Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Desperadoes Omnibus” as Want to Read:
Desperadoes Omnibus
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Desperadoes Omnibus

(Desperadoes )

by
3.97  ·  Rating details ·  33 ratings  ·  7 reviews
Over the course of its decade-plus lifespan, the Western/horror series Desperadoes has traveled some long, strange trails. Since its hard-riding heroes first met while tracking a ritualistic murderer whose crimes gave him supernatural powers, they've experienced quarantine in a haunted town, a reanimated dead boy with a thirst for revenge, a spiritualist's nightmare, and a ...more
Paperback, 492 pages
Published April 7th 2009 by IDW Publishing (first published March 25th 2009)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Desperadoes Omnibus, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Desperadoes Omnibus

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.97  · 
Rating details
 ·  33 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Desperadoes Omnibus
Lauri
Jan 30, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Weird West. Kui Jonah Hexis on 90% ulatuses tegemist "westiga" (meeldivate eranditega nagu Two-Gun Mojo või Riders of the Worm") siis siin on seda "weirdi" ka ikka parajalt sees, ehk siis üleloomulikku, horrori vormis. Esimeses loos aetakse taga sadistlikku mõrtsukat kes tapab ja nülib väikeseid lapsi ja naisi, teises loos on tegemist satanistliku preestriga, kolmandas loos ei taha üks mahalastud poiss kuidagi surnuna püsida jne. Üldiselt - väga vinge ja metsiku lääne sõpradele suht kohustuslik.
Jack Haringa
Sep 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: graphic-novels
This heavy-duty omnibus (nearly 500 pages) collects all the Desperadoes stories published through 2009. With the exception of one story arc, the art is clean and expressive, and the stories follow in the tradition of Joe Lansdale and Tim Truman in portraying flawed but morally-focused characters at war with supernatural forces in the Wild West. Mariotte does a fine job of paying homage to tradition without slipping into mere pastiche or cliche.
Todd Mitchell
Mar 02, 2011 rated it really liked it
Desperadoes was a cool book that cheapened itself quite a bit near the end. An art change for the final story basically turned the lady member of the heroic travelers into a Bratz doll with distracting anatomy. The colors at this point went downhill as well. Even the last story itself didn't live up to the others and will in no way reward you. If you can hang with that, the book is a pretty fun read about the West mashed up with supernatural horror. I'm not sorry I picked it up.
Clint
Jun 27, 2009 rated it really liked it
I kind of flip-flopped between three and four stars, but wen with four because the artwork and physical quality of the book was so great that it contributed alot to the overall reading experience. But the writing was kind of goofy, like the writer just wanted to throw something spooky into the stories, kind of forced. And there was too much star-crossed romance sub-plots for my manly tastes.
Randy
Apr 25, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Western/gothic horror graphic novel. Five stories in nearly five hundred pages. Superior.
Cody
Jun 27, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: comics
The stories do sneak up on you. The twists are very good. Personally, the dialogue and art style aren't my cup of tea, but they are still very good. Nothing to shake a stick at. Very good stuff here.
Kristeen
Jun 19, 2010 rated it really liked it
Western horror, so that's pretty cool. Not nearly as good at King's Dark Tower, but a fun read.
Pete
rated it really liked it
Jan 07, 2011
Leonard
rated it really liked it
Jun 17, 2009
Gregory
rated it it was amazing
Sep 06, 2011
Suhan Gurer
rated it really liked it
Feb 16, 2013
Ben
rated it liked it
Jun 27, 2012
Austin Adkins
rated it liked it
Feb 10, 2013
John Nee
rated it it was amazing
Jun 02, 2014
Johnny
rated it liked it
Oct 08, 2011
Erik Carl son
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2019
C. Sellner
rated it it was amazing
Apr 19, 2018
Chad
rated it really liked it
Jun 12, 2014
Ravyn Moonchylde
rated it really liked it
May 03, 2012
Cristina Urdiales
rated it really liked it
Jul 01, 2018
King
rated it really liked it
Aug 25, 2019
J. Griff
rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2016
Magz Killgore
rated it it was amazing
Jan 07, 2019
Criss
rated it it was ok
Jan 11, 2018
Jacob
rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2009
Aaron Ewing
rated it liked it
Jan 01, 2012
Dave
rated it liked it
May 06, 2009
Rick
rated it liked it
Aug 06, 2010
Billie
rated it liked it
May 10, 2010
Len
rated it really liked it
Feb 11, 2013
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Graveslinger
  • 52 Pickup
  • Just a Pilgrim
  • Deadpool, Volume 2: Soul Hunter
  • Deadpool, Volume 3: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
  • Deadpool, Volume 1: Dead Presidents
  • The Russian Revolution: A New History
  • Deadpool, Volume 6: Original Sin
  • Deadpool, Volume 5: The Wedding of Deadpool
  • Deadpool, Volume 4: Deadpool vs. S.H.I.E.L.D.
  • Deadpool, Volume 8: All Good Things…
  • Deadpool, Volume 7: AXIS
  • Days Without End
  • Тайный сыск царя Гороха (Тайный сыск царя Гороха, #1)
  • The Manara Library, Vol. 1: Indian Summer and Other Stories
  • Suure karu pojad
  • The Manara Library, Vol. 2: El Gaucho and Other Stories
  • Rio: The Complete Saga
See similar books…
107 followers
Award-winning author Jeffrey J. Mariotte has published more than 30 novels, including horror epic The Slab, award nominated teen horror quartet Witch Season, and the recent supernatural thrillers River Runs Red and Missing White Girl, in addition to tie-in novels and many, many comic books. He is also co-owner of specialty bookstore Mysterious Galaxy in San Diego. He lives in southeastern Arizona. ...more

Other books in the series

Desperadoes (6 books)
  • Desperadoes: A Moment's Sunlight
  • Desperadoes: Epidemic!
  • Desperadoes: Quiet of the Grave
  • Desperadoes: Banners of Gold
  • Desperadoes: Buffalo Dreams

Related Articles

Marjorie Liu is the author of more than 19 novels and the co-creator and writer of the award-winning horror fantasy grap...
84 likes · 14 comments