Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Only Lies Remain” as Want to Read:
Only Lies Remain
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Only Lies Remain

by
4.06  ·  Rating details ·  33 ratings  ·  30 reviews
Everyone thought Danny Walsh deserted his family when his sons were young. But when Danny's body turns up fifteen years later and his wife, Maura, is implicated in his murder, accusations and old rumours surface.

Aoife rushes in to clear her mother-in-law's name. But why is it that Maura's story surrounding Danny's disappearance doesn't quite add up?

Aoife's investigation
...more
Kindle Edition, 279 pages
Expected publication: February 19th 2020 by VCB Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Only Lies Remain, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Only Lies Remain

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.06  · 
Rating details
 ·  33 ratings  ·  30 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Only Lies Remain
Wulfwyn
Wow! This book! It kept me guessing. I did not see it coming. I was everywhere with who was doing what. I only put it down because I had some health issues crop up. Otherwise this would have been a sit down and read until I’m done book. Every time I had to put it down, my mind was on the book, what happened and what I thought might happen. I am planning to read it again when I’m over this medical thing so that I can read it in one sitting. The plot is twisted. I felt like I couldn’t trust ...more
Rick
Dec 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Only Lies Remain is a psychological thriller that builds from the first page and doesn’t quit until the last paragraph. The protagonist, Aoife is one of those people you think you can push around but she has a hidden strength that can be stretched but never broken. Aoife is featured for the second time in Only Lies Remain, Val Collin's second novel.

Aoife is looking for a job. She has asked her husband to leave, but he is back claiming he wants move home to reconcile with Aoife and also to
...more
Jasmine
Dec 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Oh MY GOSH. Oh my goodness. I’m, what?!

So now that I’m able to speak, this psychological thriller was absolutely incredible. I was hooked from beginning to end and struggled to stop reading this novel. The plot was so good but the best part was that she kept building on it. When I thought I knew what was going on and how we were going to solve it, she added something else. However, it was in such a way that I didn’t get confused but I did say “wtf no way” more times than I can remember. I truly
...more
Dawn
Dec 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
an interesting who did it with the interactions of a family rift and hard feelings all thrown in for additional drama. Just when the reader thinks he or she has it figured out, another twist takes you down another path. This is a very intriguing mystery with plenty of emotions to go around.
Linda
Dec 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This thriller had my heart racing from the first page. with twists and turns where you least expect, you won't be able to put this down. If you enjoy stories set in Ireland, you will love this book. I received this book as an ARC and this is my honest review.
Christine
Jan 08, 2020 rated it really liked it
“Only Lies Remain”—Val Collins [4 stars ] First off, I won this book from a Goodreads giveaway and it did not disappoint! This started out a little slow, but then definitely picked up the pace and I couldn’t put it down. The book had you questioning every single character and their motives and the ending was definitely a shocker! If you’re looking for a good psychological thriller, this is definitely a great option ...more
Linda Strong
Jan 28, 2020 rated it really liked it

REVIEW TO BE POSTED 2/19/20
Kayla | kaylagetsread
I didn’t read the synopsis before digging into Only Lies Remain, so I was pleasantly surprised to see that Aoife from Girl Targeted had made a reappearance! I enjoyed seeing her character evolve in this newest installment.

To start, there are lots of characters in this book, and I went back to the first to skim through for a refresher on some of the repeats. I didn’t find that the previous story was necessary to read before this one either. You catch on quickly that Jason is a controlling jerk,
...more
Nicola Stevenson
Jan 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc, thriller
I really enjoyed this book. I felt a little lost at the start, but the story really took off a few chapter in & it never really stopped. There were lots of twists & turns and I did not guess the ending.

Thanks to VCB Publishing & @netgalley for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Jeannie Bee
Dec 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
I received a free copy of this book from BookSirens.
It felt like the story took a little while to get going but then it flowed really well. It’s well written and has a plot that keeps you guessing to the end. Enjoyable read and would recommend to friends who enjoy this genre.
Kimberly
Dec 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
Thank you to Book Sirens for the free digital ARC in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Only Lies Remain is a Psychological Thriller that had me hooked from the start. I love a book that keeps me guessing and this one did just that. I never guessed who was responsible until the very end. Well written and an enjoyable read.
Ruby
Jan 19, 2020 rated it really liked it
I received this advance copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This was the first book I read by Val Collins and I have to say that although I have not read the previous book yet, this one held up on its own very well. I didn’t have to have read the last book in order to have grasped what was happening in this one. Lately, I find that I’m really enjoying books that are set in Ireland (I recently finished a few by fellow author, Catherine Ryan Howard) and I was pleased to find out ...more
Teresa Collins
Jan 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is a very good twisting and turning mystery. The characters are believable and three-dimensional. And even though this is book 2 in the series and there were events from book 1 mentioned, it wasn't to the extent that I was lost or confused (since I haven't yet read book 1 but will be going back to read it.) I enjoyed that Ms. Collins kept me on my toes as far as determining who the 'bad guys' were, even though there was a portion of the mystery that I did figure out ahead of time, it wasn't ...more
A. M. Cullen
Dec 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Two words: delightfully cosy.

Aoife, single-mother-of-one, is constantly interrupted and silenced by the men in her life. She struggles to be heard and struggles to free herself from the bonds of her male captors (both literally and metaphorically). I suppose, in essence, this is a story about men deceiving women, controlling women, terrifying women, and women fighting back.

What I appreciate most about the author’s style is the absence of graphic descriptions of violence. Crimes, plenty! But no
...more
Tracy Wood
Jan 27, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: booksiren-2020
No one wants to witness a relative being investigated for murder but that's the situation Aoife Walsh experiences when the body of her ex-husband's missing father is found fifteen years after everyone believed he had deserted his young family. His grieving widow seems to know more than she is saying and Aoife is determined to find out what really happened even as things begin to crumble around her.

This is a very good book, which I thoroughly enjoyed. It is a little full of characters and there
...more
Laura
Jan 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
The synopsis is what hooked me. You know I love me a good thriller!

I appreciated the authors note in the beginning in regards to proper pronunciation of common Irish names. The book is a bit slow to start. Everything is being set up and you’re getting background information. I started having my suspicions as things slowly started to come together. I also wasn’t exactly sold on the characters at first but as the story progressed, I came around. None of them are very likable but yet it worked for
...more
Jeremy Stewart
Jan 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
*I received a copy of the book from the author in return for my honest review*

This is the first book I have ever read from Val. This has a creepy cover that gave me goosebumps the moment I saw it.

I absolutely loved this book. Val has a unique way of sucking you into the story as you follow every character. This thriller had an amazing plot to it. Great twists having me on the edge of my seat waiting to see what happened next.

Her writing isn't like any other author I have read. She almost made
...more
Margaret Yelton
Jan 24, 2020 rated it really liked it
Only Lies Remain is a pyschological thriller which is one of my favorite genres to read. This book definitely kept me guessing who was responsible for things that had happened. I haven't read any books by this author before, but I did enjoy her writing style. I am sure I will try more of her books. It did take me a few chapters to get caught up in the storyline but once I did it was hard to put down. For those that enjoy thrillers I would recommend this one to them.

I received a ARC of this book
...more
Heather Brock
Jan 05, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: books-won, giveaways
Slightly predictable, but not a bad story as a whole. The chapter breaks were sometimes abrupt. There were a few instances of some names being used in error, i.e. "Maura brought Maura XYZ" when it's clear another character was intended. The book could is a final polish. This was an entertaining, quick read and I enjoyed it
Thank you VCB publishing!
Victoria
Jan 05, 2020 rated it really liked it
The beginning was a bit confusing with so many characters coming in and out of the story line. But, once the relationships between the characters was established and the story was underway this book was hard to put down. At every page there seems to be another twist and turn I wasn't expecting. Truly a captivating story with a refreshing ending.
Kay J
Jan 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: mystery-thriller
What a book, what a story! My goodness edge of my seat with this one. Thoroughly enjoyed this read. So good Val Collins did fantastic job
Jami Duffy
Dec 30, 2019 rated it liked it
Solid murder mystery but could have used a touch more editing. Overall, I enjoyed the story and felt most of the characters were well developed and interesting. At times, though, there seemed to be a bit of a tangle in the direction the story was going. I think some of the extra story-lines could have been trimmed out as they gave the feeling the plot was a bit aimless at times. Beyond some small editing quibbles, though, I found the book compelling and definitely wanted to stick around to find ...more
Maria
Jan 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Wow, this book kept me wondering what's going to happen next with every turn of the page. Never expected the ending.
Kathy
Dec 30, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: first-reads
Thanks for making me a lucky winner of this book through the First Reads program; and I look forward to reading and reviewing!
Leah
Dec 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book ended up being a good mystery/psychological thriller. It took me a while to get into it, the beginning starts with so many different characters and I found it confusing. I pushed through and enjoyed the story of Aoife. At the end I wish it would of had other characters reactions to the events. I didn’t know there was a previous book written about Aoife but I will probably search for it to read.

Disclaimer: I received an advance review copy for free and I am leaving this review
...more
Heidi Svendsen
Jan 18, 2020 rated it really liked it
What a strong followup from the first book! I have to be honest and say I did not remember much from the frist book when I started reading this one. But I remembered more and more of the characters as I went along in this book, and this without having to be feed the last book by spoons by the author. Great job! What is also nice is that you can read this book as a stand alone, it carries itself nicely.

This book feels a lot like a roller coaster to me. The first part of the book was rather slow,
...more
Jen McCarthy
Thank you NetGalley for an advanced copy of Only Lies Remain.

I had to give up on this book at about 35%... I hate to do that but I felt myself rolling my eyes at what I was reading and not enjoying it at all. There were so many characters and random things going on that it just seemed all over the place. Maybe if I’d read more everything would come together but my turning point was after reading an entire chapter that was pretty much a back and forth between Aoife and her friend Orla with
...more
janine
Jan 20, 2020 rated it did not like it
Don't you just hate it when you are super excited by a book after reading brilliant feedback from other readers and the synopsis seems to jump right at you... then it just doesn't tick any boxes for you?

Yep.. me too. I managed to plough on to 53% before giving up completely. I picked up and put back down for 2 weeks but it just didn't click.

A really really slow burner, nothing was happening.. it just wasn't going anywhere so I decided to take that as my cue to leave!

I know I'll be in the
...more
Lissa Wells
Jan 04, 2020 rated it it was ok
Shelves: arc, e-reader
This could have really been a real promising thriller however the story started off kind of disheveled to me with boring characters which made it uninteresting from the start. It also was not hard to figure out The Who dunnit element . I do have to say at the end is when all the action happened unfortunately. I know I am in the minority with my review but this was just a miss for me

I received an advanced review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.
Kathy Webb
Jan 27, 2020 rated it really liked it
I won this Kindle edition book in a Goodreads
Giveaway. Thank you to everyone involved.
A great book. Keeps you guessing!!!
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Bargain Basement: Giveaway 1 12 Dec 17, 2019 08:07AM  
Book Giveaways: Giveaway 1 23 Dec 17, 2019 07:59AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Debris
  • Ever Told
  • If I Had Two Lives
  • A Little Bit Psycho
  • What Lies in Paradise
  • A Monster Escapes
  • Let Me Go (Eva Rae Thomas Mystery #5)
  • The Meat Hunter
  • All Is Not Forgotten
  • Blood Bath in Rio: A Tor Medina Thriller
  • The Neighbour's Cat
  • The Journey Home
  • Best Kept Secret
  • The Lies She Told
  • Ayesha at Last
  • The Sisters: A Short Story
  • Tribute
See similar books…
24 followers
Val Collins is the author of the award-winning psychological thriller GIRL TARGETED and ONLY LIES REMAIN, both of which feature heroine Aoife Walsh.

She has lived in Ireland her entire life, and graduated from University College Dublin. She enjoys chocolate, going for long walks in the countryside, seeing as much of the world as possible, meeting friends, writing, and reading. In fact, she devours
...more