Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Better Off Bald: A Life in 147 Days” as Want to Read:
Better Off Bald: A Life in 147 Days
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Better Off Bald: A Life in 147 Days

by
4.63  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  19 reviews
Adrienne Wilson is a depressed, suicidal teenager--until the day she receives a diagnosis of stage IV liver cancer. Facing the fight of her life, Adrienne discovered just how much she wants to live. In Better Off Bald: A Life in 147 Days, Andrea Wilson Woods chronicles her sister's remarkable life, from the time she was born to the day she dies at age fifteen. Written like ...more
Paperback, 394 pages
Published October 15th 2019 by Build Your Blisss
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Better Off Bald, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Better Off Bald

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-53
Average rating 4.63  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Better Off Bald: A Life in 147 Days
Cavak
Nov 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Better Off Bald is an emotional read that carries a complicated family history. Understanding Andrea and Adrienne's family and friend dynamics is something else. Once I got them down in my head, the cancer diagnosis became a heavier reality to swallow. The title gives away the end result, so the book is really more about those surreal four months.

Cancer is different for every person, so reading about Stage IV for someone so young hits hard. Andrea doesn't hold back about how strenuous the
...more
Deborah Wong
Nov 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviews
This memoir about two sisters is also about a mom and daughter; they are the same people. Andrea has custody of her "kiddo" Adrienne, because their mother is not able to take care of her daughter (more about that in the book), and Adrienne's father is deceased.

When author Andrea Wilson Woods finds out that her beloved younger sister/daughter has a rare liver cancer, she does everything possible within her means to cure - or at least buy time - for 15-year-old Adrienne. Mapped out in a series of
...more
Jo-Ann Duff (Duffy The Writer)
The last time I read about a woman battling cancer, it was the incredible Patient 71 by Julie Randall. I was so moved by the book I actually met and keep in contact with Julie. Her story was so moving and at times hard to comprehend, which made me wonder if I could handle reading about a young teenager going through the same battles. I’m glad to say that I took the plunge and read the story of Andrea and Adrienne.

Better Off Bald: A Life in 147 Days is a very moving, sometimes difficult to read
...more
Lori
Oct 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: memoirs
Cancer touches most of our lives and some people make it their mission in life to help prevent and or treat cancer with a goal to help cure it.

When diagnosed with cancer, patients often ask their physicians what does this require? Patients are informed of staging, the possibility of symptoms and tests and often come face to face with authorizing their own support and treatment options.

If you are a caregiver, you know that you put your wants aside to focus on the ever-changing needs of the ill
...more
Julie Haigh
An amazing memoir.

At the start of her book, the author is 13. And moving, which also means a new high school. With mum. She didn't know at the time, but mum had another baby on the way. Her sister. Then it jumps ahead to where her little sister is 15. Her young sister started being ill in 2001. 18 years ago.

Written in the present-not the past. As things are happening. The diagnosis is confirmed. It's very bad. Everything moves so fast, and the writing reflects this. Tumbles straight into
...more
Michele Benchouk
Nov 11, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book is an in-depth look at one family's experience with pediatric liver cancer. The writing is detailed and pulls you into the experience, but the level of detail may be too much. I think the details on treatment regimens and medications is valuable for others who may be thrust into this experience, but the book seemed to go on a bit too long. I hurt deeply for Andrea and Adrienne and John -- even though I understand that Adrienne felt like she had been blessed. We lost my mother suddenly, ...more
Doug Kayne
Oct 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Full disclosure: I worked with Andrea, and knew Adrienne before she was stricken with cancer. She was fun and snarky. As a result, I was somewhat familiar with her story. I found Andrea's account of her and her sister's struggle in dealing with her disease incredibly honest and moving. Andrea's detailed retelling of how Adrienne faced her diagnosis and subsequent battle was a quick read, making me wish I had gotten to know this courageous teenager during this struggle. Knowing the people ...more
cenbookfairy_Tylwyth Teg y Llyfr.
Better off Bald by Andrea Wilson Woods.
.


Wow what a book. You are taken on a journey that I can only describe as brave yet raw, honest, positive and real. .

Two sisters Andrea and Adrienne have a unique, special unbreakable bond. That bond is tested to the max when Adrienne is diagnosed with cancer and as expected Andrea is right there by her sisters side throughout. .

Yet it is Adrienne who shows everyone that she has her inner strength, her zest for life and her determination to fight this horrid
...more
Christine Cazeneuve
I have read many books on the journey of both the fighter and the caregiver over the years and this is the best of them all. Adrienne and Andrea not only have a truly special relationship which clearly shows throughout the book but Andrea's telling of this time makes you experience it right along with them both. Instead of just "observing the story" you will feel as if you are part of both of them and living the highs and lows right along with them. Andrea's writing style is open, extremely ...more
Rebecca
(DNF @ 12%) Woods’s little sister Adrienne was more like a daughter to her; due to their mother’s issues, she had custody of her 13-years-younger sibling. So when Adrienne went to the hospital with severe pain in May 2001 and was promptly diagnosed with liver cancer, it hit her hard. “Before Adrienne got sick, I believed in karma. Now, I believe in nothing.” I read a ton of illness and bereavement memoirs. This one didn’t pull me in, despite strong recreated dialogue and an extraordinary memory ...more
RYCJ
Oct 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Aside from the meticulous hard read, ‘better off bald’ is crisp, passionate, straight to the point and incredibly detailed. Nicely done. It made for an exceptionally informative read. Transitioning the narrative in a back and forth fashion as well allows readers to learn a little about Adrienne through her own notes and backstory. ‘Build Your Bliss’… great quote. The chemo quilt was quite touching, as were Dr. Aquino’s words on page 172. Those were poignant words that might make many readers ...more
Andrea Tome
Nov 02, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A heartfelt and very detailed book on terminal cancer and a beautiful tribute to the author’s fierce and creative sister. I started Better Off Bald in a flight back from Paris, not realizing how much it would touch me. Although it’s quite a long book, I felt the urge to keep reading. Andrea has a brilliant style and, as someone who has been in a palliative care unit taking care of a loved one with terminal cancer, I found myself relating to Andrea’s feelings and experiences so much.
A truly
...more
Elaine Ciarnau
Oct 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Better off Bald is an amazing story of a young girl that was diagnosed with liver cancer and the sister that looked after her. A daily diary was kept from beginning to end of what was done, activities, feelings, etc.

It was an emotional, heartfelt and sad journey. The dedication of the sister was amazing, taking the place of the mother. She made sure her sister had amazing adventures and a lot of love.

This is a wonderful book for teens and adults alike. Keep a box of tissue close.

I received an
...more
Cristie Underwood
Oct 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This biography written by the sister of Adrienne Wilson about her sister is heartbreaking, as Adrienne was a suicidal teen before being diagnosed with stage IV liver cancer. She decided at that point she wanted to live and
make the most of the time she had left, which turned out to be 147 days. Andrea writes about how she obtained custody of her sister and of their final days together. I highly recommend this book.
Cristie Underwood
Oct 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kindle
This biography written by the sister of Adrienne Wilson about her sister is heartbreaking, as Adrienne was a suicidal teen before being diagnosed with stage IV liver cancer. She decided at that point she wanted to live and
make the most of the time she had left, which turned out to be 147 days. Andrea writes about how she obtained custody of her sister and of their final days together. I highly recommend this book.
Kimberly
Oct 28, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The story is a beautifully written true memoir of two sister as the go and navigate the medical system with the life and death struggle with liver cancer. The story is a good reminder of how precious life truly is.

I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.
MarylineD
Oct 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
OMG! Well written, SO EMOTIONAL!
I have no words. This is not pity, this is me being emotional. This is raw, good, well written, it gets to you... if you have a heart and soul!

You have to read this!!!

ARC received through NetGalley. This is my honest review. All opinions are my own.
Nati
Oct 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A tough journey from healthy teenager to four stage liver cancer. Andrea tells a really tough, and heartwarming story about her beloved little sister and they fight against cancer.
Teresa Kander
This is an amazing memoir about two amazing young women. They are sisters, but the older is acting as the parent to the younger. When Adrienne is diagnosed with cancer, both of their lives change in an instant.

While you may expect this to be a sad story (and it does have its moments), there is a lot of happiness and positivity in the pages of this book. Even in the final days of Adrienne's life, she is an inspiration to everyone around her.

The book is very honestly written and gives great
...more
Emilie Stophel
rated it it was amazing
Nov 10, 2019
Lisa Taylor-slaydon
rated it it was amazing
Nov 08, 2019
Ruba Abu Ali
rated it it was amazing
Oct 23, 2019
Nkwright
rated it liked it
Nov 10, 2019
Amanda Lovig Hagg
rated it liked it
Nov 07, 2019
Kelly Roskovich
rated it it was amazing
Oct 28, 2019
Samantha Morgan-hewitt
rated it it was amazing
Oct 24, 2019
louise dandrea
rated it it was amazing
Oct 30, 2019
Alicia
rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2019
E
marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2019
Natalie Phister
marked it as to-read
Sep 26, 2019
JOAN GEISSLER
marked it as to-read
Sep 26, 2019
Karen Webber
marked it as to-read
Sep 26, 2019
Jun Sasaki Greminger
marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2019
Lisa
marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2019
Nor laily nadjwa
marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2019
Diane
marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2019
Amie's Book Reviews
is currently reading it
Oct 02, 2019
Bridget
marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2019
Ahlam
is currently reading it
Oct 07, 2019
Laura
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2019
Daniel Dolezar
marked it as to-read
Oct 10, 2019
bismay
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2019
Gail
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2019
Suzanne Swift
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2019
Erin Gray
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2019
Phuong Nhu
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2019
Melinda
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2019
Jessika
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
Carly
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
Lisa  Keegan
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
Kim
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Seek Me with All Your Heart (Land of Canaan, #1)
  • Love Bears All Things (Amish Secrets, #2)
  • The Wonder of Your Love (Land of Canaan #2)
  • Skeleton Justice (Jake Rosen & Manny Manfreda  #2)
  • A Deathly Silence (DCI Helen Lavery #3)
  • Her Last Whisper (Detective Katie Scott #2)
  • Home All Along (Amish Secrets #3)
  • Listening to Love (An Amish Journey #2)
  • Last Request
  • Keto Diet for Beginners: 30-Day Keto Meal Plan for Rapid Weight Loss. Ketogenic Meal Prep Cookbook Full of Easy to Follow Recipes! Lose up to 20 Pounds in 30 Days!
  • The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend
  • Out of My Head
  • An Amish Second Christmas
  • Law and Addiction
  • Incredible Plant-Based Desserts: Colorful Vegan Cakes, Cookies, Tarts, and other Epic Delights
  • Mistress of Justice
  • Fearless Focus
  • Close Your Eyes
See similar books…
ANDREA WILSON WOODS is a writer who loves to tell stories, and a patient advocate who founded the nonprofit Blue Faery: The Adrienne Wilson Liver Cancer Association. Andrea is the CEO and co-founder of Cancer University, a for-profit, social-benefit, digital health company. With Cancer U, Andrea synergizes her talents of coaching, writing, teaching, and advocacy. For over ten years, Andrea worked ...more
“That cardboard represented the white trash side of my mother’s family I had been running away from my whole life.” 0 likes
More quotes…