Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Voting Booth” as Want to Read:
The Voting Booth
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Voting Booth

by
4.17  ·  Rating details ·  42 ratings  ·  20 reviews
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star.
Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She's always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election?
Duke Crenshaw is do done with this election. He just wants to get voting over with so
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Expected publication: July 7th 2020 by Disney-Hyperion
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Voting Booth, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Voting Booth

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.17  · 
Rating details
 ·  42 ratings  ·  20 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Voting Booth
Kelly
Marva is a bit uptight, controlling, and loves to live by the rules. She's beyond excited to vote in her first election.

Duke is a bit more easy going, but he's dealing with tremendous loss in his life and the realities of being mixed race (his mother is white and his father is Black).

When Marva casts her vote in the election and sees the challenges Duke has in doing the same -- he's not on the precinct rolls -- she steps in. Together, they spend a day getting to know one another while also
...more
Taylor Knight
This book is everything I want from a Young Adult contemporary book and more. It's absolutely fantastic in every single way.
I've been having a hard time really loving YA books the past few years, struggling to find many YA books as enjoyable as I once did. I've been starting each YA book with high hopes but often finishing the book disappointed. That was not the case with The Voting Booth. It caught my attention right away and I read the whole book in just a day. It was surprisingly a quick
...more
Jen Petro-Roy
Feb 01, 2020 added it
Shelves: 2020, arc, ebook, ya
Fantastic.
Sacha
Jan 30, 2020 added it
Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this arc, which I received in exchange for an honest review. Ill be posting that review (spoiler alert: it will be glowing) upon publication. ...more
Alicia
Told in alternating points of view- Marva goes to a predominately white prep school and is focused on activism, particularly in exercising your right to vote and shes happy to do it for the first time at the beginning of the story. Duke is a tall black kid who goes to the local public high school and is voting too- except hes not registered in that county which puts the two on a collision course in a meet-cute with deeper roots. Dukes brother died by gunfire working and helping the same people ...more
Lauren
Apr 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: young-adult
A great YA novel that shows the importance of every vote and the way each individual person has a lasting effect and change the world. A sweet story, very well done. Not too heavy with politics but has just the right amount to not feel too weighed down.
Story Eater
Sep 24, 2019 marked it as to-read
I wish the synopsis would give more information about why/how the characters are having a hard time voting. For such a big publishing company, the book info is pretty cryptic.
Kinsey
Feb 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Thank you to NetGalley for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This book is amazing and I hope so many teens and adults will read it. The premise is a falling in love during the course of a day troupe similar to The Sun Is Also a Star but it becomes so much more. The story follows two teens who set out to vote for the first time in Election Day and while one is able to cast her vote, the other runs into problems with his voting location and registration mixup. As
...more
Catherine
Jan 29, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: realistic-fiction, ya
Marva is excited to do her civic duty and vote, but after she finished the day seems to unravel. First, another teen is turned away at the polls. After fighting with her boyfriend about the importance of voting, she decides to make it her mission to help Duke make his voice heard. There are a few shenanigans involving a gossipy Starbucks-wielding mom and an internet famous cat, but in the end this stands out as a story that exemplifies what two people with determination and passion can do for ...more
Alex Almeida
Mar 19, 2020 rated it really liked it
Marva and Duke are both 18 and ready to vote in their first election, but when Marva sees Duke getting turned away to vote, she makes it her mission to help this stranger guarantee that his vote counts.

Both Marva and Duke are so likable, which made this a really quick and enjoyable read. It was cute and light when it needed to be, but still it had its powerful moments that showcased the importance of voting and paying attention to the world and what your part is in making it a better place for
...more
Chelsey
When Duke gets turned away from the polls on Election Day, Marva steps in to make sure that he can vote. Neither of them realize the effort they'll need to put in - driving back and forth between polling locations, standing in interminably long lines, even running out of ballots, but Marva in particular is determined to make sure that everyone who can vote does. They're both set up for a whirlwind adventure of a day!

Well, civic responsibility seems to (unsurprisingly) already be a theme in 2020,
...more
Kelly Hager
Brandy Colbert is one of my favorite authors and I love the way that her stories are both fun and meaningful. I absolutely love Marva, whose driving goal is to make sure that people are registered to vote (and then that they actually do) because it's the easiest way for any one person to make a difference. And so when she accidentally hears Duke not being allowed to vote, she swings into action and makes it her mission to ensure that he does actually get to cast a ballot that day.

But there's a
...more
Anne
Marva is super excited to vote in her very first election. She is the first one there but is disappointed there are not many others her age (18) in line. As she is leaving, there is a bit of commotion as one of the few people her age, a black boy, is being turned away. Marva immediately gets involved because she thinks it is a case of voter suppression. She ends up spending the day with Duke, trying to help him get his vote in. Things go awry in so many ways, but as they spend the day together, ...more
Andee
Feb 23, 2020 rated it liked it
The idea is clever - another one of those "boy meets girl in the morning and falls in love by dinner" stories but instead of someone leaving the country or dying we watch the characters vote - or try. I appreciate what the book conveys because it's a cause dear to my heart; voting and highlighting voter suppression. If this will help teens realize the importance of their votes, then I'm all for getting the story out there.

Could this happen in real life? Meh. But it's a cute tale and an important
...more
Allison
Feb 10, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: teen
This was such a good, engaging read- perfectly for fans of realistic contemporary fiction. I really enjoyed the alternating viewpoints, and the way the story unfolded over the course of one day. This book has a lot of good stuff to say about voting rights, and how there can be very considerable obstacles to voting. I liked reading about teens who understood how important every person's vote is-- this is the second book I've read this year about teens and voting, and I LOVE this trend. Definitely ...more
Kasey Short
Jan 28, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This was a fantastic book that would engage a YA audience with with is fast pace and authentic teenage voices. The entire book takes place on election day and shows the audience many reasons why it is important to make ones voice heard by voting, while also illustrating all of the challenges some people face when trying to vote. Hopefully this book will inspire some teen readers to vote in the next election and take some time to encourage others to vote as well.
Kate
Feb 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2020-reads
I've never read anything by Brandy Colbert that I didn't love, and The Voting Booth is no exception! I read this book in its entirety on the day of the Iowa caucuses (because what else are you going to do while waiting at the car repair place?), and it filled me with hope to read a book about young people who are on fire about electoral politics and participating in democracy. Marva and Duke are different in so many ways, but I found them both really relatable, and I was rooting for them from ...more
Karen
Jan 29, 2020 rated it really liked it
What a lovely book! It's a bit contrived but manages to address a lot of issues while still being a fun and hopeful read.
I got a free ARC so would be willing to lend/give to anyone who expects to see me soon.
Sarah
Mar 31, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: young-adult
3.5 stars
Preethi
Apr 04, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: young-adult
If published before the actual election this book has a lot of potential, so Im excited for it. ...more
Katie
rated it liked it
Feb 09, 2020
Susan
rated it it was amazing
Mar 31, 2020
kate
rated it it was amazing
Mar 07, 2020
Amber
rated it really liked it
Feb 05, 2020
SAM__
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2020
Jennifer
rated it liked it
Apr 07, 2020
Erica Bundy
rated it it was amazing
Mar 23, 2020
Katrina
rated it really liked it
Mar 09, 2020
Laura Schreiber
rated it it was amazing
Oct 07, 2019
Mike
rated it it was amazing
Oct 01, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Yes No Maybe So
  • Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You
  • Ordinary Hazards
  • Most Likely (Most Likely #1)
  • Let Me Hear a Rhyme
  • Clean Getaway
  • Of Curses and Kisses (St. Rosetta's Academy, #1)
  • Say Her Name
  • Wilder Girls
  • Dear Girls: Intimate Tales, Untold Secrets, & Advice for Living Your Best Life
  • Such a Fun Age
  • Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights
  • Set the Stars Alight
  • Go with the Flow
  • The Friend Zone
  • Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)
  • The Only Woman in the Photo: Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America
  • The Witches Are Coming
See similar books…
625 followers
Brandy Colbert was born and raised in the Missouri Ozarks and has worked as an editor for several national magazines. She lives and writes in Los Angeles.


Related Articles

Need another excuse to go to the bookstore this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our list,...
42 likes · 15 comments