Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Faith Machine” as Want to Read:
The Faith Machine
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Faith Machine

(ESPionage)

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  13 ratings  ·  11 reviews
Welcome to the dangerous, clandestine world of ESPionage. Welcome to The Strip, where operatives on the fringe command teams of ‘Cards’: Agents cursed with subtle, specialized, and sometimes sloppy psychic powers. Dr Ken Park, Korean-American psychologist and spy, dares to lead six of these Cards. Together, they tackle esoteric threats the Department of Homeland Security c ...more
Paperback, 1st, 392 pages
Published May 1st 2020 by Running Wild Press (first published April 6th 2020)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Faith Machine, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Faith Machine

Community Reviews

Showing 1-36
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  13 ratings  ·  11 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Faith Machine
Peter
May 17, 2020 rated it really liked it
I have really enjoyed reading this, a refreshing change for me in terms of reading. A really good spy/thriller novel that was surprising and interesting to read. A full review will be up on my blog....soon
Justine
May 31, 2020 rated it really liked it

"I've known men who wanted to be gods on earth, and a god who wanted to be a man. One would think someone, somewhere would be happy with their station in life."

The Faith Machine is author Tone Milazzo's provocative delve into the realm of Psychic Science Fiction Thrillers, a noir-esque tale that focuses on the arrogance of mankind, and the dangers of playing at God. Incorporating the concepts of troubling technology and manufactured faith, this is a brisk narrative that sweeps readers on a j
...more
Elizabeth Tabler
Jun 04, 2020 rated it really liked it
The Faith Machine by Tone Milazzo is a weird and wild combination of action and psychic “superheroes” fighting for the fate of the world.

We are in a world where The Avengers and other superhero juggernaut stories have become as familiar to readers and viewers as peanut butter and jelly. The stories have infiltrated our everyday vernacular and changed the superhero trope. A being with powers can no longer be a nuanced and profound thing. You have to wear spandex and a cape, possibly have a catch
...more
Filip
Jun 05, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2020
This review was originally posted over at my blog, The Grimoire Reliquary, as part of the Storytellers on Tour blog tour.

The Faith Machine is one of the strangest, most bizarre books I’ve read in recent memory, and no less fun for it. With spies, psychic abilities, tons of action and betrayal, Milazzo’s novel channels Cold War thrillers mixed with almost Marvel-scale superpowers in a juggling act that was consistently entertaining throughout!

Where shall I begin? This novel follows a three-act s
...more
Chad
Dec 01, 2019 added it
There’s a certain misconception with writing that authors should run screaming from the formulaic, from the tropes and tricks that have been long-since exhausted in the realms of popular fiction. And it isn’t like the conceit is totally unjustified. There are plenty of stories that feel like they are just going through the motions, sticking a few vaguely original pins into an idea that has already been done a million times over. Despite that, I think it’s important to remember that it is still p ...more
Oliver Bowdoin
Jun 03, 2020 rated it really liked it
This will be more of a feel and free-form review.The blurb does a great job of giving you the story, but it was the characters differing personalities along with the strange events that occur along the way, that i hope to praise.

I really had fun with The Faith Machine, and almost missed this opportunity to read it. My life has been extremely hectic and busy lately. Finding time to read is a lot like finding my daughter’s barbie shoe she lost “somewhere” in the house, but ends up being found unde
...more
Ron Toland
Jul 11, 2020 rated it really liked it
Has all the trappings of a 60s spy movie -- evil mad scientists! a villain bent on world destruction! -- wrapped in a noir sensibility and set in the 21st century.

Engine of the story roars to life from the first chapter, and never lets up. Like an RPG session with the best gamers you know captured in novel form.

And the ending is absolutely :chefskiss: perfect.
Tone
Nov 04, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
I'll use this space to talk about where this book came from.

It started with Jon Ronson's book about Cold War psychic warfare programs, The Men Who Stare at Goats. (Fantastic book, by the way.) It made me think, "What if these programs were still going on?"

That idea simmered in the back of my head while I caught a TV series about people with extraordinary abilities. Particularly, the story of Derek Amato (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derek_A...) who hit his head while diving into a pool, and rec
...more
Bruce
Jul 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've been watching episodes of the TV show "Doom Patrol" where a "rag tag" team (and that's being generous) tries to do superhero things but they're all incompetents. This author starts from a similar place with a group of people with different psychic powers, seemingly incompetent, who come together in a way to defeat the a series of opponents. This book is far more satisfying that the TV show (and has no profanity which is pleasant).

Like the Joe Ledger series of novels (by Jonathan Maberry) wh
...more
Sammie
Aug 01, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: from-publisher
You can read my full review on my blog, The Bookwyrm's Den, here.

Many thanks to the author for an eARC in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.


This was pitched to me as perfect for fans of The Girl Who Could Move Sh*t With Her Mind by Jackson Ford, and I’d say that’s a pretty good summation of this book. I’ve just given in to the fact that I’m trash for all these sarcastic antiheroes with powers they don’t want and didn’t ask for, just trying to do their best from day to day.

The Faith Mac
...more
Natrosette
I choose to read The Faith Machine because I’m a fan of weird fiction and the mixing of genres, and this seemed to be exactly that. It’s a psychic espionage thriller described as something along the lines of “if the X-men were spies” which just sounds like a great time. And for the most part, it delivered on this premise.

In the beginning of this book, we meet the different members of Project Dead Blind, a spy agency. As they show up in the story, we find out about their backgrounds and unique ab
...more
Ollie
rated it really liked it
Jun 07, 2020
Melissa Milazzo
rated it it was amazing
Mar 10, 2020
Elaine Smith
rated it really liked it
Sep 22, 2020
Kerri
rated it liked it
May 31, 2020
Arina
marked it as to-read
Apr 28, 2020
Barb (Boxermommyreads)
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2020
Mica
marked it as to-read
May 01, 2020
Jake Robinson
marked it as to-read
May 10, 2020
Ginger
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2020
Daniel Culbertson
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2020
Technomage
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2020
Noah Easterly
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2020
Dreams At Dusk
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2020
Colin
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2020
David
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2020
Ag2k99
marked it as to-read
May 14, 2020
Krzysztof Mathews
marked it as to-read
May 14, 2020
Naseer Alkhouri
marked it as to-read
May 14, 2020
Andrew Radev
marked it as to-read
May 15, 2020
Kristoffer
marked it as to-read
May 16, 2020
Sarah
marked it as to-read
May 16, 2020
Hillary
marked it as to-read
May 20, 2020
Kat
marked it as to-read
May 22, 2020
Kirsten
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2020
Dennis K. Crosby
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Catalyst (The Catalysts, #2)
  • Knightmare Arcanist (Frith Chronicles, #1)
  • Northern Wrath (The Hanged God Trilogy, #1)
  • The Wrack
  • The Jumbies (The Jumbies #1)
  • A King's Bargain (Legend of Tal #1)
  • The World Maker Parable (Shadow Twins #0)
  • Drowned Country (The Greenhollow Duology, #2)
  • Harrow Lake
  • Shadow of a Dead God (Mennik Thorn, #1)
  • Legendborn (Legendborn, #1)
  • Seven Devils (Seven Devils, #1)
  • The Hollow Gods (The Chaos Cycle Duology, #1)
  • Cemetery Boys
  • A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms (The Tales of Dunk and Egg, #1-3)
  • Turn Right at Machu Picchu: Rediscovering the Lost City One Step at a Time
  • The Red Badge of Courage
  • Gods and Generals (The Civil War Trilogy, #1)
See similar books…

News & Interviews

Are you spending this season bundling up against the chill or enjoying summery southern hemisphere vibes (in which case we are...
77 likes · 28 comments