Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Five Things About Ava Andrews” as Want to Read:
Five Things About Ava Andrews
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Five Things About Ava Andrews

by
4.13  ·  Rating details ·  8 ratings  ·  4 reviews
From Margaret Dilloway, author of Summer of a Thousand Pies, comes a heartfelt and funny story about a shy eleven-year-old who learns to manage her anxiety through improv classesand discovers her activist voice. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Lynda Mullaly Hunt, and Holly Goldberg Sloan.

Eleven-year-old Ava Andrews has a Technicolor interior with a gray shell. On the
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: June 9th 2020 by Balzer + Bray
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Five Things About Ava Andrews by Margaret Dilloway
    Five Things About Ava Andrews
    by
    Release date: Jun 09, 2020
    Enter for your chance to win a copy of FIVE THINGS ABOUT AVA ANDREWS by Margaret Dilloway, author of Summer of a Thousand Pies! This is a heartfelt ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1163 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Mar 17 - Apr 14, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Five Things About Ava Andrews, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Five Things About Ava Andrews

    This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-34
    Average rating 4.13  · 
    Rating details
     ·  8 ratings  ·  4 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Five Things About Ava Andrews
    Ms. Yingling
    E ARC provided by Edelweiss Plus



    Ava has a heart condition that adds to her anxiety, so she is generally quiet and reserved in school. When her best friend, Zelia, moves away from San Diego to Maine, Ava is crushed. She has a supportive family, including older brothers Luke and Hudson and a grandfather, Jichan, and step grandmother, Nana Linda, but she misses having someone by her side in school. Her father runs a Cotillion program that offers classes for sixth graders, and she is supposed to
    ...more
    Andrew
    Mar 18, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: middle-grade
    Starting middle school is scary, but it's even scarier when your best friend moved across the country. Ava Andrews tries to navigate it alone, but her classmates make a lot of assumptions about her shy nature. They don't know she has a heart condition and clinical anxiety. Things begin to look up when Ava joins her school's improv class, and discovers her confidence when she and her new friends band together to save their community from being torn down and turned into a resort hotel. Five Things ...more
    Jennifer
    Ava has a heart condition as well as anxiety that forces her to be so shy that her classmates think she is snobby. When Ava's best friend moves across the country, she finds that she has to find a way to speak up for herself, opening new doors to friendship and fun. Dilloway's novel is based on her own experiences with anxiety and heart problems and the authenticity comes across. It's wonderful to have a book for kids that shows what anxiety can do to someone so readers who experience it will ...more
    Heather
    Jan 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    I received an ARC from Edelweiss +. I love Ava so much. I love that this character was written. Shes one that is needed for kids today. Not only does she have anxiety, which is something so many kids deal with, but she also has a heart condition. Its so important for kids to find characters that they can identify with. What was especially amazing about Ava was her development throughout the story. Im so proud of her and her accomplishments. She found ways to tackle her anxiety and made friends ...more
    Lucianna Wolfstone
    rated it it was amazing
    Apr 01, 2020
    Jenny
    rated it liked it
    Feb 22, 2020
    Patricia
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 22, 2020
    Kelly Seaman
    rated it it was amazing
    Feb 26, 2020
    Israa Ahmed
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 27, 2019
    Amanda
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 28, 2019
    Heather Kirk
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 28, 2019
    Madison
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 30, 2019
    Deanna Nakada
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 18, 2019
    Rakisha
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 26, 2019
    Laura Shovan
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 28, 2019
    Jennifer
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 28, 2019
    Abby Cooper
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 28, 2019
    Tina
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 13, 2019
    Jennybeast
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 03, 2019
    Brittany
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 09, 2019
    Mel
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 10, 2019
    Sarah
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 10, 2019
    Elise
    added it
    Dec 14, 2019
    Nicole
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 26, 2019
    Elizabeth Blye
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 28, 2019
    June Schwarz
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 03, 2020
    Lauren
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 03, 2020
    Sarah Ward
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 04, 2020
    Ruth Ferguson
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 05, 2020
    Loann
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 05, 2020
    Angela
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 11, 2020
    Jessica
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 15, 2020
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • This Was Our Pact
    • The Space Between Lost and Found
    • Stay Sexy & Don’t Get Murdered: The Definitive How-To Guide
    • Stay Gold
    • The Stepping Off Place (The Stepping Off Place, #1)
    • What Happens Next
    • As the Crow Flies
    • Superman Smashes The Klan
    • Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
    • Summer and July
    • So We Can Glow: Stories
    • My Dark Vanessa
    • The Prince and the Dressmaker
    • All Eyes on Her
    • We Dream of Space
    • Layoverland
    • Here in the Real World
    • The Majesties
    See similar books…
    363 followers
    Award-Winning Books for Preteens and Adults


    Margaret started writing stories in kindergarten. Ever since then, she's used writing to understand the world and entertain people.

    She loves improv, attempting complicated baking recipes, hiking, and dollhouse miniatures.

    Awards:
    -MOMOTARO: XANDER AND THE LOST ISLAND OF MONSTERS: Winner of the American Library Association's Asian/Pacific American Librarian
    ...more

    Related Articles

    In 2017, Vanessa Wye is confronted by a woman she does not know, asking Vanessa to join her in coming forward with allegations of inappropriate sex...
    117 likes · 21 comments