Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A History of My Brief Body” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
A History of My Brief ...
 
by
Billy-Ray Belcourt
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A History of My Brief Body

by
4.67  ·  Rating details ·  12 ratings  ·  4 reviews
The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be.

For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and
...more
Paperback, 142 pages
Expected publication: July 14th 2020 by Two Dollar Radio (first published May 19th 2020)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A History of My Brief Body, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A History of My Brief Body

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
Average rating 4.67  · 
Rating details
 ·  12 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of A History of My Brief Body
Jason
BRB's writing demands that I be more as a reader and thinker, and that I do more to divest from Canada, its destructive whiteness, to resist loudly and violently the nation-state, to stand out of the way of Indigenous flourishing and joy.
Jackie
Jan 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favourites
earth shattering in its beauty and joy and breadth and vitality and grief. unmissable! a perfect book! this made me feel so much and so alive and a renewed sense of commitment to be a better white queer and overthrow the state! also added literally 80949949494 books to my to read list in the notes.
Jonathan
Mar 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
I wear worn-out words everywhere I go
.
.
Maybe i am here in the way that a memory is here? Now, aint that fucking sad and beautiful?
.
.
To love someone is firstly to confess: Im prepared to be devastated by you
.
.
I have been trying, for some time now, to find dignity in my loneliness. I have been finding this hard too
.
.
Love can make even the smallest of spaces feel too large. How?
.
.
I could honestly quote the underlined passages and lines from this collection of essays all day but then there would be
...more
James Resendes
Jan 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: gaygaygay
I can see why this is presented as a memoir, Belcourt using the story of his body, of his indigeneity and queerness, to tell the interdisciplinary story of grief that trails the marginalized. But it's so much more than that: it's a battle cry, a refusal of colonial erasure, a demand for freedom and joy and desire in the face of degradation. And it's a challenge to whiteness, to heteronormativity, to wake tf up to the wake of its destruction.

Just astonishing.

"This is how I've learned kinship with
...more
Connor Mason
rated it it was amazing
Mar 23, 2020
Robin Babb
rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2020
Jen
rated it liked it
Feb 05, 2020
Austen Lee
rated it really liked it
Feb 17, 2020
Jenny Ferguson
rated it it was amazing
Feb 01, 2020
Heather
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2020
Erin
rated it it was amazing
Jan 16, 2020
AnyD
rated it it was amazing
Mar 03, 2020
Max
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2019
Valentín Domenic
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2019
Lindsay
marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2019
Cindy
marked it as to-read
Mar 04, 2019
Cooper Bombardier
marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2019
Chey
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2019
Makenzie
marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2019
Evelyn Pakinewatik
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2019
Tracey
marked it as to-read
Apr 28, 2019
Erin Dodge
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Kathryn
marked it as to-read
May 19, 2019
Audra Vincent
marked it as to-read
May 28, 2019
Ameema Saeed
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2019
Shelby
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2019
k
marked it as to-read
Jun 17, 2019
Jennifer Bradshaw
marked it as to-read
Jun 17, 2019
Lydia
marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2019
Rosella
marked it as to-read
Jul 08, 2019
Ginny
marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2019
Amara
marked it as to-read
Aug 09, 2019
Linda
marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2019
Magdalena Milosz
marked it as to-read
Aug 18, 2019
Elissa Washuta
marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2019
Clea
marked it as to-read
Sep 08, 2019
Erica
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2019
jo ianni
marked it as to-read
Oct 10, 2019
Karla
marked it as to-read
Oct 14, 2019
Doug
added it
Oct 16, 2019
Amy Kirk
marked it as to-read
Oct 26, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Crying Book
  • Ordinary Girls
  • Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me
  • In the Dream House
  • Conjure Women
  • Last Impressions
  • Tiny Imperfections
  • The Best Laid Plans
  • Strip Tease
  • How a Woman Becomes a Lake
  • The Last Year of the War
  • What's Left of Me Is Yours
  • Recipe for a Perfect Wife
  • Red at the Bone
  • We the Animals
  • Norma Jeane Baker of Troy
  • Bluets
  • Roomies
See similar books…
Billy-Ray Belcourt is a writer and academic from the Driftpile Cree Nation. He is a Ph.D. candidate and 2018 Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Scholar in the Department of English & Film Studies at the University of Alberta; he is at work on a creative-theoretical project called "The Conspiracy of NDN Joy." He is also a 2016 Rhodes Scholar and holds an M.St. in Women's Studies from the ...more

Related Articles

The hotly anticipated sequel to 'Carry On' is finally here.
341 likes · 46 comments