Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Brideship Wife” as Want to Read:
The Brideship Wife
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Brideship Wife

4.13  ·  Rating details ·  23 ratings  ·  19 reviews
Inspired by the history of the British “brideships,” this captivating historical debut tells the story of one woman’s coming of age and search of independence—for readers of Suzanne Desrochers’s Bride of New France and Armando Lucas Correa’s The German Girl.

Tomorrow we would dock in Victoria on the northwest coast of North America, about as far away from my home as I
...more
ebook, 400 pages
Expected publication: May 5th 2020 by Simon Schuster
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Brideship Wife, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Brideship Wife

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-47
Average rating 4.13  · 
Rating details
 ·  23 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Brideship Wife
Genevieve Graham
A beautifully told, meticulously researched story of the little known bride ships and the courageous women on board those shabby crafts who risked everything for freedom then fought to get what they deserved. Debut author Leslie Howard brings history to life by masterfully navigating the social demands of the time, the perilous journey into the unknown, the politics, hazards, and often tragic results of colonization, and the minds and hearts of those bridging both.
Nikki Locking
Feb 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I received an advanced copy as a part of my job and am in no way required to write a review. However, this book definitely deserves some praise!!
I am not a major fan of Canadian history since learning it in both French and English in grade school and then further in university. However, this well researched novel of British Columbian history took my breath away. The writing was compelling and detailed with just the right amount of plot twists. Charlotte Harding was a character with such strong
...more
Carolyn McBride
Feb 16, 2020 rated it really liked it
The concept of bride ships was a new one to me, so I found the premise interesting when I requested a copy from NetGalley and the publisher.

I found it to be an enjoyable and educational read. I was quite pleased to read the author notes at the end and find the topic matter deeply researched. The story was easy to read, beautiful and well-paced, in fact, I read it in two sittings. The politics of the day was well carried into the story, social expectations and norms were as well.
I think there
...more
Rachel McMillan
Deeply researched and lovingly told, Howard's soft, accessible style frames Charlotte's journey from high Victorian society to a voyage aboard an English "brideship" to begin life in a land equally treacherous and beautiful.


I enjoyed the balance of travails and triumphs, small moments of grace and the embrace of humanity. While never shying away from presenting the limited opportunities afforded women in the 19th Century (often worth more as bartering chips than human beings) Howard still
...more
Tamara
Feb 15, 2020 rated it really liked it
RTC.
Marie Dixon
Jan 30, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: read-in-2020
I received a copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for a review. What attracted me to the book in the first place was its subject matter - I didn’t know that England had shipped women over to BC to be married and I thought it made for a compelling premise, and it does. However, I found most of the characters shallow and unlikeable, including the main character, Charlotte who, despite being 21, conducts and speak as if she were 40.

By focusing on a upper-class woman
...more
Shannon
Feb 19, 2020 rated it liked it
As I read this book, I vacillated between thinking it was it was quite good and being quite disappointed in it. It starts off with a lot of info dumps, because obviously it's super important to know all about the main characters' lives and what their parents' marriage was like. The main character is the common cliche of a woman with today's sensibilities living in the past. I thought for sure she would get a bee in her bonnet about settling the wilderness of Western Canada and decide to ship ...more
Corrinne
Feb 16, 2020 rated it really liked it
I received an Advanced Reader Copy via @netgalley for an honest review. Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres, I usually learn new things reading them. The Brideship Wife is based on the history of the British bride ships. Well researched and beautifully told, these women risked everything for freedom. *The map at the end of the book shows just how amazing these trips were- the ships sailed from England to the western coast of Canada (British Columbia) and since the Panama Canal hadn't ...more
Janet
Feb 12, 2020 rated it really liked it
When it is snowy and cold outside (and my car is buried under 2ft of ), superspeed readers like me can read 250+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book … and many more today. LOL

I requested and received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review.

From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do .

Inspired by the history of the
...more
Suzanne
Feb 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
THE BRIDESHIP WIFE is one of those historical fiction books that instantly transports the reader to a different time and place, seamlessly, allowing the tale to unfold as pages turn ever more rapidly. I thought I’d just begin to read this book for half an hour... a few hours later I finished it and couldn’t remember deciding to read it in one sitting. How did I get so lost in its tale? Our protagonist, a spinster at 22 with no money to her name, is not that unusual a starting point for a tale. ...more
Diane Secchiaroli
Feb 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This novel is about mid 19th century and the plight of a gentlewoman who doesn’t have a dowry. Charlotte is a young woman who is accosted by her possible fiancé who says that she came on to him thus ruining her reputation. Charlotte decides to travel to the new world, British Columbia, to seek her independence. Her sister accompanied her due to her husband’s desire to wed a young widow. Because her sister is addicted to the drug of the day back then she is forced to seek employment as a nurses ...more
Sbutter
Feb 18, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: canlit, galley-proof
**3.5 stars**
An interesting look back at a period of Canada's history that I was unfamiliar with - the "brideships" of mostly poor, uneducated European women arriving on the shores of the recently established British colonies. Having been promised freedom and opportunity in this exciting new frontier, what awaited the women was vastly different than expected. The story of these women is told with sympathy and compassion, and provides thoughtful insight into the challenges they faced. It's a
...more
Patricia Doyle
I enjoyed The Brideship Wife. The grit of Charlotte was perfect and not so over-the-top that it was contrived. She faced adversity and pushed through; who starts over in a new country nearly penniless with a scandal behind her? Charlotte did.

There was just enough heartache and not so over-the-top that it was depressing. The death of Charlotte’s sister was especially moving.

The love story and its struggles were very well done and not so over-the-top as to be eye-rolling.

Thank you to NetGalley
...more
Joanne
Feb 11, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A sweeping epic of one lady's journey from the ballrooms of England to the wilds of Canada. Leslie Howard has done an amazing job of portraying the life of women in the Victorian period. Charlotte Harding is the younger sister to Harriet and is left penniless after the death of her father. She must rely upon the kindness of her sister and brother-in-law, Charles, to support her. When Charlotte hears of genteel ladies heading to Canada to become brides, circumstances prevail her to go along. ...more
Amber
Feb 18, 2020 rated it really liked it
I like to thank Netgally foIr a advanced copy.

The Brideship Wife is a enjoyable heartwarming story of one woman's journey from England to British Columbia. I really enjoyed books that have great growth with the characters. Charlotte grew so much through this story I loved the woman she became. The social injustice that women dealt with during that time frame was very frustrating.

This was a easy enjoyable read. The history regarding the Brideship was very interesting I think it would open up
...more
Brandy McGlaughlin
Feb 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Darren
Feb 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I got this as a arc e book for my i pad from net galley. I enjoyed reading it. It had a good story to it. I liked the variety of characters in it. I read at the end of this book that this is the authors debut book and she is from my home country of Canada. I hope that she puts out another good book,for sure.
Bonnye Reed
Feb 19, 2020 is currently reading it
Netgalley
pub date May 05, 2020
Simon & Schuster Canada
Sarah
rated it it was amazing
Feb 14, 2020
Debra
rated it really liked it
Feb 11, 2020
Emma
rated it liked it
Jan 29, 2020
RoseMary Achey
rated it liked it
Feb 09, 2020
Catherine Peterson
rated it liked it
Feb 01, 2020
Roberta
rated it it was amazing
Feb 22, 2020
Agnes
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2019
Carol Perreault
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2019
Adele
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2019
S. King
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2019
Cathy Austin
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2019
Lucy
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2020
Katie Coppola
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2020
Amy
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2020
Elizabeth Lamarche
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2020
Becky Van Daniker
marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2020
Allison Howard
is currently reading it
Jan 04, 2020
Mandy
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2020
Jeanne Mac
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2020
Megan
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2020
Elizabeth
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2020
Joanne
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2020
Michele
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2020
Amy
marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2020
Windy Kahler
marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2020
Jade
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2020
Hilarie
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Brideship Wife
  • The Paris Library
  • The Whispers of War
  • Two Girls Down (Alice Vega #1)
  • Such a Fun Age
  • Things in Jars
  • The Light After the War
  • An Orphan’s War
  • One Day You'll Burn
  • Long Bright River
  • The Authenticity Project
  • American Predator: The Hunt for the Most Meticulous Serial Killer of the 21st Century
  • The Words I Never Wrote
  • Grace and Fury (Grace and Fury, #1)
  • The Ragged Edge of Night
  • Bringing Down the Duke (A League of Extraordinary Women, #1)
  • The Lost Ones
  • Dangerous Lady (Maura Ryan, #1)
See similar books…
2 followers
Leslie Howard grew up in Penticton, British Columbia, where she developed a passion for the province’s history. A graduate of Ottawa’s Carleton University in economics and political science, she now divides her time between Vancouver and Penticton, where she and her husband grow cider apples. The Brideship Wife is her debut novel. Connect with her on Twitter @AuthorLeslieH or on her website ...more