Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Perfect Escape (The Perfect Escape, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Perfect Escape (The Perfect Escape, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Perfect Escape

(The Perfect Escape #1)

by
4.60  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Love is a battlefield in this hysterically funny rom-com debut, perfect for fans of Jenny Han.

Nate Jae-Woo Kim wants to be rich, just like everyone else at the elite private school where he's a scholarship student. When one of the wealthiest kids at school offers Nate a huge sum of money to commit grade fraud, he knows that taking the windfall would help support his p
...more
Paperback, 336 pages
Expected publication: April 7th 2020 by Sourcebooks Fire
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Community Reviews

Showing 1-41
Average rating 4.60  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Perfect Escape (The Perfect Escape, #1)
Helen Hoang
Apr 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book! Suzanne Park is effortlessly hilarious, and her characters are super lovable. My favorite is Nate, he's swoony but so relatable as an Asian American lead. His family members are also written with great care and humor, and his little sister is the cutest thing. Kate's struggles with her dad really spoke to me, so if anyone has daddy troubles, this book might be for you...

I hope this is the YA romcom of 2020. It was sweet, funny, and yeah, it warmed my broken heart.
...more
Suzanne Park
Apr 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
I highly recommend this book.
Sarah Henning
Oct 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Suzanne Park’s THE PERFECT ESCAPE is the hilarious tale of two snarky teens hoping  to fund their wildest dreams in the most convenient way available: via windfall from a good, old-fashioned zombie-whooping competition. Tech-brainiac Nate and wannabe-actress Kate will win your hearts (and maybe each other’s) as they conquer the undead, their well-meaning but clueless parents, and their disagreement over the virtues of mayo-based products. THE PERFECT ESCAPE is indeed the perfect escape from, wel ...more
Whitney Schneider
Apr 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Puts the COM in rom-com!

This book is hilarious! Nate and Kate are such likable characters as they get to know each other (and themselves) while prepping for a zombie survivalist competition. Nate’s relationship with his family and adorable little sister is heartwarming and realistic. It’s a perfect contrast to Kate’s broken relationship with her father and his over-the-top, but understandable, concerns for her safety. Suzanne Park did an amazing job of getting me to root for each cha
...more
♠️ TABI ♠️
Jul 20, 2019 marked it as to-read
please rec me all the Korean/Korean-American YA books y'all know of PLEASE
Ken Choy
Jun 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
SPOILERS AHEAD!!!!

(based on pre-book deal draft)
With remarkable humor and insight into a teenagers angst-ridden psyche, the author puts her characters through the ringer--school bullies, Corporate bullies, zombies, a "please-let-it-happen-even-though-it-shouldn't-work-out" romance, and a helicopter parent that leave readers thanking their own for not being like the one in the book, just to name a few obstacles--and zeroes in on the consequences of hasty and sometimes self-servi
...more
Sujin P.
rated it it was amazing
Aug 23, 2019
Books4Jessica
rated it really liked it
Oct 14, 2019
Susan McGuire
rated it it was amazing
Sep 17, 2019
Sandra
rated it it was ok
Aug 22, 2019
Richard J
rated it it was amazing
Apr 17, 2019
Daiane
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Z
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Shondra
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Timna
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Renee
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Joanne
added it
Apr 16, 2019
SoKawaiiBebe
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Laura
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Sarah B.
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Nikki S
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Tara Tsai
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Helen
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Bethany Robison
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Hailey
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Diana Urban
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Amelia
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Anniek
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Chloe Gong
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
ChinaSorrows
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Ashley
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Aimee
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Julie
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Daniel Tfm
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Amy
added it
Apr 16, 2019
Catherine Tinker
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Emma Andje
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Julie Carrick Dalton
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Laura
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
55 followers
Suzanne Park is a Korean-American writer who was born and raised in Tennessee.

In her former life as a stand-up comedian, she was a finalist in the Oxygen Network's "Girls Behaving Badly" talent search, and appeared on BET's "Coming to the Stage." She found this to be the funniest thing in her comedy career because, well, she is not black. Suzanne was also the winner of the Seattle Sier
...more

Other books in the series

The Perfect Escape (2 books)
  • Untitled (The Perfect Escape, #2)