     ·  5 ratings  ·  1 review


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of The Anthill
    Nicky Neko
    Sep 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    I was lucky enough to get an advanced reading copy of this book, and what an incredibly moving and fantastic book it is. Set in Medellín in Colombia, it follows the story of Lina (half British, half Colombian), who left the city at the age of 8 for England, and is returning twenty years later to reconnect with her childhood friend/adopted brother she left behind. Her friend, Matty, now runs a voluntary after-school clubhouse in the barrio called the Anthill where Lina goes to volunteer.

    I shan't
    ...more
    Alex
    rated it really liked it
    Dec 24, 2019
    Margo
    rated it it was amazing
    Oct 16, 2019
    Ming
    rated it liked it
    Nov 17, 2019
    Doubleday  Books
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 03, 2020
    Agnese
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 30, 2019
    Georgia Holmes
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 13, 2020
    Laura
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 18, 2020
    Blair
    added it
    Dec 07, 2019
    Matasatan
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 20, 2019
    Gemma F
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 29, 2019
    Tanis Eve
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 29, 2019
    Natalie
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 04, 2019
    Brooke
    added it
    Sep 04, 2019
    Zach Herman
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 29, 2019
    Rebecca
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 30, 2019
    Ayami
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 02, 2019
    Kara
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 08, 2019
    Stacia
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 08, 2019
    Synthia Salomon
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 11, 2019
    James Beggarly
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 11, 2019
    Catherine
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 12, 2019
    Samantha
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 17, 2019
    Jill
    added it
    Oct 19, 2019
    Kathleen Bianchi
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 20, 2019
    Laura ReddMo
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 20, 2019
    Douglas
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 27, 2019
    Paula Davidson
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 29, 2019
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • What's Left of Me Is Yours
    • American Spy
    • Bubblegum
    • Notes from an Apocalypse: A Personal Journey to the End of the World and Back
    • Good Citizens Need Not Fear: Stories
    • My Sister, the Serial Killer
    • Much Ado About Nothing
    • コンビニ人間 [Konbini ningen]
    • Snakes Can't Run (Detective Robert Chow #2)
    • Drapetomania: Or, The Narrative of Cyrus Tyler & Abednego Tyler, lovers
    • One Red Bastard (Detective Robert Chow #3)
    • Ghost Month (Taipei Night Market #1)
    • Twas the Nightshift Before Christmas
    • Murder at Christmas: Ten Classic Crime Stories for the Festive Season
    • Chinatown Beat (A Detective Jack Yu Investigation #1)
    • This Is a Bust (Detective Robert Chow #1)
    • This City Is a Minefield
    • The 392
    See similar books…
    62 followers
    Julianne Pachico was born in 1985 in Cambridge, England. She grew up in Cali, Colombia, where her parents worked in international development as agricultural social scientists.

    In 2004 she moved to Portland, Oregon, where she completed her B.A. at Reed College in Comparative Literature. In 2012 she returned to England in order to complete her M.A. in Prose Fiction at the University of East Anglia
    ...more
    No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »