Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “One Mind's Eye” as Want to Read:
One Mind's Eye
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

One Mind's Eye

by
3.62  ·  Rating details ·  73 ratings  ·  7 reviews
What if a artificial reality was all you had ever known?

On the planet Antar, Llyn Torfinn awakes to reality as if for the first time, with no memory of the real world. The human settlers found her abandoned, hooked into a AR machine, and wasting away. Physically and mentally, she must learn how to live in a system at war with alien threats at every turn.
...more
Paperback, 416 pages
Published June 18th 2019 by Enclave Publishing (first published April 1st 1996)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about One Mind's Eye, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about One Mind's Eye

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.62  · 
Rating details
 ·  73 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of One Mind's Eye
Kim  Gregory
Aug 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've enjoyed everything I've read by Kathy Tyers so I had high hopes for this story, and she didn't let me down. I did get lost a couple of times with all of the different odd names in the story and who's who, but as I got deeper into the story it all came together.

Our main character, LLyn, was wonderfully crafted. I felt for her and wanted so much for her to figure out her place in this world - but I wasn't too happy with the major decision she made when she did get her independence! She later
...more
Andrea
Oct 15, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
One Mind’s Eye review

I asked Adam Graham to buy me One Mind’s Eye by Kathy Tyers for my last birthday for a couple reasons. One was, at the time, it was priced higher than I was comfortable spending on an ebook for an ordinary occasion. The second was the title reminded me of an old title of one of my books and the plot line included the use of artificial reality, as she calls it. So for once I was curious about her tech gadgets rather than simply suckered by a cute, abused orphan. ...more
C.J. Darlington
It took me a little while to thoroughly enmesh myself in the storyworld of this book, but once I did I found myself eagerly anticipating each reading. It was fascinating reading this book having already read Tyers' Firebird books. Tyers was exploring a lot of the same themes and ideas in this book (a group of elite mind readers, overbearing mother figures, etc.) But while Once Mind's Eye was a great attempt at fully developing these themes, you can tell Kathy grew as a writer in between writing ...more
Randi
I choose not to rate this one just yet, because I read it back in middle school. Ah, for the good 'ole days when Mom worked at B&N and would bring home the catalog copies of books... That's how I got this one, anyway. Well, I remember thoroughly enjoying it as an early teen, which makes me want to read it again before rating.
David
Feb 18, 2010 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Competently written account of inter-species conflict with an intelligent, parasitic form. Rather spiritual in some ways. The protagonist is a young woman struggling for self-determination and freedom from an overbearing caregiver.

Recommended for teen+. No harsh language, etc.
Phil
Jun 27, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
A complicated world, The scope a bit too large for one book. Ender, Pod People, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Stargate all rolled into one novel. Whew. Not for the faint of heart but worth the time.
don w creger
Jun 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Creative universe

This was a unique combination of science fiction and faith. It was a good adventure and love story. The alien culture was interesting.
Jennalyn
rated it it was amazing
Mar 01, 2011
Tyler
rated it liked it
Mar 15, 2010
Katherine M
rated it liked it
Jan 22, 2016
Laraysa Nugent
rated it it was amazing
Mar 22, 2016
Reagan
rated it liked it
Jun 11, 2015
Laura
rated it it was ok
May 10, 2015
Megan
rated it liked it
Dec 29, 2011
Sam
rated it liked it
Sep 01, 2017
F Cleary
rated it really liked it
Feb 27, 2013
Jo-Anna
rated it it was amazing
May 02, 2018
Elizabeth
rated it liked it
Apr 15, 2009
Holly Faith White
rated it liked it
Feb 03, 2014
Sharron
rated it really liked it
Jun 13, 2016
Julie Odegard
rated it really liked it
Aug 17, 2015
Breanna
rated it liked it
Feb 05, 2012
Katie
rated it did not like it
Oct 31, 2008
Stacy
rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2013
Kimberly Lewis
rated it it was amazing
Sep 11, 2019
Abrea
rated it liked it
Jan 26, 2012
Patience
rated it really liked it
Sep 27, 2007
Katherine Padilla
rated it really liked it
Dec 02, 2017
James
rated it liked it
Apr 04, 2011
Neva
rated it it was amazing
Dec 22, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
158 followers
She is the first child of Dr. H.C. Moore, an accomplished dentist and jazz musician who had served during WWII as a test pilot, and Barbara Putnam Moore, flutist with several California orchestras.

Kathy attended Montana State University in Bozeman, where she received a degree in microbiology, married, performed widely on her flute, and then became certified as a K-12 classroom teacher.
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »