Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Black Blue: Love, Sports and the Art of Empowerment” as Want to Read:
Black  Blue: Love, Sports and the Art of Empowerment
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Black Blue: Love, Sports and the Art of Empowerment

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  7 reviews
In the Deep South, football is a religion and even as a young girl, Christine dearly loved the game. Her passion to play, not just watch, was apparent. But even by the time she reached her teens, society's message that women are second-class citizens – and the South's particular interpretation of that -- had seeped in. She chafed at what the South told her she should be – ...more
Paperback, 310 pages
Published July 6th 2019 by BookBaby
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Black Blue, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Black Blue

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
Average rating 4.36  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Black Blue: Love, Sports and the Art of Empowerment
Linda Zagon
Aug 31, 2019 rated it really liked it
Andra Douglas, Author of "Black & Blue" writes an exciting, intriguing, and engaging novel of women who live their dreams to play football. The Genres for this Novel are fiction, but much of the material comes from the author's own experiences. This is a coming of age novel, a search for female worth in a man's sport.  Andra Douglas was the owner of the New York Sharks Pro Football League and is an artist. The author comes from the south and moved to New York City. The author describes her c ...more
Kelly (Simply Kelina) C.
Aug 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
I was sent this book from the publisher/publicity team. My ratings and reviews will be my own personal opinions and are in no way influenced by publishers or authors who may have sent me books to review.

I am an avid sports lover. Growing up I was always the girl who was hanging out with the guys watching the basketball or hockey games. Thankfully, I was able to play the sport I loved and did not have to face most of the issues that Christine has to face. I know this is around footbal
...more
Jason Hillenburg
Oct 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
We are a long way away, thankfully, from days when the range of possible accomplishments for American women confines their lives to the narrow parameters of the kitchen, nursery, nurse’s station, bedroom, or secretarial pool. Andra Douglas’ lightly fictionalized quasi-memoir of her childhood, lifelong love for football, and pioneering role as an one-time team owner and quarterback for the New York Sharks, a seminal women’s professional football organization, testifies to the progress women have ...more
BookTrib.com
Let’s get this out of the way: I am a huge sports fan. So when I had the opportunity to review a book about a group of women determined to play tackle football at the highest level, I was game.

What I got was far more than a simple feel-good novel in the vein of Rocky or Rudy. Black & Blue (Book Baby) by Andra Douglas is an important story of breaking societal norms, battling stereotypical prejudices, and coming to terms with what defines you as a person.

Technically th
...more
R.K. Emery
Nov 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fiction
This was a read that I was not expecting to understand as well as I did. I loved the inside look we got. It really intrigued me. While you may not be the person who has aspirations such as Christine, that doesn't take away from the inspiration her determination is in this book.

I think that the story Andra Douglas tells here is a very inspiring one. It has deeper elements at times, but there is a silver lining in the way the main character overcomes it. This was a great read!

Emotional and Power
...more
Truly
Oct 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
Black & Blue is an intriguing and engaging read that is full of drama about the struggles of women who live their dreams to play football. A well-written coming of age novel from a woman's point of view about a sport that is mainly male dominate. The characters are complex with many layers that help to tell the story in a way that makes you feel as if you are a part of the story. *I received a complimentary copy from RABT Book Tours and the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased revie ...more
Csimplot Simplot
Nov 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Excellent book!!
Jen Sloan
rated it it was amazing
Oct 29, 2019
Susan
rated it really liked it
Sep 16, 2019
Vic
rated it really liked it
Oct 19, 2019
RABT Book Tours and PR
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2019
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
amy
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Genaro
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Gabby
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
ROY Law
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Wendy
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Melissa ahmed
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Cary
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Nancy
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
James Cozzarelli
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Sam
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Deborah Gerhart
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Brooke
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Debbie Schiedel
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Bill Schlott
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Becky
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
lou brown
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Bridget
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Brenda Maki
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Jean  Felty
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Jill
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Raymond Stone
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Joan
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Kim Ellis
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Linda
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Barbara Dougherty Evans
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Loren Palmer
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
Dannon Hewitt
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Selected Poems: Summer Knowledge
  • Last and Lost Poems
  • Recovery
  • The Complete Poems
  • Children Of The Cursed
  • The Soul Collector
  • Focus Lost
  • Guardian of Angel
  • Love And Glory
  • House of Salt and Sorrows
  • Honor Among Vampires
  • Betsy Blossom Brown
  • Strange Eons
  • Never Go With Your Gut: How Pioneering Leaders Make the Best Decisions and Avoid Business Disasters (Avoid Terrible Advice, Cognitive Biases, and Poor Decisions)
  • Valley Of Secrets (The Last Heiress #1)
  • Seeing Gender: An Illustrated Guide to Identity and Expression
  • Losing Reality: On Cults, Cultism, and the Mindset of Political and Religious Zealotry
  • The Moon Hunters
See similar books…
14 followers
A native of central Florida and a graduate of Florida State University and Pratt Institute, Andra Douglas has been a National Champion athlete in rugby and women's tackle football, a Vice President/Creative Director at Time Warner, the founder of the Fins Up! Foundation for Female Athletes, a non-profit to benefit at-riskteens, (www.womensgridironfoundation.org), th ...more