Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Where Secrets Lie” as Want to Read:
Where Secrets Lie
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Where Secrets Lie

by
3.65  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  17 reviews
Told in two interwoven timelines—the summer when everything changed, and the summer that changes everything—Where Secrets Lie is a seductive thriller as dark as it is enthralling.

Amy Larsen has spent every summer with her cousin Ben and their best friend Teddy in River Run, Kentucky, loving country life and welcoming the break from her intensive ambitions and overbearing
...more
Hardcover, 384 pages
Expected publication: April 20th 2021 by Simon Pulse
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Where Secrets Lie, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Where Secrets Lie

Community Reviews

Showing 1-47
Average rating 3.65  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Where Secrets Lie
Nilufer Ozmekik
Jan 29, 2021 rated it liked it
I heat blaring Switzerland a theme: here comes another let’s meet in the middle: it’s okay but not great reading experience.
Solid, twisty, thrilling young adult story including trigger warning, sensitive topics!

Ms. Gibson told a complex, heart pounding, action packed story via interwoven timelines: so we can gather the puzzle pieces about friendship trio’s relationship dynamics, their estrangement, their teaming up to solve the mystery behind the kidnapping of Teddy’s sister.

The heroine Am
...more
Amber (The Book Bratz)
Dec 17, 2019 marked it as to-read
I’m ready to have my heart broke again
Shannon Takaoka
Feb 26, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: ya
Family secrets, class differences and first love collide in this twisty, atmospheric thriller set in a small town in Kentucky. Amy, Ben and Teddy’s longtime summer friendship is already on shaky ground at the outset, the balance of their trio thrown off kilter by deeper feelings simmering under the surface. When an unthinkable tragedy changes everything, the story that unfolds will catch you up in its spell and leave you turning pages as fast as possible to find out what happens next. Don’t expe ...more
Alex Richards
Feb 19, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I have been looking forward to this book ever since reading Gibson's debut, Together We Caught Fire. She has such a stunning way with words, so much passion and angst wrapped up in each sentence. And, of course, Where Secrets Lie did not disappoint! This contemporary YA is a sharp, poignant exploration of the messy truths within class privilege, trauma, and survival. I was riveted by the intergenerational aspect and how this truly twisty story unfolded. You do not want to miss this haunting, eng ...more
Stephanie
Mar 16, 2021 rated it it was ok
I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

While I had some issues with it, I remember enjoying Eva V. Gibson’s angsty debut, Together we Caught Fire and I was really looking forward to her follow up. Unfortunately, this one did not work for me.

My biggest issue was that I was pretty incompatible with the writing style. I don’t like a lot of description or imagery and this book is over the top with the imagery and metaphors. It didn’t work for me at all and honest
...more
Gina
Feb 25, 2021 rated it really liked it
I read Where Secrets Lie in one sitting. Much like getting swept away by a current, I was swept right into the world of River Run.

Every summer, Amy Larsen lives with her grandparents in River Run, Kentucky. She loves her annual escape and the time she gets to spend with "her boys," cousin Ben and neighbor Teddy. The summer of 2018 ended with a dramatic falling out between the friends and summer 2019 is off to a rocky start, but the drama is cut short when tragedy strikes. Teddy's younger sister,
...more
Jennifer Moffett
Mar 17, 2021 rated it it was amazing
As the complications of first love and friendship unfold amid unspeakable trauma, a small-town family scrambles to preserve their image. Gibson’s stunning prose and true-to-life characters make Where Secrets Lie a riveting thriller that pulls you under and keeps you guessing until the very end. This book reveals how sparkling surfaces often conceal the darkest secrets buried underneath. An addictive page-turner perfect for fans of Karen M. McManus and Gillian Flynn.
Kat
Where Secrets Lie has a lot going on in a small novel. It just has too much side story going on to focus on what the author's message is for this book. It will find an audience, it was just too busy for me. The relationships are jumble and the missing person story should be more focused in on. ...more
Lisa Campbell
Feb 03, 2021 rated it really liked it
Amy Larson spends her summers in River Run, KY with her cousin (Ben) and friend (Teddy). This summer is different for oh so many reasons. Amy and Teddy's failed romance of last summer is hanging in the air with unresolved emotions and when Teddy's little sister comes up missing the three make a pact to get to the bottom of things. Putting their differences aside, they join together to retrace Nat's footsteps to uncover the killer.

Pros:
twisty turny plot
I wanted to find out what secrets the town w
...more
Courtney
Feb 04, 2021 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I can't believe I am saying this but I actually wish the author had written this as an adult novel. I would have loved for it to be a back and forth between the adults of these teens lives perspectives (then and now) and the teens perspectives of what was happening.

As it is, I did not find any of the teens to be great characters. There was the female teen, shallow, rich, selfish. There was male love interest, typical "dude bro" who did not treat either of the other characters that well at any p
...more
r.bookish
Jan 12, 2021 marked it as dnf
Shelves: arc
this might just be a personal problem, but i literally could not get into this story. it was so boring and Amy was so dramatic and such a baby about everything that happened to her. which, honestly just got annoying after awhile.

trigger warning- talk and description of death, child abuse, serial murder, kidnapping, domestic violence, poverty, homophobia, mental health issues, childhood trauma.
Bickering Book Reviews
For a more in-depth review watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoICa...

A slow-moving mystery that may appeal to some readers with its writing style but other readers may find it difficult to get past the dense writing.

We received eARCs of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
...more
Vanessa
Jan 22, 2021 marked it as to-read
to-read
R
Apr 14, 2021 rated it it was amazing
A stunning, unflinching, gorgeously written book about three friends whose lives are forever changed when the unthinkable occurs.
Katie
Full review to come, but I LOVED this one. Spooky and atmospheric, full of complicated families and friendships, swoony and sexy from the jump. Don't miss this one when it comes out in April! ...more
Becky
For a more in-depth review watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOtij...

Amy has spent all of her summers at her grandmother's house. She spends her days with her cousin, Ben, and his best friend, Theo. Their summers were happy until last summer when Amy and Theo explored their newfound attraction which tore them apart. Now, it's the following summer and Amy is back at her grandmother's house avoiding Ben and Theo but the three come together to search for Natasha, Theo's younger sister, who myst
...more
I love books!
Dec 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Amy Larsen spends nearly every summer in River Run, Kentucky with her best friend Teddy and her cousin Ben giving her a break from her overly intense ever-present mother. Then comes the summer of 2018 where Amy and Teddy confront their feelings for each other, blowing up the group’s friendships in a single epic argument. A year later Amys back for the summer not knowing what to expect, but when Teddy’s little sister Nat goes missing the three friends must put aside all their issues and work toge ...more
Lira
rated it it was amazing
Apr 17, 2021
Margot T.
rated it liked it
Jan 04, 2021
Misty
rated it did not like it
Apr 12, 2021
Mandy Laferriere
rated it it was ok
Apr 01, 2021
Jeremy Troutman
rated it it was ok
Jan 30, 2021
Liz Lawson
rated it it was amazing
Apr 06, 2021
Eva Gibson
Dec 12, 2019 marked it as mine  ·  (Review from the author)
Prerna Pickett
marked it as to-read
Dec 13, 2019
Jenny Moke
marked it as to-read
Dec 14, 2019
Cynthia VanBuren
marked it as to-read
Dec 14, 2019
Shelley
marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2020
YaniM
added it
Jan 24, 2020
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2020
Cyndi Becker
marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2020
Christy
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2020
Kristie Minji Patterson
marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2020
Sam Miller
marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2020
Andrew Carver
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2020
Serena
marked it as to-read
Feb 11, 2020
Dalia
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2020
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2020
Jaime
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2020
Jessica Burkhart
marked it as to-read
Mar 05, 2020
Daphnie Pridemore
marked it as to-read
Mar 05, 2020
Joycelynn
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2020
Cynthia Thornton
marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Kate in Waiting
  • Havoc (Haven #2)
  • 10 Truths and a Dare
  • Legendborn (Legendborn, #1)
  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar
  • Lovely War
  • The Initial Insult (The Initial Insult, #1)
  • Parable of the Sower (Earthseed, #1)
  • The Gravity of Us
  • Concrete Rose (The Hate U Give, #0)
  • These Violent Delights (These Violent Delights, #1)
  • Pumpkinheads
  • The Last Secret You’ll Ever Keep
  • Perfect on Paper
  • The Cost of Knowing
  • How You Ruined My Life
  • Pet
  • Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
See similar books…
72 followers
Eva V. Gibson is the author of contemporary YA novels Together We Caught Fire and Where Secrets Lie. A bookworm since early childhood, Eva gravitated toward the dark and gritty, reading, then writing, stories with controversial themes and flawed, complicated characters.
She lives in Northern Virginia with her family, surrounded by kids, yarn, pets, and an ever-growing stack of dark and gritty books
...more

Related Articles

  In most romances, a romp in the hay comes after many chapters of meeting cute, silent pining, and steamy banter. Not so for books that...
34 likes · 6 comments