Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Manatee's Best Friend” as Want to Read:
Manatee's Best Friend
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Manatee's Best Friend

by
4.78  ·  Rating details ·  9 ratings  ·  2 reviews
Perfect for fans of Catherine Hapka -- a heartwarming story about a girl who must find her voice, with lots of manatee and dolphin fun along the way!

Becca Wong Walker may be so shy that most people at school think she doesn't speak at all, but why should she care? She has more important things to worry about. Missy, the manatee who visits the dock in Becca's backyard, and
...more
Kindle Edition, 224 pages
Expected publication: August 3rd 2021 by Scholastic (first published 2021)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Manatee's Best Friend, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Manatee's Best Friend

Community Reviews

Showing 1-37
Average rating 4.78  · 
Rating details
 ·  9 ratings  ·  2 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Manatee's Best Friend
Sam Subity
Dec 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Kids will be inspired by this story about a painfully shy girl who finds her voice speaking up for the manatees because they can't speak for themselves. When the increasing use of motorized vehicles in the waterways around her Florida hometown pose a risk to the manatee population, Becca risks losing a budding friendship and even opposing her dad's business plans to stand up for what she believes in. This one is perfect for fans of Carl Hiaasen's Hoot series! ...more
OTIS
rated it it was amazing
Jan 24, 2021
Tina
rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2020
Gary
rated it really liked it
Feb 19, 2021
Jennifer
rated it it was amazing
Apr 22, 2020
Cathy Ogren
rated it really liked it
Dec 07, 2020
Brianna Bourne
rated it it was amazing
Nov 24, 2020
Caroline
rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2020
Shakirah Bourne
rated it it was amazing
Jul 02, 2020
Megan Freeman
marked it as to-read
Dec 12, 2019
Noa  Sperber
marked it as to-read
Dec 12, 2019
Nora
marked it as to-read
Dec 14, 2019
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2019
Viviane Elbee
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2019
Anna
added it
Jan 09, 2020
Bayley Mae
marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2020
Anitha kuppuswamy
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2020
Jenna Grodzicki
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2020
Kathy
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2020
Chana Stiefel
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2020
Kim Zarins
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2020
Kimberly Yavorski
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2020
Gabi
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2020
MD Knabb
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2020
Judy Bryan
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2020
Angela Dale
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2020
Mrs Heidrich
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2020
Lynne Marie
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2020
Lisa D
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2020
Kelly
marked it as to-read
May 02, 2020
Sherry Fellores
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2020
Angie Quantrell
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2020
Abraham Schroeder
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2020
Lauren Kerstein
marked it as to-read
May 11, 2020
Joe Eyres
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2020
Matt
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2020
Alysa
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Dragonfly Girl
  • Where It All Lands
  • The Nightmare Thief (The Nightmare Thief, #1)
  • An Occasionally Happy Family
  • Thanks a Lot, Universe
  • Kingdom of Secrets
  • Everywhere Blue
  • Rebel Daughter
  • Rea and the Blood of the Nectar (The Chronicles of Astranthia, #1)
  • My Sister, the Serial Killer
  • Josephine Against the Sea (Josephine Against the Sea #1)
  • The Silent Companions
  • Take Back the Block
  • JR Silver Has Something to Say
  • Trouble with a Tiny t
  • The Last Shadow Warrior
  • Ghost Girl
  • Just Right Jillian
See similar books…
69 followers
Sylvia Liu is a middle grade and picture book author inspired by oceans, kraken, cephalopods, and more.

Her upcoming middle grade novels include: MANATEE'S BEST FRIEND (Scholastic, Spring 2021) and Hana Hsu AND THE GHOST CRAB NATION (Razorbill, Summer 2022). Her picture book, A MORNING WITH GRANDPA, illustrated by Christina Forshay (Lee & Low Books 2016) was a New Voices Award winner.

She grew up i
...more

Related Articles

  Tami Charles is a former teacher and the author of picture books, middle grade and young adult novels, and nonfiction. As a teacher, she made...
44 likes · 65 comments