Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Watson Letters - Volume 5: Murder on Mystery Island” as Want to Read:
The Watson Letters - Volume 5: Murder on Mystery Island
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Watson Letters - Volume 5: Murder on Mystery Island

by
4.30  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  10 reviews
When consumptive Doctor Edward Armstrong turns up at Baker Street with an invitation to visit a mysterious island, Sherlock Holmes smells a rat. Sounding deviously similar to the plot of a recent novel by celebrated lady author Mrs Christie, Holmes decides to send his inveterate side-kick Watson to the island, along with the Doctor’s lovely, but wonky-eyed wife, Mary, and ...more
Kindle Edition, 141 pages
Published October 9th 2019
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Watson Letters - Volume 5, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Watson Letters - Volume 5

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-12
Average rating 4.30  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Watson Letters - Volume 5: Murder on Mystery Island
Joy Mutter
Oct 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The Watson Letters - Volume 5 Murder on Mystery Island by Colin Garrow I’ve read and thoroughly enjoyed the other four Watson Letters books and several other books published by the author, so I was sure I’d also have fun reading the new book, The Watson Letters - Volume 5: Murder on Mystery Island. I loved it even more than the others, probably because I was a huge Agatha Christie fan in my youth and have read most of her books. Agatha figures large in Colin Garrow’s highly amusing and well-crafted spoof Sherlock Holmes adventure. In true Agatha Christie ...more
Jacky Dahlhaus
Oct 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The fifth installment of Colin Garrow's The Watson Letters, titled Murder on Mystery Island, is another fun read full of mystery and suspense. He is the master of spoofs, weaving existing stories into something entirely new, with lots of wit and innuendo. Mr. Garrow never fails to surprise me and make me laugh.
Helen
Nov 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is the second book in the series I've read, and I loved it! The author does a fantastic job of taking the original characters and weaving a completely new layer onto them, with incredible results. Full of wit, dry British humour, and a smattering of innuendo, plus quite a few bodies for Holmes and Watson to deal with, this is a story everyone will enjoy.

Holmes, Watson, and Lestrade all make an appearance, along with the Queen of crime, Agatha Christie. But my favourite has to be Mary
...more
Steph Warren
Dec 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
*I received a free copy of this book with thanks to the author and to Emma Welton of damppebbles blog tours. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*

Murder on Mystery Island is fantastical, fast-paced mystery fun for fans of Conan Doyle, Christie and similar golden-age classics. In fact, the illustrious dame of crime makes a cameo, playing herself!

The story is told through journal entries by Dr Watson and his wife, Mary, with occasional excerpts from Holmes and Lestrade, to give
...more
Alaknanda Agarwal
Nov 30, 2019 rated it liked it
Read full review here

This book was not at all how I was expecting it to be. Have to admit, I had some high expectations- given that I’ve read the original Sherlock work multiple times. So I was intrigued to read what the author had in store for us Sherlock deprived people!

Without further ado, the author has combined two of the most prolific and well-known mystery personalities in this work, and very creatively! I like that about the book. The plot is also good, and Sherlock style explanations
...more
Charlie Whitsey
Nov 25, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: book-blog
(Spoilers)
------------------
‘The Watson Letters is based on the Blog of the same name and features manly characters, crude language and adult inclinations. It is not, therefore, intended for persons of a delicate nature…’

Whether a fan of the books by Arthur Conan Doyle or the British television series, the story of Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson is one many, many people adore. Moreover, its consistent popularity has inspired many writers to pay homage and continue their adventures through
...more
Tinka| LittleTinkablee
Nov 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I absolutely LOVE Sherlock, I think I have seen every film and every TV series to do with the phenomenal Sherlock Holmes, and yet I have never indulged in a Sherlock Holmes novel. Lucky for me though I was present with an incredible opportunity of doing just that through this amazing blog tour

Murder on Mystery Island is the 5th instalment in ‘ The Watson Letter’s series’ written by author Colin Garrow.

Despite this being the first book I’ve read in this series I had no problem reading it as alone
...more
Julia
Nov 27, 2019 rated it liked it
And Then There Were None and its countless imitations is one of my favourite sub-genres of murder mystery crime fiction. I also love a bit of Sherlock Holmes – original and modern interpretations – so Colin Garrow’s spoof mash-up of both seemed right up my street.

I must admit, I was surprised at quite how meta and self-referential this pastiche of Ms Christie’s famous book was, so strap yourself in for a surprising ride. This particular take on the classic tale is a quick and dirty jaunt around
...more
Robert Crouch
Oct 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is the fifth in the Watson Letters series, a deliciously funny and inventive spoof of Baker Street’s finest. Set in a parallel universe where almost anything goes, the events in the story echo a certain novel by Agatha Christie, where those present are killed one by one.

Thrust into this island of murder and intrigue are Dr Watson and his wife, Mary, who reveal a somewhat different slant on Sherlock Holmes and his prowess as a detective. Nothing and no one is spared from the author’s
...more
A.J. Griffiths-Jones
Nov 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
When a group of unrelated guests are invited to stay on a remote island, it’s Watson that takes up the gauntlet to solve the mystery & brings along wife Mary for the ride. Victims are picked off one by one, seemingly reminiscent of an Agatha Christie novel, and the Baker Street detectives are on the ball at collecting clues. With an elusive host, unusual setting & all manner of shenanigans occurring, the case plays out brilliantly. I love these books, the wit, humour & superb writing ...more
Kristen
marked it as to-read
Nov 22, 2019
Colin Garrow
Nov 23, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: mystuff
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Single
  • Bridges and Crossings: Meeting to Part and Parting to Meet
  • Dawn of Dreams (Destiny #1)
  • That Thing About You
  • Kids who Kill: Case 6 : Austin Sigg
  • Someone Like Me
  • Five Run Away Together (Famous Five, #3)
  • Lest We Forget: An Anthology of Remembrance
  • The Dark Path: a gripping crime thriller
  • Christ on a Bike!
  • The Secret of Crickley Hall
  • The Plea (Eddie Flynn, #2)
  • The Honeysuckle Dream: A standalone love story (The Butterfly Storm Book 3)
  • Snowflakes and Sapphires
  • Her Missing Child
  • Five Go Adventuring Again (Famous Five, #2)
  • The Haunting of Hattie Hastings
  • Author Unleashed: Advanced Publishing and Marketing Strategies for Indie Authors
See similar books…
88 followers
Colin Garrow grew up in a former mining town in Northumberland. He has worked in a plethora of professions including: taxi driver, antiques dealer, drama facilitator, theatre director and fish processor, and has occasionally masqueraded as a pirate.

All Colin's books are available as eBooks and most are also out in paperback, too. His short stories have appeared in several literary mags,
...more