Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Jane Doe and the Key of All Souls (The Jane Doe Chronicles, #2)” as Want to Read:
Jane Doe and the Key of All Souls (The Jane Doe Chronicles, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Jane Doe and the Key of All Souls

(Jane Doe Chronicles #2)

by
4.47  ·  Rating details ·  167 ratings  ·  31 reviews
Strap in. Hold on tight. The follow-up to the award-winning Jane Doe and the Cradle of All Worlds is here!

Jane Doe is in more danger than ever before. Her father is still imprisoned. The Manor – the hallowed world between worlds – is still dying. The villainous Roth is still searching for the mythical, all-powerful Cradle Sea. Worst of all, Jane has learned that she is the
...more
Paperback, 432 pages
Published February 1st 2020 by Hardie Grant Egmont
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Jane Doe and the Key of All Souls, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Jane Doe and the Key of All Souls

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.47  · 
Rating details
 ·  167 ratings  ·  31 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Jane Doe and the Key of All Souls (The Jane Doe Chronicles, #2)
Rosie
Apr 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I will never, ever get enough of Jane Doe. She is such a badass, and I bloody love her.

The end of this book had me tearing up, folks. What an adventure. Fast paced from the very outset - in fact, it is fast paced from the outset of book 1. It’ll sure get your heart rate up.

As well as Jane, I bloody love Violet, Hickory and Aki. There are not enough words for me to describe how much I loved Jane and Violet’s relationship, with all the blushing and awkwardness and beautiful queerness. We need mo
...more
Booknerds by Kerstin
Jan 12, 2021 rated it really liked it
Mein Fazit:

Mit „Der Schlüssel aller Seelen“ hat Jeremy Lachlan seiner Dilogie ein würdiges Ende bereitet. Ein Abenteuer, das ich nicht nur Kindern empfehle. Mit viel Wortwitz und Spannung begleiten wir die schlagfertige Prota Jane auf ihrem finalen Abenteuer. Natürlich lässt sie auch hierbei kein Fettnäpfchen und keine Gefahr aus. Insgesamt finde ich diesen band etwas schwächer als den Ersten, da er für mich immer wieder kleinere Durststrecken hatte. Aber im Gesamten gesehen, eine geniale Dilogi
...more
Katy
Feb 18, 2020 rated it really liked it
Another great adventure in the Jane Doe series. Personally, I like this better than the first book. But in saying that, to understand Jane, you need to read book 1.
Lachlan’s writing is more at ease with Jane in this book. I’m guessing there is a little bit of Jeremy in Jane .. I felt more connected to her .. I felt the adrenaline, the fear the excitement, her character is growing.
This is a beautifully crafted story with an ending that leaves you excited, but also frustrated that I will have to
...more
Ashmita
May 05, 2021 added it
Shelves: arcs
The first fifteen percent of the book is pretty slow going and is basically what we refer to as the build-up and not much is happening, because I presume the transition from the first book to the second book was necessary, but if if you stick around, Jeremy's eccentric characters and the lovely world is totally worth it.
I completely adored the character, Jane Doe! She was a dear, and I think one of the best middle-grade characters that I have come across! The end of the book left me wanting mor
...more
Cherie
Jan 01, 2021 rated it really liked it
This really is a fantastic middle grade book full of adventure and interesting characters. I would have loved reading this back when I was the target audience, but still thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Awesome to have books like these coming from an Australian author :)
Rorie
Apr 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Marcel Haußmann
Feb 01, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Mit "Die Wiege aller Welten" hat Jeremy Lachlan die Messlatte sehr hoch angelegt und konnte mich mit der Geschichte richtig begeistern. Nun steht mit "Der Schlüssel aller Seelen" der zweite Band in den Startlöchern und verspricht eine Menge Action und Spaß:

Jane ist verzweifelt! Das Schloss, die Welt zwischen den Welten, liegt im Sterben, Janes Vater ist immer noch gefangen und ihr Erzfeind Roth kommt dem Wiegenmeer immer näher. Die Gefahr ist größer als je zu vor und nur Jane kann Roth aufhalten
...more
Sarria Butler
Jan 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
AH I LOVE IT SO MUCH!!!
REVIEW TO COME AND ITS AWESOME.
Mitch
Aug 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A thrilling continuation of the joy ride that started in Cradle of All Worlds. Lachlan has a real talent for making you care about his eclectic characters as they go through a wild ride, a rollercoaster through strange worlds and the compelling manor. A satisfying ending brings all the threads together, and readers are left guessing until the last page. A wonderful adventure story!
Lieblingsleseplatz
Dec 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Ich gebe zu, beim Auftakt der Dilogie Die Wiege aller Welten hatte ich schon ein wenig Angst, dass hier wieder das Klischee vom „Mädchen, das aus schlimmen Verhältnissen kommt und dann durch eine überraschende Gabe/Prophezeiung auszieht, um die Welt zu retten“ bedient wird…
Ha, Ha!
Weit gefehlt!

Inhaltlich möchte ich gar nicht zu sehr auf den zweiten Band eingehen, denn wahrscheinlich gibt es Einige, die Jane’s Geschichte noch kennen. Daher ein Auszug aus meiner Rezension von Band1:
Jane lebt gerade
...more
Teri B
Jul 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This second book in the duology was quite the rollercoaster to get through. I listened to it as an audiobook from my local library.

When I was a little bit in I considered to DNF this book. There was just nothing happening, the main character, in the first book still in full middle grade mode felt all of a sudden very young adult streamlined and dull, and I felt I was dumped with information.

I checked on goodreads and the rating this book is so high, that i decided to bear a little bit longer and
...more
Susanne Krajan
Dec 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
Nach einem tollen Auftakt, war ich gespannt ob die Fortsetzung mich auch begeistern kann. Ich finde die Idee hinter der Story nämlich wirklich toll, trotzdem hing es hier etwas in der Handlung für mich.

Mit dem locker leichten Schreibstil des Autors, fällt es auf jeden Fall leicht, wieder ins Geschehen zu finden. Man kommt gut rein und fühlt sich direkt wieder auf dem aktuellen Stand. Als wäre man nie weggewesen.

Wir befinden uns mit Jane und ihren Freunden noch in der Anderwelt. Es gilt das Sch
...more
Emanuela D'Annibale
Jan 02, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Such a nice mental break! I’m probably one of his oldest readers, but I do recommend this book to anyone 13 and above! Easy to read, very captivating! And so much fun! He leaves no stone unturned, there’s no holes and the questions left hanging I’m sure he’ll fill in his next book. An excellent sequel! More captivating than the first, which in itself is a feat!!

Jeremy takes you into this amazing world of adventure, thrills and pummels your imagination into his! Continuing where he left off at t
...more
Ruth Garlick
May 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Jane Doe and the Key of All Souls, the sequel to Jane Doe and the Cradle of All Worlds, by Jeremy Lachlan, is such an action-filled and fast-paced book.
Jane, and her friends, are now stranded in a desert Otherworld. But they need to get back to the Manor – the Manor that connects all the worlds – to fulfil Jane’s destiny.
But someone is standing in their way. A villain so gruesome and wretched, who is unkillable.
Going through betrayal, making an unlikely friend, and fighting fierce battles, Ja
...more
Laney
May 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
*Trigger Warning for this book: Infant death.*

Key of All Souls definitely has a few things in it that I don't think are appropriate for a middle-grade novel. Firstly is the topic of infant death, and secondly is some mild swearing.

Aside from that, this is a very well written book. The setting description takes it up a notch in this book, and you can really feel the magic of The Manor. So much so that despite the danger, I desperately want to visit!

The plot was also captivating, and there were a
...more
Tufail
Jun 15, 2021 rated it it was amazing
This is the best book I’ve ever read… and that’s a lot to say since I’ve read the Harry Potter series and the Hunger games and more. The story is beautifully written, and I especially like the relationship between Jane and Violet. How, from being friends, it turned into something different. And finally, we even get the kiss we’ve been waiting for. I like all the characters :) I’ve been hearing about book 3 of this chronicles. If it is true, I can’t wait. That’s how excited I am 😃 I love the book ...more
Lyn Jenkins
Apr 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Finished at last.

I was going to give this 4 stars because it took me so long to read it, it just kept going on and on and on, then I realised the reason it kept going on was because something more exciting kept happening. I have to say every time I got to a part where surely something good was about to happen BAM! Disaster, betrayal, fighting or running there was always SOMETHING, so how could I not give it 5 stars that is after all the premise of a great story.
Mitch Johnson
Feb 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely amazing! I loved this book from start to finish. It was just as good as the first book, which is a hard thing to find in a sequel. Full of action, great characters, and it was a satisfying conclusion to the story of Jane Doe - although I hope there is more to come!

I hope to see more books in the future from Jeremy Lachlan, they'll definitely be on my read-list as soon as they're released.
...more
H.M. Waugh
There are two things I really love about this series. The first is the world building. Because it's epic. I love the idea of the manor and all the intricacies of everything that happens in and around it. So much fun!
The second thing I love is the voice. Jane is saying so much awesome stuff and she doesn't give a damn and it makes her voice so authentic.
Great book!
...more
Robyn Hoare
Jan 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I was luck enough to receive an early copy of this book and absolutely loved being back in adventures with Jane, Violet and Hickory. The book is exciting, easy to read at a frantic pace and thoroughly enjoyable. Well worth 5 stars.
Linden
Jul 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I love this series so bloody much. Complete, fantastic adventure, brilliantly developed range of characters... just excellent. I'm so happy that this adventure is a duology but that the world continues in the forthcoming The Quill of All Tales. I await eagerly! ...more
Fiona Lansdown
Feb 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Had to pick this up immediately after finishing Jane Doe 1- now I need Jeremy Lachlan to hurry up with Book 3. Great to find such fab Aussie writing, I hope these books get the international recognition they deserve.
Danielle
Jun 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020
Satisfying ending to an action packed middle grade duology
Nicole Lemmon
Aug 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A satisfying follow up to Cradle of all Worlds! Ties up everything but leaves it all open for more adventures with Jane and her crew!
Sarah Thornton
Nov 27, 2020 rated it really liked it
An equally thrilling conclusion to the epic tale of Jane Doe. Plot twists and triumphs in abundance.

Clearly Australian, Jeremy Lachlan has managed a classic epic for the modern era.
Ellie
Sep 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 56-classroom
So freaking awesome. Suspense. Thriller. Twists and turns. I have say it is better than the first!!!
Tara
May 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing
And amazing sequel to follow Jane Doe and the Cradle of All Worlds, truly worthy of being called a literary work of art.
Shane Jones
Sep 17, 2020 rated it really liked it
I loved the adventure I went on in this book. I had to stop and breathe after a while though. Still fun to dive into.
Suzie
2 1/2 stars. Enjoyable adventure but I must confess it had been a while since I read the previous book so it took me a while to catch up with what was happening
✿
Mar 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
In my opinion, I actually liked this book better than the first one. But obviously, you have to have read the first book to understand the characters, especially Jane. I especially liked all the Violet X Jane moments. They were adorable. It was also nice to get to see more of Hickory because he's the best character obviously. Hickory and Violet are such pranksters though. 😭 ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Secret Commonwealth (The Book of Dust #2)
  • Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
  • Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations, #1)
  • Call Down the Hawk (Dreamer Trilogy, #1)
  • The Glimme
  • Ottilie Colter and the Withering World (The Narroway Trilogy #3)
  • The Grandest Bookshop in the World
  • Commonwealth
  • The Conference of the Birds (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #5)
  • All That Impossible Space
  • The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
  • Nerve
  • Golden Unicorn (Rise of the Mythix #1)
  • Eight Perfect Murders
  • The Run: Die Prüfung der Götter
  • Ottilie Colter and the Narroway Hunt
  • The Brilliant Ideas of Lily Green
  • The Witch of Willow Hall
See similar books…
61 followers
Jeremy Lachlan was born and raised on Wiradjuri country, in Griffith, NSW, Australia. He completed his Honours degree in creative writing at the University of Canberra in 2004, and now calls Sydney home. His debut novel, Jane Doe and the Cradle of All Worlds, was the 2019 Australian Book Industry Award winner for Book of the Year for Older Children, and he once took home $100 in a karaoke competit ...more

Other books in the series

Jane Doe Chronicles (2 books)
  • Jane Doe and the Cradle of All Worlds (The Jane Doe Chronicles, #1)

Related Articles

  Author C.L. Clark is no newcomer to the sci-fi and fantasy scene. Though she just published her first novel, The Unbroken, earlier this year,...
118 likes · 11 comments