Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Trio of Sophies” as Want to Read:
A Trio of Sophies
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Trio of Sophies

4.10  ·  Rating details ·  31 ratings  ·  18 reviews
Secrets, lies and love.

Mystery and unsettling revelations keep up the suspense in this page-turning novel.

The last time I saw Sophie A, she was kissing James Bacon. She could have any guy she wanted, but she was kissing an English teacher who was eight years older than her.

Right back when Sophie MacKenzie started primary school, she was befriended by Sophie Twiggs and
...more
Paperback, 228 pages
Expected publication: March 3rd 2020 by Penguin NZ

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Trio of Sophies, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Trio of Sophies

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  31 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of A Trio of Sophies
Bridget
Feb 19, 2020 rated it really liked it
I think Eileen Merriman is one of the cream of the crop of writers for young people right now. She writes stories that are immediately engaging, that are the perfect pitch for the audience of young adult readers. Her books have depth and breadth and tackle issues which are current and curly. I think this book is one of her best.

There have always been three Sophies, each different but all good friends. They are in the same class, they have known each other since they were little and their lives
...more
Courtney  (courtneyandherbooks)
4.5/5 stars

Wow. This past year has sure been the year for YA thrillers, hasn't it? I DEVOURED this in about 2 hours and didn't stop to put it down once. The pages almost kept turning themselves.

Sophie A is one of 3 Sophies and she has gone missing. Sophie M (or Mac to her friends) has been writing in her diary in the days since her disappearance. As we journey through Mac's diary, will we find the secrets to unlock the mystery of Sophie A?

The way this story is told reminds me of the movie
...more
Victoria
Jan 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Holy. Freaking. Hell.
(I got an early copy of this book in return for a review)
This book was intriguing from the start, and I started flying through it. It only took me two sessions to finish because I just could not put it down.
I absolutely loved the way this book was written out, going backwards through the story was a very unique and interesting way to do it. I was so drawn in to the plot and the characters, and the ending absolutely shook me. I was sort of expecting a light-ish YA novel and
...more
Cas
Initial thoughts: wow. I don't think I truly grasped the depth of deception in this novel until the end. A Trio of Sophies is a highly addictive, fast paced read. I did ruin this one a little by accidentally glimpsing the title of the last chapter while checking the page count, but overall a great read.
————————————————————
~I received a physical proof copy from Penguin NZ and willingly reviewed it~

Once there was a trio of Sophies, a close-knit group of three girls, all named Sophie. But it’s been
...more
Madeleine Freeman
Feb 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
A Trio of Sophies, 4

Big thank you to @turningpagesnz for the ARC!

What a roller coaster! A Trio of Sophies was written in a series of wild diary entries belonging to Mac. Counting backwards until the day of her best friends disappearance we came to understand the relationships Mac had with her pals, her crushes, her teachers and her mother. The apparent secrets and lies and twisted memories in Mac’s life were slowly given answers, which (especially in the last half of the novel) had me h o o k
...more
Jessi-Lee
Feb 05, 2020 rated it really liked it
A big thank you to penguin for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

I can’t rave about this book enough. The murder mystery vibe that is wrapped up in teenage drama went way beyond my expectations.

This book is based off of diary entries from a young New Zealand high school student named Sophie (MAC) She starts this diary on the day her friend Sophie A goes missing. The book starts off on day 64 and progresses backwards. Events unfold, lies are told, truths are brought
...more
Chloé E
Feb 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 4-star, arc, 2020
A huge thank you to Penguin NZ who sent me out a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
I gave A Trio of Sophies by Eileen Merriman a 3.5 star rating

Wow this was such an interesting book to read! It was set out as diary entries starting from 'Day 64' making its way back to 'Day 0'. I loved this concept but it did take me a while to realise that the days were going backwards instead of forwards! It felt really strange at first but how entry was written it really added to the build up
...more
Sam (she_who_reads_)
Feb 11, 2020 rated it really liked it
This book was so much darker than I was expecting, and I was very pleasantly surprised by it!
A Trio of Sophie's is told in diary format, however we start at day 64 and then work our way backwards to day 1. It did take me a minute to get accustomed to, but once I got it I was hooked! It's a super fast read- mainly because you just have to know exactly what has happened, and how! I had a lot of fun guessing, and it was a really enjoyable, engrossing ride that did manage some really good twists and
...more
Emily
Feb 05, 2020 rated it really liked it
ARC kindly provided to me by Penguin Random House NZ in exchange for an honest review.

Wow. The world has been sleeping on Eileen Merriman! This is the first of Eileen's books I've read, although thanks to her stunningly beautiful book covers I had noticed her books on the shelves of my local bookstore. I wish I had picked one up earlier because now I have to find time for her entire backlog!

'A Trio of Sophies' is a YA mystery which follows the diary of Sophie M (Mac), one of three friends named
...more
Claudia
Feb 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
This was a super enjoyable read, and towards the end, I could not put it down. I especially enjoyed, that it was set in Auckland, New Zealand, though I wonder how much mileage those teenagers must have on their cars.

The story: There are three Sophies, three friends:

• Sophie Abercrombie
• Sophie Twiggs – Twiggy
• Sophie MacKenzie - Mac

and ONE IS MISSING. Nobody seems to know what happened. She was last seen kissing her teacher.

The book starts with Mac's diary entry on the 64th day after Sophie
...more
Trisha
For fans of books like We Were Liars and One of us is Lying.

Twisty & turn-y.
Natasha
Feb 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2020
3.75/5 Stars

A Trio of Sophies by Eileen Merriman is a YA thriller set in New Zealand. The story follows seventeen year old Sophie M aka "Mac" and counts down the days to the disappearance of one of her best friends, Sophie A aka the prettiest Sophie.

The story is full of twist and turns and as soon as you think you know something, another aspect comes into play making you question everything you thought you knew.

A feature I really like about this book was the fact that it counted down to day 0
...more
Allyssa (Book Ally)
Feb 06, 2020 rated it really liked it
Thank you to penguin nz for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I have wanted to pick up an Eileen Merriman book for ages! I also have the goal of wanting to read more New Zealand authors this year so I was so excited to get a copy of A trio of Sophie's.

This book follows... A trio of Sophie's, but Mostly Sophie M (mac). It is written as diary entries by Mac starting at I think day 65 or 64 and leading back to day 0, which was a little confusing to start of with but
...more
Ellen
Feb 19, 2020 rated it really liked it
A Trio of Sophie's by Eileen Merriman was a wild rollercoaster of twists and turns.

This was given to me for an honest review by turning pages nz. This book starts with Sophie M describing the aftermath of when her friend Sophie A went missing.

I loved the twists and turns this book took with many surprises I didnt guess. I also loved the New Zealand location of the book making it all the more real to me. The characters were interesting with the dynamics between them. I also enjoyed the diary
...more
Mihi Henare
Feb 07, 2020 rated it liked it
3.75/5

I just want to give a big thank you to Penguin NZ and the Turning Pages book group here on Goodreads for sending me an arc of this book.

A Trio of Sophie's is a YA thriller written by NEw Zealand author Eileen Merriman. This book is about Sophie M and what was going on in her life before, during, and after her friend Sophie A went missing.

I really did enjoy this book, there were so many twist and turns and what the f*** just happened moments. However, the only reason I didn't give it a full
...more
Jenthebookishbakernz
Feb 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc, turning-pages-nz, own
Thank you to Penguin NZ and Turning pages NZ for the ARC. I had previously read three other YA novels by this author so I knew to expect a rollercoaster of emotions, serious real world issues, and familar New Zealand locations (one novel was partially set in my home town and another was literally partially set down the street from my house) but this book was such a twisty surprise....it's really hard to talk about this novel in a non spoilery way so I will be as brief as possible.

Once upon a
...more
Lauren Roche
Feb 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Wow! I finished this book in an afternoon. A YA thriller centered on the disappearance of Sophie A., one of three besties all called Sophie.

Sophie M has a secret. In her diary she details her feelings of loss since her friend disappeared. She last saw her in the front seat of the English teacher’s car, kissing him.
Is Sophie A dead or alive? Is Sophie M telling the truth? How is Sophie T involved?

A book about relationships, first loves, deceit and deception this book is unputdownable.
Sophie
rated it liked it
Feb 05, 2020
Brooklynne
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2020
Leonie Grigsby
rated it really liked it
Jan 30, 2020
Tom Ward
rated it it was amazing
Feb 08, 2020
Keeley Grigsby
rated it really liked it
Jan 27, 2020
Lakin Wilton
rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2020
Bella Davenport
rated it really liked it
Nov 08, 2019
Pauline
rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2020
Jaime Tiavale
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2020
Rebekah Fraser
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2020
Richelle
rated it really liked it
Feb 09, 2020
Sarah Fallon
rated it liked it
Nov 26, 2019
Lachlan Merriman
rated it really liked it
Dec 21, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • One of Us Is Next (One of Us Is Lying, #2)
  • Yes No Maybe So
  • Chain of Gold (The Last Hours, #1)
  • Infinity Son (Infinity Cycle, #1)
  • The Places I've Cried in Public
  • Break the Fall
  • The Boy Who Steals Houses
  • The Gravity of Us
  • The Tea Dragon Festival (Tea Dragon, #2)
  • Shout
  • How to Grow a Family Tree
  • A Heart So Fierce and Broken (Cursebreakers, #2)
  • The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
  • The Truth About Keeping Secrets
  • Only Mostly Devastated
  • Scrublands
  • Preludes & Nocturnes (The Sandman, #1)
See similar books…
25 followers
Eileen Merriman works full-time as a consultant haematologist at North Shore Hospital. Her writing has appeared in a number of national and international journals and anthologies, including Smokelong Quarterly, The Island Review, Literary Orphans, the Bath Short Story Award Anthology 2015, the Sunday Star-Times, F(r)iction, takahe, Headland and Flash Frontier. Her first novel was Pieces of You, ...more