Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Divided States of America (The Galaxy Series #3)” as Want to Read:
Divided States of America (The Galaxy Series #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Divided States of America

(The Galaxy Series #3)

by
3.44  ·  Rating details ·  25 ratings  ·  15 reviews
The year is 2032. After traveling to a galaxy far far away, the three astronauts are back on Earth, but in the future. What they see shocks them. When they left Earth in 2015, America was united, but they come to a divided country.

The only way to stop this from ever happening is for them to travel back to the year 2015. And the only person who can take them back is the al
...more
Kindle Edition, 340 pages
Published January 4th 2020 by Season Ball
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Divided States of America, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Divided States of America

Community Reviews

Showing 1-51
Average rating 3.44  · 
Rating details
 ·  25 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Divided States of America (The Galaxy Series #3)
May 舞
Feb 06, 2020 rated it it was ok
Shelves: science-fiction
There is no doubt that the message of this book is crucial and highly commendable, yet the execution felt poor and lacking in many aspects. A shame, really.

Divided States of America, as the title implies, depicts a future where the US is divided into two countries, one for the Democrats (Coastal America) and one for the Republicans (The Heartland). The imminent threat of Climate Change hangs over everyone's heads, but while Coastal America has gone 100% renewable, the Heartland still relies on f
...more
Glen
May 06, 2020 rated it did not like it
I won this book in a goodreads drawing.

A family made up of tyros and ciphers live in an America divided along current political lines. We don't really get any sense of why the two countries are different. Climate change is allegedly a crisis, but nobody living in this world really seems to think so.

Some astronauts you can't tell apart come from space. They're disoriented. An alien they come with solves the climate change crisis with some sort of space magic.

Pedestrian. Maybe MSNBC fans will dig
...more
Dianne
Oct 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
Part political platform, part time travel science fiction, part futuristic dystopia, yet written in an easy to read tale that changes pace and tenor to suit events, Aithal’s DIVIDED STATES OF AMERICA will separate families, cars will fly, and small-minded people will prevail with their own personal issues and it will all be witnessed by three astronauts from the past and their alien comrade who has the ability to travel through both time and space from another galaxy, telling of the demise of th ...more
Peri June
Oct 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2019
Having enjoyed the first two installments in this series, I was eager to read this one and, I have to say, it did not disappoint.
A mix of sci-fi and dystopia, Divided States of America is a very thought-provoking and well-written book about how humanity is wrecking itself from within.
The book picks up right at the cliffhanger of the previous one, taking us to a futuristic world where the worst has happened to America--a complete divide.
The author manages to integrate new characters with the ones
...more
Nathan Albright
Jan 02, 2020 rated it it was ok
Shelves: challenge-2020
[Note:  This book was provided free of charge by Reedsy Discovery.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.]

There was admittedly much I did not appreciate about this book.  I had expected a novel that was thoughtful and reflective about the state of the world, and what I got instead was a fable that attempted to do too much with characters that were not nearly interesting enough and that reveled in the irrationality of left wing climate and political panic.  This is the sort of book where the char
...more
Stuart Aken
Feb 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is the third in a series. The book is a worthy work, but I found it slow to start. That may be because I haven’t read the previous two. Once the first chapters are done, the story starts to move at a good pace and it’s easy to engage with the characters. Those early chapters could be a lot shorter, contain a lot less detail, for me.
The story is full of imagination, conveying some unusual ideas about the way politics in the USA may develop if left unchallenged. And there are some imaginative
...more
Mary
Nov 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is my first book I have read by this author. It kept my interest throughout
Melody Dealing
Nov 09, 2019 rated it liked it
This is the first book that I have read in the Galaxy Series. I didn't feel lost or that I was missing some back ground information that may have been in the other books. I had several issues with this book. First, there are quite a few spelling/grammar/punctuation errors throughout the whole book. I am not a professional editor but as part of my occupation, I do proofread materials written by others. Nowadays, there is no reason for a published book to contains so many spelling or grammar error ...more
WS_BOOKCLUB
Nov 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: sci-fi
Thank you to the author for providing me with this book in exchange for my honest opinion. This book will be available on January 4th, 2020.

In the interest of full disclosure: I have not read the first two books in this series. However, I was easily able to follow the story.

As the title of suggests, politics are a very big part of this book. I expected a political sci-fi. What surprised me a bit was how much more politically-focused it is. In many ways, the science fiction takes a backseat. I ho
...more
DCL
Nov 28, 2019 rated it did not like it
Shelves: won-in-giveaway
I received this book in a Goodreads Giveaway.

This book was exhausting to read. There was just so much exposition - it was a case of "tell, don't show". The author has clearly thought out the appearance of his universe and characters, but then told us everything about it. In one case, a minor character's appearance was described in detail, including the fact that he had (and I'm paraphrasing here), wavy hair, but when in the military, no one knew that due to the Army regulations mandating a short
...more
Charity Rowell
Sep 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: onmykindlebr
I received a copy of this book at no cost and chose to share a review.

Even though the edition of Divided States of America that I read was a first draft, I found it incredibly articulate and well-organized. I thought the author's predictions regarding the dystopian future of the U.S. were realistic and reasonable, particularly the notion that the Native American Nations will once again be considered sovereign entities from the United States. I thought that this added an air of hope to a hopeless
...more
Patricia
Nov 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
I really looked forward to reading this book as I've enjoyed Aithal's other books very much. This one disappointed me a little though.

Through the other books there have been undercurrents of 'political' threads, particularly American ones, but this third book is driven by them and while climate change is an extremely important topic it does detract from the story that was begun in the first two books and it takes over. Having said this though, Aithal DOES portray the future of our Earth very we
...more
Howard Brazee
Feb 29, 2020 rated it it was ok
I only read 42% of the book. I thought it was part of a different "Divided States of America" series.

An astronaut looking for a planet with water gets transported to a distant galaxy. The powerful alien takes him back to Earth, slightly later than he left. He's disappointed to find the U.S. split into different countries, with stereotypical red and blue states. In California, there aren't laws nor guns, in Arizona everybody has guns. Trump was mentioned as being a reason for the split.

The astro
...more
Jody Huneycutt
Feb 17, 2020 rated it did not like it
Poorly written political propaganda disguised as a novel.
Kyra Pieterse
Oct 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It's the sort of book that could get a cult following! Really enjoyed it and it gives you something to think about. Looking forward to your next books. ...more
Aithal Aithal
Sep 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Nancy Obrigewitsch
rated it liked it
Mar 30, 2020
James Lorenson
rated it it was amazing
Nov 09, 2020
Amber
rated it really liked it
Nov 27, 2019
Allison
rated it liked it
Jun 27, 2020
Sandy Radziwon
rated it really liked it
Mar 28, 2020
Bill Davis
rated it did not like it
Mar 23, 2020
Debee Sue
rated it it was amazing
Nov 06, 2019
Swell2bme
rated it really liked it
Nov 19, 2019
Judy Thomas
rated it it was amazing
Mar 24, 2020
McPhaul M.
marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2019
Zachary Harless
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Kim Ellis
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Kim Myers
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Alex Helm
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Judy
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
lou brown
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Karyn Palmer
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Cindy
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Brenda Maki
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Susan
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Melinda M
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Eric
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Kristen
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Lisa Dunckley
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Todd Rumsey
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Tina
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Nanette Fandino-Diaz
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Kari Schumacher
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Nancy
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Richard hoover
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
John
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Melisa Dowling
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Erin
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Starless Sea
  • Leaderology
  • Calico Jack
  • The Seven Experiments
  • The God Particle (Zack Starr)
  • The Deep
  • Mercy Road
  • Amish Front Porch Stories: 18 Short Tales of Simple Faith and Wisdom
  • Playing God: The Evolution of a Modern Surgeon
  • Four Dead Queens
  • Nam's Razor: A Young Man Coming of Age During the War in Vietnam
  • Trident (Jonathan Jarl, #3)
  • Scot Under the Covers (Wild Wicked Highlanders, #2)
  • The Future of Business: An Introduction to Artificial Intelligence
  • Fourth Trait
  • A Place Called Fear (Maggie Novak Thriller #2)
  • Friday Night Bites (Magic Market Mysteries, #2)
  • Carnal Envy at Valencia High
See similar books…
22 followers
I'm the author of four science fiction books. Well, I'd not really call them science fiction as I think it may disappoint science fiction fans if they are expecting hard-core books in that genre. It's more of 'political science fiction'. It's a dystopian look at our future (environmentally) if we stay on our path. They involve space-travel and take a deep-dive into political psychology.

It's a jou
...more

Other books in the series

The Galaxy Series (4 books)
  • Beyond The Milky Way (The Galaxy Series #1)
  • Return To Earth (The Galaxy Series #2)
  • 2120 (The Galaxy Series Book 4)

Related Articles

The coming season is a big one for the science fiction and fantasy genres, with the release of some of 2021's most anticipated speculative...
72 likes · 61 comments