Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Shepherd's Warning” as Want to Read:
Shepherd's Warning
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Shepherd's Warning

by
4.38  ·  Rating details ·  21 ratings  ·  18 reviews
For years the abandoned MacKenzie mansion remained hidden in rural Wisconsin. Rumors and stories of apparitions, odd noises, accidents, and strange deaths in or near the property were enough to convince the townsfolk it was haunted and they stayed away.

Lucas MacKenzie and his brother Nate know nothing of this when they inherit the property and decide to bring their familie
...more
Paperback, 392 pages
Published July 10th 2019 by Land of Oz LLC
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Shepherd's Warning, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Shepherd's Warning

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
4.38  · 
Rating details
 ·  21 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Carla (Carla's Book Bits)
I'm so sorry to say that Shepherd's Warning was a bit of a disappointment for me.

I went into this expecting to find a hidden gem, and while the writing and story are ok... I don't think this would be much of a stellar find, even for fans of the haunted house genre.

My main gripes with it were:
‣ The names all blur together. Lloyd introduces *lots* of characters from the get-go, and she does give us physical descriptions of each as they're introduced, but I just don't remember the details, hair c
...more
Melissa Borsey
Jun 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book was one of the best haunted house/ghost story that I have read in a long time. This book captured my attention from the first page and just kept getting better and better. I thought the ending was pretty shocking. I thank Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book and I look forward to reading more books by this author.
Jeanine
Excellent haunting story.
Jim
Jun 19, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shepherd's Warning by Cailyn Lloyd
Review of a NetGalley eARC.

This is a haunted house story in the vein of The Shining or The Amityville Horror (which is referenced explicitly in the text). The McKenzie family: Lucas and Laura, with Lucas's brother Nathan and his wife Ashley, along with Lucas and Laura's granddaughter Leah, arrive at the brothers' inherited house in the Wisconsin countryside. A grand old Tudor mansion, they decide to renovate it for HGTV, but things soon take a terrifying turn. A
...more
Kim
Jun 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I love when fate intervenes. I was on NetGalley to see what books I needed to post reviews for, and I decided I wanted to read a horror book soon. So I clicked on that section, and saw the cover for Sheperd’s Warning because it caught my eye. When I read that it takes place in rural Wisconsin, and it was a debut novel, I knew that would be my next read.

And I must say, an excellent book for a new author.

Cailyn Lloyd does a fabulous job with the building of suspense. While I was never freaked ou
...more
Khristina Moraa
Jun 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Let’s talk.

I just finished Shepherd’s Warning by Cailyn Lloyd and can I just say I am overcome.

I’ve never read a horror book before, not even the widely popular Goosebumps by R. L. Stine and this being my first horror book I am extremely impressed. It didn’t scare the shit out of me but it certainly held my attention from beginning to end and I devoured it in the span of one and a half days. It was that worthy.

Since this is an ARC my standard style of reviewing won’t apply (because that would me
...more
George1st
Jun 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
There are certainly enough scares, thrills and spine chilling moments here to satisfy most lovers of the supernatural and horror genre. Considering this is Cailyn Lloyd's first book she certainly shows a mastery of the art of providing a satisfyingly absorbing and page turning read. I read that the author spent three years living in an allegedly haunted house and experienced the strange and eerie atmosphere derived from such a location. Although I'm a confirmed sceptic on such matters there is n ...more
Ileana Renfroe
Jun 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
CAILYN LLOYD, is not only a Composer. Musician. Stormchaser, and Photographer - but now she is an Author with amazing talent. Shepherd’s Warning is a horror novel that will keep you at the edge of your seat until the very end.

The story is about two brothers and their wives inheriting a house their mother had kept a secret. She kept it a secret for good reason. The house is haunted and with it comes a very angry spirit.

The characters are well defined. As to the scenery, the author makes you feel
...more
Mary
Jun 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Do houses have souls? Can a house be evil? If so, how could this possibly come to be? The MacKenzie house stands vacant and hidden in the Wisconsin countryside. Legend surrounds the house. Tales that, hundreds of years ago when only native american people lived on the land, the solid, authentic English Tudor suddenly appeared out of nowhere. Then and now the house was thought of as evil, haunted and dangerous and the people stayed away.. All except for the MacKenzie family who had owned the hous ...more
Billie
Jul 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
For years the abandoned MacKenzie mansion remained hidden in rural Wisconsin. Rumors and stories of apparitions, odd noises, accidents, and strange deaths in or near the property were enough to convince the townsfolk it was haunted and they stayed away.
Lucas MacKenzie and his brother Nate know nothing of this when they inherit the property and decide to bring their families to Wisconsin for a major renovation project with HGTV stardom in mind. As they tear out old fixtures and open shuttered win
...more
amanda
Jun 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
I am a sucker for all things haunted house and ghost related. I can never get enough. Unfortunately it is so hard to find a good ghost story that grips my interest but this one absolutely did. It’s a slow burner and we’re introduced to a lot of characters. They’re complex and they’ve been through hell. The family dynamics can be rough to read at times so much so that I cringed reading some of the dialogue but it’s realistic and that’s what I liked about it.

The house is an ancient evil that cause
...more
Kaye
Jun 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Wasn't sure what to expect here, so was very pleasantly surprised to find such an engrossing horror/mystery. Hard to put this one down. An intriguing story line following two brothers and their wives (one of which is psychic), who come to a house they didn't know existed after the death of their mother. The townspeople talk about the house in hushed voices, and ghosts and dark entities are felt here and there. Throw in Shepherd, an ancient sorcerer from the 700s a.d. and the story takes on anoth ...more
Mitch
Jun 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed a Shepherds warning, although i was a bit confused in the beginning, The premise is two brothers inherit a English Tudor house in the middle of no where in America, No one knows how it got there and the boys had no idea of its existence until their mother passed away, They have the idea to renovate it but the house has a creepy past and soon things go out of control for them and their family. The story is well written and isn't graphically gory like some stories can be and as th ...more
MamaMiaReads
Jul 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Net Galley Review

This is a wonderfully written horror/ghost story. MacKenzie mansion has remained empty for years when brothers, Lucas and Nate, are bequeathed the mansion in their mother's will. Once they start renovations things begin to happen in their lives and their families lives. This was a fast-paced read told from multiple viewpoints. It was incredibly hard for me to put down and walk away. I love the world-building, the amazing characters, and the history behind the house and character
...more
Andrea
Jun 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
I wish NetGalley would let me do half stars, I would bump this one up to 4.5/5. Lloyd has a good grasp on the necessary parts of a haunted house tale - she sets up normalcy beautifully before she begins to disturb it, for instance. She even subverts one of the tropes with one of the point of view characters, and it's very well done. The pacing is a little uneven in places and the language occasionally a bit clunky, but overall as someone who really loves a good haunted house story I enjoyed this ...more
Annarella
Jun 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A very good book, engrossing and entertaining.
I liked the world building, the fleshed out cast of characters and the fascinating plot.
I look forward to reading other books by this author.
Highly recommended!
Many thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.
Heather Bennett
Jun 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shepherd's Warning is a fantastic paranormal book. The author has done a good job with character development and making a interesting storyline. I enjoyed this book.
Fungi From Yuggoth
SHEPHERD'S WARNING is an immensely engrossing horror/paranormal novel with contemporary issues and deep historical background. The paranormal elements are inventive, focusing on one ancestral lineage. Additionally the author weaves in a congruent plot line in one Kenric Shepherd, University professor and sorcerer. This is a "can't-put-down" paranormal thrill ride, wrenching reader's emotions and delivering an ultimately gratifying and re-readable novel.
9kisselhaley l
rated it it was amazing
Jun 24, 2019
Braxas
rated it really liked it
Jul 13, 2019
Rowan MacBean
rated it really liked it
Jun 25, 2019
Crystal Wheeler Leighty
marked it as to-read
Jun 05, 2019
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Jun 05, 2019
Courtney Perry
marked it as to-read
Jun 05, 2019
Mimi
marked it as to-read
Jun 06, 2019
Johnny
marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2019
James
marked it as to-read
Jun 10, 2019
Courtney
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2019
Jensen
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Haleigh
is currently reading it
Jun 22, 2019
Israa Ahmed
is currently reading it
Jun 23, 2019
Kristen
marked it as to-read
Jun 23, 2019
Laura
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2019
Chandler Jimmerson
marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2019
Kaylee Wise
is currently reading it
Jul 01, 2019
Kasha In Bookland
is currently reading it
Jul 08, 2019
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Jul 08, 2019
Janet
marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2019
Blair
marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2019
Catherine
marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2019
Teresa
added it
Jul 10, 2019
Chris Taylor
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2019
Cinlar
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
11 followers
A lifelong writer, Cailyn Lloyd, spent three years living in a truly haunted house and experienced first hand the nuances of strange and eerie places. Shepherd’s Warning is her first book.

In addition to writing, Cailyn is an accomplished weather photographer and her work has appeared in several publications including Life Magazine and Time Magazine. She is also a composer and musician with three a
...more