Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Hollow Gods (The Chaos Cycle Duology, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Hollow Gods (The Chaos Cycle Duology, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Hollow Gods

(The Chaos Cycle Duology #1)

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  45 ratings  ·  39 reviews
A perfect story for contemporary fantasy readers who love their narratives razor-sharp and their secrets dark and deadly.

Black Hollow is a town with a dark secret.

For centuries, residents have foretold the return of the Dreamwalkeran ominous figure from local folklore said to lure young women into the woods and possess them. Yet the boundary between fact and fable is
...more
Paperback, 409 pages
Expected publication: July 28th 2020 by The Parliament House Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Hollow Gods, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Hollow Gods

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.36  · 
Rating details
 ·  45 ratings  ·  39 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Hollow Gods (The Chaos Cycle Duology, #1)
Lia (booksnpenguins)
"This town's legends, its mysteries, and its secrets - they make you feel alive, don't they?"




banner-di-bobi.jpg

The Hollow Gods is different than all the books I've read lately.
It's rich with folklore and veiled character's analysis that make you think you're reading a story about a demonic woman terrorizing an entire town, when in reality you're learning your way into the side effects of grief, loss, anxiety, identity crisis, mass hysteria and whatever it is that tingle in your stomach you feel when dealing
...more
Dave
Feb 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
"The Hollow Gods" is a genre-busting fantasy that blends fables, fairy tales, dark nightmares, and boundaries. You have the age-old motifs of the angry mob of villagers, the disappearing girls, the maiden on the creaky swing in the forbidden glade, the shapeshifting werewolf, the raven and the willow, and the haunted wood.

It takes place in a remote British Columbia village hours north of Vancouver. Yet, Dark Hollow could well be in some fell mountain region in Western Romania. The woods
...more
A.J. Vrana
Sep 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
***UPDATE***

THE HOLLOW GODS PRE-ORDER CAMPAIGN IS NOW LIVE!!! Check out all the details and excited prizes on my blog: https://thechaoscycle.com/the-hollow-...

Ebook pre-orders are now also only $0.99!



I am obviously super biased because I wrote this thing, but I really love my book and hope you, dear reader, do as well! This is a story for all those who love mystery, fantasy, lore, and a touch of horror. If you're a fan of The Raven Cycle and The Bear and the Nightingale, then The Hollow Gods is
...more
Sunny ✨wordslikefury✨
I don't know what this book is about but that cover is amazing and I want it pronto.
megs_bookrack
Ummm, this sounds AMAZING!!!

Inkslinger
The Hollow Gods (The Chaos Cycle Duology #1) by A.J. Vrana

ARC provided by A.J.Vrana, NetGalley, BooksGoSocial, and Parliament House. All opinions are mine and freely given.

Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

"F*ck this shit."

"F*ck everything."

"And f*ck that squirrel in particular."



03-09: Normally I don't include much cussing in my reviews (edited for GR), it just isn't necessary.. but the above pretty much sums up my favorite character in 'The Hollow Gods (The Chaos Cycle Duology #1)' by A.J. Vrana. Kai Donovan's so surly it's hilarious, but he's
...more
Katya de Becerra
Hi, hello. I'm returning briefly from my self-imposed Goodreads exile so I can tell you all (*raises her voice... shouts*) that I've just finished reading an advanced copy of A.J. Vrana's dark contemporary fantasy debut THE HOLLOW GODS and that I loved it with all my heart.

(In non-shouting but still excited voice): I mean, what's not to love? For starters, there's a smart, insightful young woman who doesn't tolerate BS and fights for what she loves. Then, there's a certain tormented character
...more
Malorie
Jul 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Lately, I cant stop looking for the unknown in storytelling. The unknown as twofold: as it relates to the plot (the spiritual, the mysterious, the concealed within a cloak of secrets, the supernatural) and as it relates to how a story is told (unreliable narrators, dreams, liminal space, deviating from the expected form). It is invigorating exploring that which lit a fire of passion for reading within me, a love that caused me to study literature and to focus on Postmodern lit specifically. But ...more
Celia McMahon
Feb 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
February was a bad month for me with books. Usually, I'm all 4-5 star reads but I got mostly 3 stars and maybe one 4. THEEEEEEN, I started an arc of HOLLOW GODS and I knew I finally had my five star read.

THE HOLLOW GODS is a book I think should be given out into the book community and praised. Granted, I did have high expectations because I've been drooling over the synopsis forever. I enjoy anything comped to The Raven Boys, but I was excited to see where the author would take me.

THE HOLLOW
...more
Will
Mar 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The most appealing thing about the Hollow Gods is the degree to which it trusts the reader; recounting surface details doesn't do it justice because so many of them serve as jump off points to explore more complex ideas and whilst the author's voice is clear in the text, AJ Vrana has the good sense to not spell things out and give the reader room to process the books' arguments for themself. The overarching plot may stand on fairly firm ground of the conventions of its genre, but these tropes ...more
Elisabeth
Mar 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book was AMAZING!!!
The violently delicious paranormal novel sank its teeth and claws deep into my soul and did not let go till the last page. What a thrilling ride of fable and lore with a dash of zesty humor and spicy romance! Fantastic world building, wonderfully portrayed characters, and fabulous writing style! It felt like a Stephen Kings novel with a unique and modern touch.
I loved how bold, seductive and raw the story was. I also appreciated the zero censorship which only added to
...more
Sienna
Feb 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
5 stars

I was lucky enough to receive an E-arc for review.

I have no idea how I am supposed to articulate how much I loved this book but I will try!!
Also, to A.J Vrana, her support system, and writing team, Congratulations on creating an amazing world that is done in this debut book. It was phenomenal!!!

I am calling this now as my 2 favorite book of this year only one book has the potential to surpass it and that is Sarah J Maas's new adult fantasy. Very high praise from me if you do not know me.
...more
Rowena Andrews
Mar 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
     I was searching for something a little different when I found The Hollow Gods, and I certainly got what I was looking for. I fell in love with the cover at first sight, and the title intrigued me as did the summary. I have a soft spot for folklore at the best of time, and this seemed like an interesting twist on that idea, and it was. It took me a few chapters to get into the book, but once I did, I was hooked. While folklore and the role it plays within a community is central to the story, ...more
Randi Maguire
Mar 05, 2020 rated it really liked it
I just want to start this review by thanking Alex for sending me a copy of her book to read and review! I also want to praise how amazing Alex is as a person. Ive had dealings with other authors in the past, and she is my favourite one to talk to so far! So seriously, koodos to her for that. And she will be an auto-buy author for me because shes so awesome! But also because this book was AMAZE BALLS.
This book is written in 3 different perspectives: Kai Donovan (a werewolf (perhaps)), Miya (a
...more
JessieFeeReads
Following the story of three different characters. A man escaping from his past to a superstitious town, where a girl fights her future with the superstition and a boy belonging to it.
This book had all the elements I needed to keep the pages turning. There was of cause spiritual superstition, people finding themselves, a wolf man with a little bit of love too.
I loved the setting of the story which had a real eerie feeling to it but made me want to be in it and explore. I also felt empathy for
...more
Wren Handman
Mar 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Vrana's debut novel is such a treat! The writing is lush and vivid, and the story is a really unique fantasy that doesn't feel quite like anything else. There are some goosebumps-raising spooky moments, some dreamy fantasy, and some really captivating characters to draw it all together. I liked that no one was black and white, and that the complicated nature of their interactions felt solid and earned.

Looking forward to reading the next one.
Fen'Harel
Mar 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A fresh way of looking at fantasy and all the twists and turns that are possible. Incredibly believable characters that make you cheer, cry and even sometimes yell at the pages! Worth a read for anyone who wants to read something out of the ordinary and who want to make the extraordinary an everyday occurrence.
Maudaevee
Mar 30, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
I was taken with this story right at the start, the characters, setting and most of the pacing were spot on (there was just a few spots that the story got a little hazy/confusing). I would definitely read more from this author and recommend to fantasy/horror fans.
Amy GB
Mar 08, 2020 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jessica Kavanagh
Mar 08, 2020 rated it it was ok
Shelves: arc-copy
A middling 2.5 stars for this one, leaning lower than it does higher.

Hollow Gods is a dark, modern fantasy with some really fun concepts. A rural. sleepy town is full of superstition, normal in all respects until a young woman goes missing. When she is found safe and alive on the outskirts of the forest, the town meets her with suspicion rather than the expected excitement.

And then her father murders her; the sleepy town of Black Hollow reacts with sympathy rather than outrage. Hollow Gods
...more
Christina
Mar 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
There is something truly haunting about dark, creepy woods surrounding a small town. They are drawn in mystery, curiosity, and twisted tales of what lurks in the shadows. Only the brave venture into the dark, and if theyre lucky enough to find their way out, they are never the same.

For the people of Black Hollow, this is their reality. To those just passing through, it would appear to be a normal, small Canadian town. They would not hear the whispers about the young girls found dead or know the
...more
lisa
Mar 30, 2020 rated it liked it
Reality wasnt timeless or enchanting; it was finite and perilous. There was no forever-after in Black Hollow or anywhere else.

I was lucky enough to get an ARC of this book through Netgalley. Thank you to them.

This imaginative fantasy takes us to the city of Black Hollow, located several hundred kilometers northwest of Vancouver.

The main characters are Miya, a struggling University student who grew up in Black Hollow and is no stranger to the odd occurrences that seem to happen there. Young
...more
Polks
Mar 04, 2020 rated it it was ok
Shelves: netgalley
ARC provided by NetGalley

About as clunky and generic as its name, The Hollow Gods was unremarkable. Just an OK book that Ill forget about in a week, but is technically fine. At its core theres this very personal human element that felt so grounded and real, and it was absolutely the strength of the book. Honestly it felt like there were two people writing this book -the segments about grief, anxiety, depression these were so tangible and thoughtful. They gave the characters credibility and
...more
Sam Rosen
Mar 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this book and allow me to tell you why (trying not to give away spoilers):

1) Pacing - The pacing of the book is amazing. From beginning to end, I was drawn into the story. I did not think the story was rushed or too drawn out, but just right. If one thinks of the pacing like a stairway, you are climbing and on edge to see what is at the top. The steps were not too narrow, nor steep. And I was not disappointed when I got to the top at the climax of the plot.

2) Character
...more
D.M. Siciliano
Mar 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The Hollow Gods is an eerie blend of folklore, fantasy, fable and horror twisted into one dazzling novel.
From wolves to ravens to humans that are themselves like wounded animals in their own ways, the book follows 3 main characters with intrigue, drama, mystery and humanity.
Each of the main characters, despite the supernatural elements that hang over their heads, are incredibly human. Each full of fear, doubt, anxiety, all of them imperfect and searching for something. Vrana succeeds at making
...more
Debbie
Apr 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book was like nothing that I thought it was going to be and it was the best surprise ever.

Told from the point of view of three people..Miya, Kai and Mason. Each one was like a lost soul searching for home. Miya and Kai were drawn to each other in a way they don't understand or can remember. Mason was struggling with guilt and ran away to a place the opposite of where he came from to get away only to find that the truth follows you wherever you go.

The beauty of this book is the slow burn
...more
Ivy Bookdragon
Mar 08, 2020 rated it liked it
The Hollow Gods sounded promising as the story has folklore elements, wolves, murder mystery, a mysterious wood and characters dancing on the edge for different reasons.

Sadly, it just wasn't for me.
While I loved the folklore parts and the way the characters were written, the way of the writing didn't really click with me. It was fascinating in the mystery and great in the characterization, but often the story was rather lengthy in descriptions which weren't necessary because it did not add to
...more
Booksiren
Mar 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Grounded in secrets, myth, fantasy, and alternate reality, Vranas debut installment in The Chaos Cycle series is a fast-paced, deeply intriguing urban fantasy.

Its been a while since the young women went missing in Black Hollow, a small town in British Columbia, but as the cycle begins once again, three unlikely forces find their paths colliding and set on to confront the centuries-old evil.

Memorable, noticeably individual characters are at the forefront: Miya, who has never felt at home in
...more
Sandy Schleich
Feb 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
When I read the description of this book I was not sure if it was something that I would like, but I wanted to give it a try. I thought this book started out rather slow and boring, but after several chapters in I was hooked. I wanted to know what type of secrets Black
Hollow was hiding, why girls that went missing turned up dead, who was killing them, and why. I wanted to know why the Dreamwalker, a figure of local folklore, would want to lure young women into the woods and possess them, and why
...more
Stephen Baird
Mar 03, 2020 rated it really liked it
I received The Hollow Gods from Netgalley for an honest review.

Based in current day North America, it follows Kai, Miya, and Mason as they uncover and unravel the mythology of the Dreamwalker and the cycle of missing girls.

The main characters are introduced early on and motivations are made clear from the start though as the weaving of the characters and story progresses these motivations become more unclear and tangled.

A lot of good world building to support the mythology that is being
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Disenchanted (Disenchanted, #1)
  • Side by Side
  • What the Woods Keep
  • Winterdream
  • Book of Maps Vitruvian Edition Reference Manual to the Spirit Keeper's Tarot
  • Celtic Tales: Fairy Tales and Stories of Enchantment from Ireland, Scotland, Brittany, and Wales (Irish Books, Mythology Books, Adult Fairy Tales, Celtic Gifts)
  • Dragon Wing (The Death Gate Cycle, #1)
  • The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Montague Siblings, #1)
  • Shorefall (Founders, #2)
  • Kamisama Kiss, Vol. 12
  • 神様はじめました 17 [Kamisama Hajimemashita 17]
  • 神様はじめました 20 [Kamisama Hajimemashita 20]
  • 神様はじめました 14 [Kamisama Hajimemashita 14]
  • Kamisama Kiss, Vol. 13
  • 神様はじめました 19 [Kamisama Hajimemashita 19]
  • Kamisama Kiss, Vol. 11
  • 神様はじめました 15 [Kamisama Hajimemashita 15]
  • 神様はじめました 16 [Kamisama Hajimemashita 16]
See similar books…
39 followers
A. J. Vrana is a Serbian-Canadian academic and writer from Toronto, Canada. She lives with her two rescue cats, Moonstone and Peanut Butter, who nest in her window-side bookshelf and cast judgmental stares at nearby pigeons. Her doctoral research examines the supernatural in modern Japanese and former-Yugoslavian literature and its relationship to violence. When not toiling away at ...more

News & Interviews

Twists, turns, and whodunits. We pride ourselves on recommending some great mysteries and thrillers here at the Goodreads office. So, we decided...
70 likes · 29 comments
“Once upon a time, when the earth was formless and empty, and darkness stretched over the surface of the deep, we plunged one another into the abyss, and the world has trembled ever since.” 0 likes
“Cut the seams of reality, and chaos is bound to spill out.” 0 likes
More quotes…