Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Nomen Omen Volume 1: Total Eclipse of the Heart” as Want to Read:
Nomen Omen Volume 1: Total Eclipse of the Heart
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Nomen Omen Volume 1: Total Eclipse of the Heart

by
3.73  ·  Rating details ·  84 ratings  ·  18 reviews
No matter how fast your run, sooner or later your past will catch up with you. Becky Kumar is a daughter of three mothers, a geeky twenty-year-old from New York City who is about to cross the veil between our reality and an ancient realm of otherworldly truths. From writer and RPG creator MARCO B. BUCCI (Magna Veritas, Memento Mori) and artist JACOPO CAMAGNI (X-Men Blue, ...more
Paperback, 160 pages
Published March 24th 2020 by Image Comics (first published November 9th 2017)
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Nomen Omen Volume 1 by Marco B. Bucci
    Nomen Omen Volume 1: Total Eclipse of the Heart
    by
    Release date: Mar 18, 2020
    Enter for a chance to win 1 of 25 copies of NOMEN OMEN, VOL. 1 by Marco B. Bucci and Jacopo Camagni.

    No matter how fast you run, sooner or later your
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 25 copies available, 1557 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Mar 16 - Mar 30, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Nomen Omen Volume 1, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Nomen Omen Volume 1

    This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-30
    Average rating 3.73  · 
    Rating details
     ·  84 ratings  ·  18 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Nomen Omen Volume 1: Total Eclipse of the Heart
    Dariusz Płochocki
    Jul 07, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: komiksy
    Żeby treść dorównywała rysunkom (chociaż dla mnie trochę za mocno inspirowanych japońskimi anime), to byłoby nieźle, a tak dostajemy raczej nudny początek historii, oparty w 80% na ekspozycji.
    Giulia Rita Herondale
    È davvero figo. Non mi piace come parola ma non riesco a trovare un termine più adatto. La storia e i disegni mi piacciono molto. L'elemento che preferisco è il modo in cui utilizzano il colore. Però non ho apprezzato il modo in cui hanno esposto la storia. Infatti in alcuni punti non sono stati molto chiari.
    Alex Sarll
    I was dimly aware of Nomen Omen as a suggested replacement for people missing WicDiv, but beyond involving queer teens getting tangled up with the mythic, I'm not really seeing it. I tend to get riled by stories where people start doing 'As you know, Bob' dialogue to explain the set-up, but then there's the opposite extreme, where you really are just seeing events from outside, trying to piece together what's going on, and OK that's how the real world works, but even there you get occasional ...more
    Kelly Spoer
    Mar 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Thank you Image for giving me access to a review copy.


    Holy shit. I need to own the physical book.
    And I need volume 2, now.

    For fans of Sandman, and Saga, and obviously Fables.

    This is pure magic.
    Sofia
    Mar 14, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Tutto molto bello ma io c'ho capito poco 😅 non vedo l'ora di leggere il secondo volume e scoprire di più su questa storia.
    Jake
    Feb 20, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Fantasy thrives in comics with its visuals. Which is what makes the meaning behind them so amazing. In this time the magic genuinely feels otherworldly thanks to being in color while the rest of the world looks monochrome. Then you find out it's because the main character is colorblind and she finds it otherworldly because what's normal to us looks mythological to others. That's the whole thing behind all of this, nothing that people see happening is supposed to make sense. Magic and myths are ...more
    Arja
    Dec 15, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
    Due stelle, diamogliene due e mezzo.
    L'idea è interessante, niente di sconvolgente o innovativo, ma ha quel che di American Gods che apprezzo, e la mitologia irlandese è uno dei motivi dei miei acquisti istantanei.
    I disegni sono molto belli, o per lo meno incontrano il mio gusto, e mi è piaciuto molto l'uso circoscritto del colore.
    Arriviamo però alle note dolenti: la sceneggiatura.
    Non so se la casa editrice ha tagliato le gambe al progetto, se avesse dato 3 volumi rispetto ai 6 proposti si
    ...more
    Jessica
    Mar 19, 2020 rated it liked it
    Interesting premise although I'm not 100% sure what I read. I like the overall achromatic scheme with magic coming out in color but I'm not a huge fan of some of the lettering.

    The pacing is a little weird - first we've got backstory that jumps 21 years and no one addresses the super-weird issues surrounding this kid's existence. Then we move to a basic character backstory, that at least deals with the immediate past, when out of nowhere there's this huge superhero-like scene that doesn't make
    ...more
    Agnieszka Pyra
    Apr 12, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: 2019
    Tom first Nomen Omen did not blow my mind. I regret that artists more often do not reach their roots. I would prefer Italian urban fantasy than another New York and Irish deities. Graphically pleasing, but artistic expressions to emphasize the intermingling of worlds, not original (compare The Wendy Project Osborne&Fish, though they were created almost simultaneously). The plot promises to be so interesting that I give this comic a chance, I hope that the next issue will dispel the first, ...more
    Lucille
    Je n'ai pas accroché mais j'ai apprécié la diversité des personnages et l'utilisation du n&b et des couleurs pour montrer l'apparition de la magie ainsi que l'achromatopsie de l'héroïne.
    Pourrait plaire aux fan de The Wicked + The Divine je pense.
    Stefan Fergus
    Mar 26, 2020 rated it really liked it
    An interesting mash-up of folk legend, witches, the Sidh, but all taking place in New York.
    Well worth a read, and looking forward to Volume 2.
    Andrea Liuzzo
    3.5 ⭐
    ...more
    Marianna Rainolter
    Perché non l'ho preso prima *sigh*
    Comunque la recensione uscirà prossimamente sul blog #staytuned
    Theediscerning
    Feb 23, 2020 rated it did not like it
    Nope, sorry, nada. No one idea what the heck I was supposed to be reading.
    Ruthsic
    Warnings: full frontal nudity, sex scenes

    Rep: queer characters; main character has two queer mothers

    In a way, Nomen Omen feels like a lot of fae urban fantasies, with the protagonist getting attacked by a mysterious creature, takes her heart and sics the Wild Hunt on her. She meets another fae creature who explains stuff to her, and introduces her to someone who might be able to tell what's wrong with her. The artwork is visually stunning, and has a demarcation between the character's inability
    ...more
    Aelurus
    Feb 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    Une belle découverte et une histoire riche qui donne envie de poursuivre la lecture. Dommage, il va falloir maintenant attendre. Un univers de folklore, de mythes et de contes de fées. La magie a la part belle et tient une place essentiel. Amoureux des sorcières et de mystique, cette série est faite pour vous.

    https://letmentertainyou.com/2020/03/...
    Harry Jahnke
    Jan 13, 2020 rated it really liked it
    I liked this one a lot. I really like the use of colors and I'm excited to see where they go with it. I feel like the beginning is a little rocky in terms of understanding the characters and what's going on but I think with more volumes, it'll probably make more sense as the story continues.
    Justyna Łagan
    rated it it was amazing
    May 05, 2019
    Jiji Schmidt
    rated it really liked it
    Feb 05, 2020
    Marcello Marogna
    rated it it was amazing
    May 15, 2018
    Althea
    rated it liked it
    Mar 27, 2020
    julia
    rated it really liked it
    Mar 06, 2020
    Elisa Lonnie
    rated it liked it
    Aug 08, 2019
    Marion
    rated it really liked it
    Mar 06, 2020
    Marty
    rated it liked it
    Mar 14, 2018
    Rebecca
    rated it really liked it
    Apr 21, 2019
    Federico
    rated it liked it
    Nov 19, 2017
    Fabio Freddi
    rated it it was amazing
    Feb 03, 2018
    « previous 1 3 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • La Forêt envahissante (Blue au pays des songes, #1)
    • Nomen Omen 0: Capitolo Zero
    • Harleen
    • Coffin Bound, Vol. 1: Happy Ashes
    • 100%
    • Le Consentement
    • Unnatural, Vol. 1: Awakening
    • La Conquête de l'espace - Vol. 1 (Le Château des Etoiles, #1)
    • しまなみ誰そ彼 4 [Shimanami Tasogare 4]
    • Sarah (La Brigade des Cauchemars, #1)
    • しまなみ誰そ彼 3 [Shimanami Tasogare 3]
    • しまなみ誰そ彼 2 [Shimanami Tasogare 2]
    • しまなみ誰そ彼 1 [Shimanami Tasogare 1]
    • Arthur and the Golden Rope (The Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #1)
    • 空挺ドラゴンズ 1 [Kuutei Dragons 1] (Drifting Dragons, #1)
    • Middlewest, Book One
    • Futura nostalgia. Część 3
    • Paper Girls, Vol. 6
    See similar books…

    Related Articles

    Need another excuse to treat yourself to new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our lis...
    38 likes · 9 comments