Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Enigma Game” as Want to Read:
The Enigma Game
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Enigma Game

(Code Name Verity)

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  5 reviews
A stunning new historical novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Wein, featuring a beloved character from the award-winning Code Name Verity; for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society.

A German soldier risks his life to drop off the sought-after Enigma Machine to British Intelligence, hiding it in a pub in a small town in northeast Scotland,
...more
Paperback, 320 pages
Expected publication: May 26th 2020 by Penguin Teen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Enigma Game, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Enigma Game

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
Average rating 4.36  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Enigma Game
Karin
Nov 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: historical, teen
I lost my mind when I saw there was a new book in the Code Name Verity world coming out. And it was everything I hoped/dreamed/wanted it to be. Set chronologically before Code Name Verity, this follows 3 characters, including Jamie Beaufort-Stuart, in and around a remote Scottish airfield at wintertime early in WWII. Loved Jamie, but equally loved the other 2 protagonists, Louisa and Ellen. Wow. The feelings I have for this series bump it into "favorites of all time" category.
Ashley *Hufflepuff Kitten*
JAMIE. BEAUFORT. STUART.
Laura
Jan 26, 2020 rated it really liked it
This was what I was hoping All Is Fair was going to be. This had all the code breaking and suspense and high stakes that that book didn't have. I simultaneously wanted to keep reading to find out what happened and wanted to put it down because it was making me anxious not knowing what was going to happen. I loved how the characters worked together. I loved the friendship between Louisa and Jane. I loved how the stories of each character overlapped and interconnected and we got just enough of ...more
Karyn Silverman
Jan 16, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2020-reads, ya, arcs, nook
More Jamie, from his own perspective, which was nice, and more Ellen, and a Julie cameo, which I managed not to cry through, for the fans. For the new readers, an awesome new character, Louisa, biracial and kickass, and an old lady who doesn't have POV sections but might be my favorite character. Also, Enigma machines and fighter piloting and war and powerfully evoked people and places. Win.
(For those who are jealous that I have already read it, it's on Netgalley)
Laura
Jan 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: netgalley
I can’t overstate how much I love this series by Elizabeth Wein. Each is a delightful visit with old friends, but each stands well on its own.
AgentX
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2020
Sam
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2020
Clay
rated it really liked it
Dec 10, 2019
Eva Seyler
rated it it was amazing
Oct 14, 2019
Hanna
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2019
Kris Cram
rated it liked it
Jan 07, 2020
Taylor McBroom
rated it it was amazing
Jan 02, 2020
Maya Chhabra
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2019
Katie
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2019
Amanda McCrina
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
Madison Johnson
marked it as to-read
Nov 13, 2019
Merlin
marked it as to-read
Nov 17, 2019
Hapsari Darmastuti
marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2019
Megan
marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2019
Victoria
marked it as to-read
Dec 16, 2019
Nicholle B
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2019
Diana
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2019
Deanna
marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2019
Anita
marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2019
Nicole
marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2019
Laurie George
marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2019
Lauren D.
marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2019
Emily
marked it as to-read
Dec 24, 2019
Mallory
marked it as to-read
Dec 24, 2019
Katherine
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2019
Tajaha
added it
Dec 25, 2019
Hannah
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2019
Carrie
marked it as to-read
Dec 26, 2019
Lonny Johnson
marked it as to-read
Dec 26, 2019
Kip
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2019
Clara
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2019
Caitlin
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2019
Akhila
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2019
Susanne
marked it as to-read
Dec 28, 2019
Amelia
marked it as to-read
Dec 28, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air, #3)
  • Atomic Habits: An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones
  • Every Reason We Shouldn't (Every Reason We Shouldn't, #1)
  • Queen of the Sea
  • The List of Things That Will Not Change
  • A Bookshop in Berlin
  • Well Met (Well Met, #1)
  • Diana: Princess of the Amazons
  • New Kid
  • Stand Up, Yumi Chung!
  • Only Mostly Devastated
  • Hungry Hearts: 13 Tales of Food & Love
  • The Eight (The Eight #1)
  • Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus
  • Love Is for Losers
  • You Should See Me in a Crown
  • The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse
  • Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer
See similar books…
2,488 followers
Paste Magazine has listed Code Name Verity as the best YA novel of the 2010 decade! The full list is here:

https://www.pastemagazine.com/article...