Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Rules for Being a Girl” as Want to Read:
Rules for Being a Girl
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Rules for Being a Girl

by
3.82  ·  Rating details ·  39 ratings  ·  14 reviews
It starts before you can even remember: You learn the rules for being a girl. . . .

Marin has always been good at navigating these unspoken guidelines. A star student and editor of the school paper, she dreams of getting into Brown University. Marin’s future seems bright―and her young, charismatic English teacher, Mr. Beckett, is always quick to admire her writing and talk
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Expected publication: April 7th 2020 by Balzer + Bray
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Rules for Being a Girl by Katie Cotugno
    Rules for Being a Girl
    by
    Release date: Apr 07, 2020
    Candace Bushnell, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Sex and the City, and Katie Cotugno, New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days, team ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1617 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jan 13 - Feb 03, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Rules for Being a Girl, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Rules for Being a Girl

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-30
    Average rating 3.82  · 
    Rating details
     ·  39 ratings  ·  14 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Rules for Being a Girl
    booksneedcaffeinetoo
    finally a book where the teacher is called out for being a fucking pedo.
    this book sounds like it has moxie vibes and i'm here for it.
    caitlin
    Review copy courtesy of Edelweiss.

    This was an interesting look at a high school senior’s feminist awakening, triggered by an unwanted advance by a beloved teacher who ends up sabotaging her grades and college prospects. Perfect for fans of “Moxie.”
    Melannie :)
    I loved it. Review closer to pub date.
    Sarah Perchikoff
    Nov 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Feminism alert!! If you couldn't tell, I love a book with feminism as it's theme especially when it's a YA book. I will forever be amazed at what teenagers know these days when it comes to feminism. I was still covered in internalized misogyny and they are talking about intersectionality and toxic masculinity. I LOVE to see it!

    Rules for Being a Girl tells the story that is all too familiar. A teacher is inappropriate with a student and when the student comes forward, she is not believed and then
    ...more
    Fer Bañuelos (myownlittlebookshelf)
    most anticipated book of the year peeps
    Aly (My Heart Hearts Books)
    This was such an easy, but, IMPORTANT read. I freaking loved it and immediately pre-ordered it.
    Fanna
    Dec 20, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: 2020-releases
    - "feminist novel"
    - deals with sexual harassment and sexism
    - unapologetic female protagonist
    -
    Maria Flaherty
    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
    Cozy Ink
    Jan 13, 2020 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
    Ellie M
    Jan 03, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
    Andrew
    After Marin's teacher makes an inappropriate advance on her, she tries to report it, but everyone seems to think she's just confused. Now, Marin is tired of being a "good girl" and playing by the unspoken rules society has made for women. Though not everyone is supportive of her speaking out, she finds a new place for her emerging self by founding a feminist book club at school-- a new, safe place to grow. Many modern issues are covered in this addicting novel, which I flew through in just one ...more
    Leah Grover
    Jan 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    RULES FOR BEING A GIRL rights at least one wrong from the Sex and the City television series (you know the episode I'm thinking of), and its cast boasts a searing reality and cultural awareness that Carrie and friends can't quite match. In many ways, Marin's arc is a best-case scenario--which isn't to say that this was an easy read. After all, how many of us know women who have struggled with the choice to report the inappropriate advances of an authority, or have done so personally? Cotugno and ...more
    Kacennnka
    Takhle kniha chtěla mluvit o hrozně moc tématech, o kterých je navíc potřeba mluvit, ale u žádného se jí to nepovedlo naplno. Byl tam feminismus, ale nic konkrétního. Mluvilo se o rape culture, ale místy mi to přišlo trochu překroucené a ve výsledku to nevyznělo tak, bych považovala za příhodné. Naťukávala se šikana, ale nic moc z toho. V zásadě takhle kniha balancovala mezi klasickou chick lit a vážnějšími tématy, ale víc než průměrné nebylo ani jedno. Za velkou mezeru taky považuji postavy, ...more
    Coletta
    rated it really liked it
    Oct 10, 2019
    Bailey Riddle
    rated it it was amazing
    Sep 08, 2019
    Jenny
    rated it really liked it
    Dec 12, 2019
    Eishar Kaur
    rated it liked it
    Apr 01, 2019
    May
    rated it liked it
    Aug 07, 2019
    Stacey
    rated it liked it
    Sep 23, 2019
    walice
    rated it really liked it
    Dec 07, 2019
    Amber
    rated it it was amazing
    Nov 06, 2019
    Krystal
    rated it really liked it
    Dec 04, 2019
    Sophie
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 16, 2020
    Allison
    rated it really liked it
    Jan 03, 2020
    Alex
    rated it really liked it
    Jun 02, 2019
    Rachel Rickard
    rated it it was ok
    Jan 14, 2020
    Michelle Ann
    rated it it was ok
    Nov 24, 2019
    Deanna Norlock
    rated it liked it
    Sep 09, 2019
    « previous 1 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • Clique Bait
    • Tweet Cute
    • Yes No Maybe So
    • In Five Years
    • The Mall
    • You Say It First
    • The Honey-Don't List
    • They Went Left
    • All Your Twisted Secrets
    • Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)
    • Would Like to Meet
    • A Match Made in Mehendi
    • Time of Our Lives
    • The How & the Why
    • Get a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1)
    • Remarkables
    • Well Met (Well Met, #1)
    • The Bromance Book Club (Bromance Book Club, #1)
    See similar books…
    1,340 followers
    Katie Cotugno is the New York Times bestselling author of messy, complicated, feminist love stories. She studied Writing, Literature and Publishing at Emerson College and received her MFA in Fiction at Lesley University.

    Katie is a Pushcart Prize nominee whose work has appeared in The Iowa Review, The Mississippi Review, and Argestes, among others.

    The great loves of her life include child's pose,
    ...more