Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Witches of Crannock Dale (Mara of the League, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Witches of Crannock Dale (Mara of the League, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Witches of Crannock Dale

(Mara of the League #1)

by
4.70  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  7 reviews
When an enemy army threatens eleven-year old Mara’s home, she makes up her mind to save her family, one way or another. But when the knights protecting her village arrest her favorite aunt for witchcraft, she discovers that the difference between friend and foe may not be as obvious as she once thought.
Kindle Edition, 283 pages
Published September 24th 2019
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Witches of Crannock Dale, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Witches of Crannock Dale

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
Average rating 4.70  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Witches of Crannock Dale (Mara of the League, #1)
Laura
Oct 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
3.5 stars

I picked up this book expecting witches and magic. What I got instead was witches but no magic as well as a child's adventure with a deep insight into human nature.

The book is difficult to read at times because of the 'uncomfortable' nature of the topics it raises. Not that they are badly told. On the contrary. They appear blunt and brutal because of the particular way in which they are presented. No one really likes it to be told a truth in the face, especially if said truth is distur
...more
P.J. Berman
Apr 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Witches of Crannock Dale.

This fantasy novel deals with two very challenging issues. The first is the issue of being a child in a country threatened by war. The book is told from the first person by 11-year-old Mara, and so we are party to her rollercoaster of emotions and experiences as she finds herself getting way too deep into a world of deception, treason, and the framing of scapegoats.

The second main point that the book discusses is the subject of cold wars
...more
Robert Nugent
Oct 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The Witches of Crannock Dale served as my entry point to the writing of Thomas Kane, and for those of the "too long; didn't read" review-seekers, I'll say this upfront and get it out of the way: I was highly impressed with this book and loved every second of it.

In The Witches of Crannock Dale, we follow Mara, a young girl just shy of her teenage years. When the book quickly introduced itself as a low-fantasy setting with a very serious, very realistic tone to it, I'll admit I became skeptical of
...more
Joshua Grant
Feb 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Thomas Kane gives us a tale of espionage and the powerful bonds of family in The Witches of Crannock Dale! When Mara’s village is threatened by an enemy army, she believes the knights of her village will defend it. But when those very same knights arrest her aunt, accusing her of being a witch, she discovers that an invading army isn’t the only threat to her family. I love the way Kane couches a more intimate, touching story of a family’s struggle to stay together within a greater world of polit ...more
Robin Birrell
Nov 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book! In the vein of J. K. Rowling, Thomas Kane writes a fascinating young heroine with a storyline complex and intriguing enough for an adult audience as well. Excited for the next installment!
Cynthia Ravinski
Jan 11, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Excellent read!
E.J. Dawson
May 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
I received a copy of this book for an honest review.

The whimsical nature of eleven year old Mara trying to avoid math problems and with a too curious nature by half is reminiscent of Anne of Green Gables. Mara’s ingenuity and boldness isn’t met with half so many disasters, but the problems Mara faces are no less dire, if not more so. An intriguing journey into adult problems, Mara navigates the threat of foreign invaders and a witch hunt that includes people in her own family. An enjoyable read,
...more
Fran
rated it it was amazing
Sep 07, 2020
Patrick Nolan
rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2019
Ahsan
rated it really liked it
May 02, 2020
James Robert
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Debbie P
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Calvin
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Latisha Depoortere
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Janet Watson
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Wendy
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Sherry
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Steve Weber
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Victoria
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Dale Wilken
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Erika Messer
is currently reading it
Oct 01, 2019
Barbara Montag
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2019
Stephanie Jones
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2019
Nancy
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2019
Mary Cloud
marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2019
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2019
Debra Guyette
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Jennifer Rote
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Deborah Dumm
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Brenda
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Paula Riccobono
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Darlene Owen
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Angelica Dimeo
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Linda Szymoniak
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Ellen Stafford
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Bea LaRocca
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Francine
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Vicki
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Meet Me in Monaco
  • The Death of Bees
  • Beautiful Ruins
  • A Secret History of Witches
  • Big Sky (Jackson Brodie, #5)
  • The Invited
  • The Widow of Pale Harbor
  • The Grip of It
  • The Shining Girls
  • The Keepsake (Rizzoli & Isles, #7)
  • Ice Cold (Rizzoli & Isles, #8)
  • Freaks (Rizzoli & Isles, #8.5)
  • The Bone Garden
  • The Silent Girl (Rizzoli & Isles, #9)
  • The Camomile Lawn
  • Galapagos Gone (A Virginia Holmes Cozy Mystery)
  • Playing with Fire
  • Last to Die (Rizzoli & Isles, #10)
See similar books…
141 followers
I grew up in Maine, amidst hills and forests much like those of my favorite fantasy novels. After a few years publishing supplements for role-playing games (Shadowrun, AD&D, Cyberpunk and Ars Magica to name a few), I moved to the UK where I taught strategy and international relations at the University of Hull. Twenty years later, I have taken the opportunity to return to Maine and to fiction writi ...more

Other books in the series

Mara of the League (2 books)
  • The Rebels of Caer City (Mara of the League, #2)

News & Interviews

You know the saying: There's no time like the present...unless you're looking for a distraction from the current moment. In that case, we can't...
56 likes · 24 comments