Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Trading in Danger / Remnant Population” as Want to Read:
Trading in Danger / Remnant Population
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Trading in Danger / Remnant Population

(Vatta's War)

4.25  ·  Rating details ·  259 ratings  ·  4 reviews
A 2-for-1 bundle from Hugo-nominated author Elizabeth Moon! Kylara Vatta is the only daughter in a family full of sons, and her father's only child to buck tradition by choosing a military career instead of joining the family business. For Ky, it's no contest: Even running the prestigious Vatta Transport Ltd. shipping concern can't hold a candle to shipping out as an offic ...more
Kindle Edition, 314 pages
Published (first published September 30th 2003)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Trading in Danger / Remnant Population, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Trading in Danger / Remnant Population

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.25  · 
Rating details
 ·  259 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Trading in Danger / Remnant Population
Kris Sellgren
Apr 07, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed
Trading in Danger is an exciting space opera -- the stunning events of the first part of the novel still haunt me. But the real gem of this pairing is Remnant Population. An old woman, despised as a drudge by her son's family, chooses to stay behind when colonists abandon a planet with a marginal economy. She is reveling in freedom when she finds herself not alone but in a first contact situation. I love this for the non-traditional heroine, and for the way she handles both the non-human sentien ...more
Rachel
Aug 03, 2019 rated it liked it
Nothing like Remnant Population to me. I feel this was more for fans of Star Trek and Romance books. It didn’t even seem to be by the same author! Still entertaining, but I’m not sure if I will read the other books in the series yet.
Kristine Frost
Sep 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I'm impressed about how Moon ages her characters. They grow not just in age, but in experience. They make a lot of mistakes and it looks like they are going to fail, but they always manage to find something or someone to help them succeed.
Elizabeth Staples
Feb 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Space Opera at its finest.
Robyn
rated it liked it
Nov 11, 2013
Danita Mayer
rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2014
Emily
rated it really liked it
Jan 30, 2015
Mario
rated it really liked it
Dec 10, 2013
Kenneth Joy
rated it it was amazing
Apr 28, 2019
Virginia
rated it it was amazing
Nov 02, 2014
Julie Eik
rated it liked it
Nov 22, 2013
Kent
rated it liked it
Nov 28, 2014
Brad
rated it really liked it
May 30, 2013
Margaret
rated it it was amazing
Dec 20, 2013
Mike
rated it liked it
Jun 25, 2014
Mary
rated it it was amazing
Feb 17, 2011
Harold
rated it really liked it
Jul 29, 2009
Ringo
rated it really liked it
Sep 07, 2014
Richard
rated it it was amazing
Feb 23, 2018
Dorene
rated it really liked it
Jun 29, 2014
Jabulile Dayton
rated it really liked it
Oct 25, 2014
Nathan White
rated it really liked it
Apr 03, 2011
Yannick
rated it it was amazing
Oct 12, 2020
Michael Burnett
rated it really liked it
Mar 31, 2017
Jennie
rated it it was amazing
Jun 26, 2016
Angela
rated it really liked it
Nov 25, 2018
Bob Bello
rated it it was amazing
Sep 20, 2012
Cory Woods
rated it really liked it
Mar 04, 2020
Chris
rated it it was amazing
Mar 28, 2013
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • They Can't Find Anything Wrong
  • Wieża Jaskółki (Saga o Wiedźminie, #4)
  • Baptism of Fire (The Witcher, #3)
  • Exit Strategy (The Murderbot Diaries, #4)
  • The Time of Contempt (The Witcher, #2)
  • Rogue Protocol (The Murderbot Diaries, #3)
  • Mama's Bank Account
  • The Warship (Rise of the Jain #2)
  • Sapphire Flames (Hidden Legacy, #4)
  • The Tin Rose (Elemental Steampunk Stories, #1)
  • The Grilling Season (A Goldy Bear Culinary Mystery, #7)
  • The Queen's Pardon (Alexis Carew, #6)
  • In Pursuit of Dragons (Elemental Steampunk Tales, #2)
  • Privateer (Alexis Carew #5)
  • To Clear Away the Shadows (Lt. Leary, #13)
  • Artificial Condition (The Murderbot Diaries, #2)
  • Eifelheim
  • A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World
See similar books…
2,150 followers
Elizabeth Moon was born March 7, 1945, and grew up in McAllen, Texas, graduating from McAllen High School in 1963. She has a B.A. in History from Rice University (1968) and another in Biology from the University of Texas at Austin (1975) with graduate work in Biology at the University of Texas, San Antonio.

She served in the USMC from 1968 to 1971, first at MCB Quantico and then at HQMC. She marrie
...more

Other books in the series

Vatta's War (5 books)
  • Trading in Danger (Vatta's War, #1)
  • Marque and Reprisal (Vatta's War, #2)
  • Engaging the Enemy (Vatta's War, #3)
  • Command Decision (Vatta's War, #4)
  • Victory Conditions (Vatta's War, #5)

Related Articles

If you love the fantasy genre, this is the season for you! Some of the biggest books out this fall promise to be epics full of magic, adventure,...
169 likes · 44 comments