Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Feathertide” as Want to Read:
Feathertide
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Feathertide

3.85  ·  Rating details ·  39 ratings  ·  18 reviews
One girl was born to be different...

Marea was born to be different - a girl born covered in the feathers of a bird, and kept hidden in a crumbling house full of secrets. When her new tutor, the Professor, arrives with his books, maps and magical stories, he reveals a world waiting outside the window and her curiosity is woken. Caught in the desire to discover her
...more
Hardcover, 432 pages
Expected publication: July 30th 2020 by Del Rey
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Feathertide, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Feathertide

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.85  · 
Rating details
 ·  39 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Feathertide
Sarah
Nov 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Magical, inventive and unique. A truly beautiful story
Rachael
Dec 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
From the moment I opened the first page, I was welcomed into a magical world of mermaids and murmuring cities. Beth Cartwright's stunning prose left me enchanted and enthralled and I love this style of writing.

This is not a fast-paced action book, but it never promised to be that, instead it gives the reader time to savour the imagery, the world she has created, and the characters who live there.

I would recommend this book to anyone who appreciates beautiful language and for those who want to
...more
Sophie
I'm not sure what to say about this book because the thing is, in two days I will probably remember none of what happened in the story. It just couldn't interest me. I kept reading more because I had to finish it than because I wanted to know what was going to happen.

The main character's name is said once at the very beginning and then we don't hear it again till past the halfway point so for most of the book I was "this is our main character who I don't remember the name". Please help people
...more
Isobel
Jan 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A beautiful debut.
Lianne
Dec 07, 2019 rated it it was ok
To begin, I’d like to thank Penguin Random House UK, Ebury Publishing for sending me an ARC of this book, and to NetGalley for facilitating. And a thank you to Beth Cartwright for the world you created!

No spoilers as usual in this review.

Eh... I’ve been struggling with what to write in this review for the best part of a month. This is a tough one, it was marketed as perfect for fans of The Night Circus or The Bear and The Nightingale - well, I think I’m probably Katherine Ardens biggest fan and
...more
Siavahda
This is an odd, beautiful little book about a young girl growing into herself and finding a place for herself in the world. The descriptions and turns of phrase are absolutely stunning; Cartwright's use of language perfectly embodies the sense of wonder Marea - the main character - has for everything she encounters. Cartwright makes normal, everyday things seem magical to the reader, by showing them to us through eyes that have never seen before.

But to be honest, even though the writing was so
...more
Miko Mayer
Nov 25, 2019 rated it liked it
Feathertide by Beth Cartwright
Published by Penguin Random House, Ebury
Publication date: 14 May 2020

I was expecting, and looking forward to, something of a fairytale and so was happy with that tone being firmly set from the first page, unfortunately it quickly became too much and felt overwritten. The constant use of alliteration and similes was distracting; at one point I was actually counting alliterative sets rather than fully attending to the story. I’m a fan of beautifully constructed
...more
Louise Marley
Feb 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
I was attracted to this book because of the beautiful cover - fantasy novels always have the best covers!

Feathertide is the story of Marea, who is born in a brothel and not allowed to leave - her mother worries that she will be made of fun of or stolen away. Marea, you see, is covered in golden feathers like a bird, although she cannot fly. When Marea reaches her seventeenth birthday she goes in search of her mysterious father in the City of Murmurs, a strange, half-flooded city of canals and
...more
Janet
Dec 24, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: 2019
This is a first person narrative following the life of Marea from birth to adulthood. Born with feathers, for most of her childhood she is kept hidden by her mother and the women she lives with. Eventually, Marea leaves the confines of her home and goes out to find her father and to discover who she really is.
This book is about difference, belonging, love and being true to yourself. It has a fairy tale quality with some beautiful imagery.
Initially I found the writing very poetic and delightful
...more
Lauren Easey
Jan 27, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
Thanks to Netgalley and PRH/Ebury for the free review copy.

I really enjoyed this book! Way more than I thought I was going to. It gave me serious 'Museum of Extraordinary Things' vibes, but more fantastical and slightly less dark. The premise is super interesting and original, I love the idea of this concentrated intrigue and mystery surrounding one girl who was born with feathers. You very easily fall into her story, confined to her small world much like she is. When she finally steps out and
...more
Jeannette Allen
Jan 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This is a truly beautiful book in which the reader is transported to a magical place. The setting in which the main character Marea is introduced, is an unusual one and although this is where she finds the warmth of maternal love it is also the place which forces her to fly the nest in order to discover the truth about her very unusual bird-like characteristics. The language is quite beyond anything I have read in a long time. It had me reaching out for a pen to jot down some beautiful phrases ...more
Silverboggle
Nov 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
I was drawn into this story from the prologue. Marea has had an intriguing start to her life, hidden away in a whorehouse, the pet of all but protected from prying eyes and scared that her secret will be found out. On reaching adulthood she embarks on a journey to find her roots and meets a cast of delightful characters on the way.
This is a tale of magic; of difference and acceptance; of friendship, love, hope and new beginnings.
It will certainly have appeal in the young adult market- but also
...more
Alice Moon
Jan 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
I didn't expect to like Feathertide. The blurb made me curious and I wanted to know what's with Marea and her feathers. The story didn't disappoint me. I read the book so easily it felt like it was reading by itself. I was so drawn in the story that I didn't realise I finished it.

I fell in love with the City of Murmurs and its mysteries, at every corner you can find something odd but fascinating. Sybel was my favourite, but I was curios about every character and I wished I could find out more
...more
Amanda
Dec 05, 2019 rated it liked it
Marea is a girl covered in feathers. She goes to the City of Murmurs in search of her father and her identity.

The novel explores what it is to not quite belong.

Cartwright has developed a rich and wonderful world and her characters have depth and are well-defined. Her prose tends towards the purple which, in general, suits the fairy-tale/folkloric nature of this tale. However, you can have too much of a good thing; her metaphors and similes are elaborate in the extreme and plentiful.

My main issue
...more
Louise
Jan 11, 2020 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Ruthsic
Warnings: self-harm

Rep: Bi/pansexual protagonist; sapphic romance

Feathertide is a coming-of-age story with fairytale vibes; there is magic, sure, but it is about our protagonist finally being okay with the fact that she is different. Marea grew up isolated in a brothel, where she was told to keep herself hidden due to the fact that she had feathers growing on her body, and later on, because she was a girl, and only gets to go out on her birthday, also hidden. Very curious about the outside
...more
Sam
Dec 05, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
We follow Marea from the moment her mother goes into labour with her. We skip through the years as she grows up, hidden away in the basement of "whorehouse" because of the feathers that cover her. Eventually the need to know more about herself leads her to the City of Murmurs.
I loved the descriptions of the City of Murmurs, a sinking city of crumbling ruins, canals, and something different down each alleyway - I'd have liked more time exploring everything there.
I liked the characters, and there
...more
Alison Thorne
rated it really liked it
Jan 21, 2020
Becky
rated it liked it
Nov 14, 2019
Kiki Tsiligeridou
rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2020
Eric
rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2019
Brian
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2019
Deborah Harrison
rated it it was amazing
Jan 24, 2020
Alex
rated it really liked it
Dec 30, 2019
Nathan Billups
rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2019
Lorienne Brown
rated it it was amazing
Dec 20, 2019
Robert Swift
rated it it was amazing
Jan 23, 2020
Maia
rated it it was amazing
Jan 23, 2020
Freya Nedderman
rated it liked it
Jan 16, 2020
Louella Deville
rated it it was amazing
Jan 23, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Sisters Grimm
  • The Vine Witch (Vine Witch, #1)
  • Burial Rites
  • Twas the Nightshift Before Christmas
  • Once Upon a Time, Bitches: Design Your Fairytale Life, Control Your Destiny, and Become the Hero in Your Story
  • Christmas at Rachel’s Pudding Pantry
  • A Throne of Swans (A Throne of Swans, #1)
  • The Other Half of Augusta Hope
  • Akin
  • The Burning Chambers
  • See Me Not
  • Saving Noah
  • Big Sky (Jackson Brodie, #5)
  • Fata care citea în metrou
  • The Secret Commonwealth (The Book of Dust, #2)
  • Κάπου αλλού
  • Nights at the Circus
  • Chameleon Assassin (Chameleon Assassin, #1)
See similar books…
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »