Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Falling in Love Montage” as Want to Read:
The Falling in Love Montage
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Falling in Love Montage

by
4.47  ·  Rating details ·  38 ratings  ·  45 reviews
Saoirse doesn’t believe in love at first sight or happy endings. If they were real, her mother would still be able to remember her name and not in a care home with early onset dementia. A condition that Saoirse may one day turn out to have inherited. So she’s not looking for a relationship. She doesn’t see the point in igniting any romantic sparks if she’s bound to burn ...more
Hardcover, 368 pages
Expected publication: June 9th 2020 by HarperTeen
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • The Falling in Love Montage by Ciara Smyth
    The Falling in Love Montage
    by
    Release date: Jun 09, 2020
    Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with a few strings attached) in this hilarious and heartfelt lesbian rom-com that’s perfect for ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1621 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Feb 10 - Mar 09, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about The Falling in Love Montage, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about The Falling in Love Montage

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-30
    Average rating 4.47  · 
    Rating details
     ·  38 ratings  ·  45 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of The Falling in Love Montage
    Chaima ✨ شيماء
    I can't prove this with science but every time I see two sapphic girls on the cover of a book my lifespan increases by 5 years. God bless
    Cece (ProblemsOfaBookNerd)
    Oct 02, 2019 marked it as tbr-unreleased
    You can’t just go showing my gay ass this cover with no warning. I wasn’t ready and I’ll never be ready.
    Elise (TheBookishActress)
    i really wish i could say this blurb isn't a move i would and have pulled
    Natasha
    This might be everything I've ever wanted

    Update: THE COVER THE COVER THE COVER
    Romie
    Oct 02, 2019 marked it as to-read
    Shelves: 2020-releases
    *screams in gay panic*
    Acqua
    Oct 02, 2019 marked it as to-read
    2020 covers are too pretty for this world
    ♡ ᴅ ʀ ᴇ ᴀ ᴍ ♡ (semi-hiatus)
    Gee, this book is exactly what I want to read and I’m here for f/f romance like this!!!!!!


    Note : One of the most anticipated books of 2020
    E.
    an f/f summer love story
    with some no-strings-attached dates
    inspired by the montages of rom-coms????

    sign me tf up

    with THIS cover especially!!


    __________________________

    insta | twitter | blog | booksirens | duolingo
    ...more
    Vee_Bookish
    Jan 26, 2020 marked it as to-read
    yes please take my heart and stamp on it
    j.chestnut
    Feb 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Shelves: arcs
    Wonderful! Amazing! Love the characters! And the romance! 10 out of 10!

    In all seriousness, this book is too good to be true. Two girls, Saorise and Ruby, falling in love during a summer due to a falling in love montage like they have in all of the rom-coms. What could go wrong?
    The book is fun and sweet and I love Ruby more than any other. Along with the romance there is a strong family aspect which I loved.
    Overall, it's just a very VERY good book. 5 out of 5, literally perfect, stars.
    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
    ...more
    Camryn
    Dec 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Shelves: favorites
    Oh, um, hi, this is perfect and I never wanted it to stop. Now I’m crying. Everyone needs to buy this.
    oliversromeo
    Dec 06, 2019 marked it as to-read
    Shelves: anticipating
    a female/female relationship that takes place at a fair? sign me tf up.
    rachel ☾


    Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    BlogGoodreadsTwitterInstagramThe Book Depository
    ...more
    Ciara Smyth
    Oct 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
    Because if you don't 5* yourself, who will?
    Little
    Dec 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    WHAT WAS THAT ENDING????
    Riley
    Dec 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
    Shelves: kindle
    my first review as part of the harpercollins canada blogger team!

    buckle up team, the queer wlw romance of the summer has been found, and i have to say that i am excited for this one's release because w o w it is a good one.

    ciara smyth's debut novel 'the falling in love montage' follows saoirse, a recently graduated irish girl who doesn't believe in happy endings -- and with good reason. her mother is in a home with early-onset dementia, and her father is moving on far too quickly for her to be
    ...more
    Briana
    Feb 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Adorable! My BG spiked. We want the movie!
    Helen Corcoran
    I’ve been excited for this one since it was announced (a queer rom-com! set in Ireland!) and was lucky to read an early copy.

    This has all the hallmarks of a great rom-com (humour! coincidences! drama! kissing!) while also sensitively dealing with the topic of early on-set dementia in scenes that will destroy you. This book will make you laugh, then try to rip your heart out and stomp on it. The burgeoning romance between Saoirse and Ruby is swoon-worthy. I dearly wish I’d had books like these as
    ...more
    Fanna
    Dec 18, 2019 marked it as to-read
    Shelves: 2020-releases
    A debut lesbian rom-com? Definitely excited for it! Also, it's pitched as perfect for fans of Jenny Han so of course I'm interested.

    - funny banter
    - emotionally complex
    - avoiding cliches but driving straight into them
    Venus Reads
    Oct 02, 2019 marked it as to-read
    Shelves: 2020
    The cover? title? setting? synopsis? All perfect. Sign. Me. Up!
    Chantal Aurora
    Oct 03, 2019 marked it as to-read
    THAT COVER!!! LESBIAN ROM-COM!!!! I need this!!

    Arin
    Oct 03, 2019 marked it as to-read
    Shelves: sapphic-books
    Hi I didn't know this book existed ten minutes ago but I need it. It's not a want, it's a need.
    Michelle Aschenbrenner
    Feb 15, 2020 rated it really liked it
    ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

    3.5 - 4 stars

    The Falling in Love Montage is a very sweet and easy read, funny and heartbreaking, and deals with very deep topics. The story follows Saoirse, who is in a weird stage in life and still feeling the remnants of heartbreak. Between healing, battling decisions of whether or not to attend Oxford, the strained relationship with her father, a sick mother, and a new girl in town, Saoirse is a character
    ...more
    Vanessa
    (I'm too old for YA; every time a parent ends the book without an apology from their cranky child I demand JUSTICE.)

    Folks...this was so heartwarming. I went in thrilled to find a goofy f/f romcom, and discovered instead something very sweet, poignant, and fun, that was full of personality & energy. And it also had one of my favourite things which is teenagers written like teenagers (even if that sometimes requires no parent apologies to happen).

    Saoirse was a joy. An infuriating joy, but I
    ...more
    everbookish
    I don't know how to rate this one. 3.5 maybe? I liked the concept and the plot. I loved the side characters. But my dear lord, did Saoirse frustrate me. I was going to forgive it, as I understand where she's coming from, but she acted so horribly towards her father on so many occasions and never apologised for it. She grew (in some ways) but I didn't feel like she grew all that much.
    Sonja ✧・゚。★*
    THIS COVER IS EVERYTHING ...more
    Cande
    Oct 06, 2019 marked it as to-read
    SOFTEST SAPPHIC COVER EVER. Me needs!!!
    Last Book Marauder
    Feb 07, 2020 marked it as to-read
    I'm really trying to keep my expectations reasonable, but it isn't working.
    Vi ✨ Being infinite
    Feb 07, 2020 marked it as to-read
    *screams*
    mahana
    Dec 23, 2019 rated it liked it
    Shelves: rep-wlw, rep-lesbian
    2.5/5

    rep: lesbian mcs

    when the book you decide to read to get out of a slump puts you in a horrible slump for weeks :/
    « previous 1 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • Music from Another World
    • The Secret Commonwealth (The Book of Dust, #2)
    • Stay Gold
    • The Starless Sea
    • Cemetery Boys
    • You Don't Live Here
    • Dangerous Remedy (Dangerous Remedy, #1)
    • Slay
    • The Black Flamingo
    • Camp
    • Crier's War (Crier's War, #1)
    • Witches of Ash and Ruin
    • The Grace Year
    • The Last True Poets of the Sea
    • Only Mostly Devastated
    • Be Not Far From Me
    • Call Down the Hawk (Dreamer Trilogy, #1)
    • Late to the Party
    See similar books…