Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Diver's Paradise” as Want to Read:
Diver's Paradise
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Diver's Paradise

by
4.38  ·  Rating details ·  13 ratings  ·  10 reviews

Perfect for fans of Randy Wayne White's Doc Ford and Robert B. Parker's SpencerAfter 25 years on the job, Detective Roscoe Conklin trades his badge for a pair of shorts and sandals and moves to Bonaire, a small island nestled in the southern Caribbean. But the warm water, palm trees, and sunsets are derailed when his long-time police-buddy and friend back home is murdered.
...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Expected publication: April 7th 2020 by Oceanview Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Diver's Paradise, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Diver's Paradise

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-20
Average rating 4.38  · 
Rating details
 ·  13 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Diver's Paradise
Dan Lawton
Dec 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
Debut ARC from one Mr. Davin Goodwin. Very well done. Roscoe "R" Conklin is a retired detective who's relocated to the Caribbean. But his relaxed lifestyle and clear blue water visuals bring more than he ever expected, including danger to the people closest to him . . . including him.

The book is tightly written with excellent pacing, a strong plot, and likable key characters. The subplots keep things interesting and the story moving forward, and everything is wrapped up beautifully. What keeps
...more
Gootim
Nov 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is one of my recent favorites. Davin's style illustrates he has an eye for details and plot twists that keep the reader involved and engaged. The first couple of chapters hook you right away and you are kept contemplating the following chapters, or the next addition to the plot. In fact, it kept me wondering what small detail I may have missed from chapter to chapter - all the way to the keep you guessing finish. In addition I began to question if I had what it takes to be like RC (Roscoe ...more
Geoffrey Goodwin
Nov 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Great Story! I am one of the privileged few to get an ARC of Diver’s Paradise.

Being from Rockford, Illinois, a frequent visitor to Bonaire and a law enforcement defensive tactics instructor for 15 years, I was both excited and skeptical to get my hands on the advanced reader’s copy.

Davin did a great job in many areas of the story;

He spends the right amount of time building the characters and establishing the relationships in which the reader becomes involved. I felt like these were real people
...more
Elizabeth Goldman
Dec 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Goodwin’s Diver’s Paradise and was blown away by this debut novel. Goodwin expertly sets the scene with characters who feel like friends and a mystery that had me turning the pages well into the night. If you’re looking for a mystery that’s near-impossible to put down, look no further than Diver’s Paradise. I have already pre-ordered multiple copies for friends and family who love the genre and can’t wait to introduce them to my new favorite author. Do ...more
Sandra Griffis
Nov 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I met Author, Davin Goodwin at Bouchercon in Dallas
TX. I received his new book, Diver's Paradise, an
"advanced review copy", for reading and giving an honest
review. I was hooked from the 1st page! You will love
Roscoe Conklin, a retired Detective from Rockford Ill.
who moved to an island in the Caribbean. His retirement
is derailed when his former partner is murdered. A
great murder mystery that keeps you turning the pages.
A great read I highly recommend. Book releases 4/7/2020
but can be pre-
...more
Shawn Wilson
Nov 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It's not supposed to snow in November, but it did. Fortunately, with the heat in my home cranked up, I was transported to the Caribbean island of Bonaire via DIVER'S PARADISE. Davin Goodwin's debut novel introduces Roscoe Conklin, a retired detective whose idyllic life on the island is shattered by a series of devastating events.

I was lucky enough to receive an Advanced Reading Copy from the author. Goodwin has created engaging characters and an intriguing plot. Additionally, I learned a lot
...more
Nadine Rorem
Nov 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Diver’s Paradise is one of the few mysteries that I could not put down once I started reading. Goodwin skillfully keeps the reader engaged using detailed knowledge throughout regarding diving and detective work and he couples this approach with the authenticity of human relationships. If you enjoy mysteries, this is a well-written, suspenseful book for the top of your reading list. I eagerly await the next book in the Roscoe Conklin series! I received an Advanced Review Copy from the publisher ...more
Janeadams Adams
Jan 13, 2020 rated it it was ok
The best thing about this otherwise unmemorable mystery is the locale, the diver's paradise not just of the title but of an under appreciated island in the Dutch Antilles, Bonaire. A retired cop living the dream running a down-scale motel near the beach learns that his best friend from home and his wife have been brutally murdered, and it looks like someone else has been followed to Bonaire by the killer - is our hero next? He's too one-dimensional as a character to work up much of an interest, ...more
Elisa
Jan 19, 2020 rated it liked it
This is a nice, comfortable book if you wanted to spend a lazy afternoon reading a crime novel. The descriptions about the Carribean are in-depth and makes me want to visit the place. It would be a relaxing read and not much active thinking would be required as the story unfolds. There are some unexpected plot twists in this which surprised me, but I did not like how half of the characters were killed before I got to know them better.
#DiversParadise #NetGalley
Catherine S Kudzma
Jan 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Received an ARC copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Since I live in Rockford and spend four months of the year on Bonaire, I appreciate Mr. Goodwin’s attention to detail. Hope we’ll see another Roscoe Conklin mystery adventure soon.
Jana Ringstad
rated it it was amazing
Nov 11, 2019
Karly
rated it liked it
Sep 02, 2019
Mary Lou
rated it it was amazing
Nov 13, 2019
Richard Derus
marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2019
Davin Goodwin
Nov 07, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Lesley Kay
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2020
 Reading Divergence
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2020
Sebastian
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2020
♛ Garima ♛
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2020
Jill
added it
Jan 15, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Will and the Wilds
  • Esme's Gift (Esme Series #2)
  • Blind Alley (Eve Duncan, #5)
  • Esme's Wish (Esme Series #1)
  • Losing the Plot
  • Girl, Stop Apologizing: A Shame-Free Plan for Embracing and Achieving Your Goals
  • The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers
  • No Mercy (Ellery Hathaway, #2)
  • The Second Home
  • Something She's Not Telling Us
  • The Holdout
  • The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change
  • Safecracker
  • Little Secrets
  • You Are Not Alone
  • Atomic Habits: An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones
  • Trace Elements (Comissario Guido Brunetti #29)
  • House Privilege (Joe DeMarco #14)
See similar books…