Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Re-Coil” as Want to Read:
Re-Coil
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Re-Coil

by
3.55  ·  Rating details ·  31 ratings  ·  10 reviews
Out on a salvage mission with a skeleton crew, Carter Langston is murdered by animated corpses left behind on this ship. Yet in this future, everyones consciousness backup can be safely downloaded into a brand-new body, and all youd lose are the memories of what happened between your last backup and your death. But when Langston wakes up in his new body, he is immediately ...more
Kindle Edition, 384 pages
Published March 3rd 2020 by Titan Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Re-Coil, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Re-Coil

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.55  · 
Rating details
 ·  31 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Re-Coil
David Harris
Mar 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
I'm grateful to Sarah at Titan Books for an advance copy of Re-Coil and for inviting me to take part in the blogtour.

A smart, action filled SF adventure which blends zombie thriller, conspiracy theory and dystopia, Re-Coil takes us to the far-ish future (it's not clear just how far) where personalities, memories, souls - whatever you want to call them - can be backed up and then downloaded, after death, to new bodies or "coils". (As in Hamlet: 'When we have shuffled off this mortal coil...')

...more
Paperbacks
Mar 03, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Well what can I say about Re-Coil other than it completely blew me away. I read this over two days as it drew me in so much I didnt want to put it down, a huge thank you therefore to Titan Books for providing me with a copy of this cyber punk, sci-fi thriller for review. The cover quotes suggest that this is a story perfect for fans of Altered Carbon and I have to admit at the start I felt that there were perhaps a few parallels, however, I quickly moved away from that notion as it became clear ...more
Swords & Spectres
Mar 11, 2020 rated it really liked it
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Re-coil is billed as The Expanse meets Altered Carbon. I havent seen Altered Carbon but know the gist of it so can say that yea, there is the similarity of potential immortality. I have read the first five books in the Expanse series and cant quite see how (other than the fact it involves stuff happening in space) this is similar to what may be my favourite Sci-fi series but there may be a touch of bias there.

The blurb for Re-coil
...more
Doreen
Feb 29, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
2/29/2020 Full review tk here and at TheFrumiousConsortium.net next week!

3/2/2020 Re-Coil is set in a future where humanity has spread to colonize the solar system, having achieved immortality via the use of coil technology, a hybrid of quantum computing with genetic engineering that means you only lose as much of your life as you neglected to back up in your secure file. Carter Langston is a loner who ekes out a living performing salvage work with the rest of the crew of the Persephone. When a
...more
Amy Walker
Feb 28, 2020 rated it really liked it
The modern world is a scary place, one that's filled with upsetting news, scary threats, and the prospect that humanity might not have many generations left thanks to climate change. As such, a story that offers readers a future where humanity has not just escaped the confines of earth to spread ad survive, but also one where death doesn't really exist anymore is incredibly appealing.

This future is built around the concept of 'cores', a technology that allows people to create backups of their
...more
Gemma
Mar 13, 2020 rated it really liked it
I was kindly gifted a copy of this one by the publisher in exchange for review. I don't read much sci-fi as I tend to find much of it can be quite science heavy which isn't something I enjoy. The sci-fi I have enjoyed tends to be a little bit lighter, generally YA, however, the synopsis of this one sounded so interesting I thought I would give it a shot and I'm really glad I did.

This was a high action sci-fi thriller that kept me reading until the very end. A real page turner, the writing was
...more
Runalong
Mar 04, 2020 rated it really liked it
A very inventive science fiction thriller that gives us a world where death is no longer final and that now brings kore dangers. Loved the use of technology and it was explored int his one even a look at gender issues but could have done with a little more character depth Despite that very good and a few surprises in where the story goes

Full review - https://www.runalongtheshelves.net/bl...
Sae
Mar 25, 2020 marked it as sci-fi-adult
Just imagine you die and then you get "downloaded" into a new body!! This sound kinda like Near:Automata
Rich Van Ollefen
Mar 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
Started pretty slow for me, but still held my interest, last third picked up quite a bit and turned into nearly pure action.
Paige
Feb 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Review to come!!
Samuel Tyler
rated it liked it
Feb 17, 2020
Jake
rated it it was ok
Mar 21, 2020
Kristoffer
rated it really liked it
Mar 27, 2020
Noelle
rated it really liked it
Mar 13, 2020
Abraham
rated it it was ok
Mar 08, 2020
Matthew Harvey
rated it liked it
Mar 02, 2020
Lizzi Rose
rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2020
Charles Bowser
rated it liked it
Mar 29, 2020
gardenvineyard
rated it liked it
Mar 24, 2020
Sarah
rated it it was ok
Feb 11, 2020
John
rated it really liked it
Mar 07, 2020
Evan Prickett
rated it liked it
Mar 22, 2020
Sammy
rated it liked it
Feb 23, 2020
Don
rated it liked it
Mar 23, 2020
Matt Shelton
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2020
Joe Block
rated it it was amazing
Mar 19, 2020
Jamie McFarlane
rated it it was amazing
Mar 25, 2020
Julie
rated it liked it
Mar 21, 2020
Juan Huerta
rated it it was ok
Mar 21, 2020
Rod
rated it really liked it
Mar 20, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Library of the Unwritten (Hell's Library #1)
  • False Value (Rivers of London, #8)
  • Echo Cycle
  • Cursed: An Anthology of Dark Fairy Tales
  • Agency (The Peripheral #2)
  • The Golden Key
  • The Vanished Birds
  • The Twisted Ones
  • Heartstopper: Volume Two (Heartstopper, #2)
  • The Stars We Steal
  • Twas the Nightshift Before Christmas
  • NVK
  • The Manifestations of Sherlock Holmes
  • The Breach
  • The Unspoken Name (The Serpent Gates, #1)
  • Aliens: Phalanx
  • The Light Years
  • Soon
See similar books…

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our lis...
39 likes · 9 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »