Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bug Boys” as Want to Read:
Bug Boys
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bug Boys

3.93  ·  Rating details ·  30 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Join two bug friends as they learn about the science of the world around them and the meaning of friendship in this early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly!

Rhino-B is a brash, but sweet guy. Stag-B is a calm and scholarly adventurer. Together these two young beetles make up the Bug Boys, best friends who spend their time exploring the world of Bug
...more
Hardcover, 272 pages
Expected publication: February 11th 2020 by Random House Graphic
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bug Boys, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Bug Boys

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.93  · 
Rating details
 ·  30 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Bug Boys
Mari Johnston
This review and many others can also be found at Musings of a (Book) Girl.

At first glance, Bug Boys seems like nothing more than the adventures that two best friends find themselves going on – but it’s so much more. Laura Knetzger did an incredible job of capturing the fears and uncertainties that kids feel and having Stag-B and Rhino-B work through them.

The first thing I thought of when I saw Bug Boys was how much the art style reminded me of Adventure Time. After finishing the graphic novel
...more
Kayla Miller
Nov 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Sweet, episodic stories about two little beetles growing up and trying to understand the world around them.

While the stories may appear simple, there are deeper themes below the surface. The characters deal with anxiety, spirituality, and complex interpersonal conflicts while on their adventures.

I think this would be a good recommendation for the little kid in your life who seems wise beyond their years.
Mortisha Cassavetes
Nov 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-2019
I won an ARC of this book and want to thank the author and Random House for this amazing graphic novel. It will release in February of 2020. I really loved it. The story follows Rhino-B and Stag-B, two little bugs that are best friends. They go on lots of adventures and even get into a little mischief. They love to explore and find treasures in their Bug Village and where ever the treasure maps take them. I really loved the bright and colorful illustrations and highly recommend this cute graphic ...more
Andrew
Jul 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I have fallen in love with these beetle BFFs! Rhino-B, Stag-B, and all of their friends had me smiling, laughing, and relating to their wit and emotions. I didn't want their adventures to end! Bug Boys would make a fantastic TV show-- the panels practically feel animated themselves. Readers of all ages are sure to become absorbed in these cheerful insect buddies.
Anya
Nov 27, 2019 rated it liked it
Thank you to Random House Graphic for the ARC!

This was a very cute book, and I loved the art. Laura Knetzger was a storyboard artist for Adventure Time, and I can definitely see similarities between her style and the show.

I only gave this three stars because the short chapters and varying storylines were a little jarring for me. It felt like some of the stories were over before they really got going. However, this could be a definite plus for a reluctant reader, or a kid with a shorter
...more
Cat
Nov 06, 2019 added it
Delightful little stories! I love the characters Rhino-B and Stag-B, and all of their friends. The stories within the book are all really short, so even a 2nd or 3rd grader could probable read fairly easily. Older kids will enjoy it, as well. The bugs and insects in the book have lots of adventures and pretty much behave as kids do in real life. I think children will enjoy their antics. Written graphic novel style, the illustrations were wonderful and the type large enough for younger readers to ...more
Lenoire
Nov 06, 2019 rated it liked it
Stag-B is a calm but smart adventurer while Rhino-B is a sweet person but self-assertive. The two young beetles are best friends and make up the Bug Boys. They spend their time exploring Bug Village and the surrounding areas. Together the duo goes on adventures to save their village honey supply, travel through caves, and work with a bookish spider. What new adventure will the Bug Boys embark on?

The graphic novel was a cute read about friendship and coming of age. The two beetles were a fun
...more
CR
Dec 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This graphic novel was a great adventure. The story was easy to read and follow and the artwork was great. I finished this book in about an hour and I really want to read it again. The age group 7-10 was good but I think that older kids like my sister who is almost 13 would like this one to. I really liked that at the end of the book there are pages to learn to draw the bug boys. That was really cool!!
Raven Black
Aug 16, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
The spiritual aspects and the growth from there I could have handled, but writing is stiff; the characters uninteresting and the "drug induced trip" at the end was down right creepy and well over the top. The modern characters attitude (boys cry, etc) gets lost with utter nonsense storylines. The artwork is awkward and flat.
Caity
Nov 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is a really cute book with lots of sweet bug stories. The friendship between the main beetles is well written and overall its a great book. I found a few of the stories to be a little vague and wish there was just a bit more detail but they were still well thought out and a joy to read. I also liked the bug facts in the back of the book.
Mariana Calderon
BUG BOYS is a delightful collection of comic vignettes, perfect for readers needing a bite-sized story at a time, daydreamers, and bug-lovers. Easy to enjoy and deceptively simple in scale, the stories actually contain complex but enjoyable musings about friendship, communication, and finding one's place in the world.
Delany Holcomb
Nov 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
An absolutely lovely graphic novel about two friends that navigate their humble bug world, "Bug Boys" is a good wholesome read for those that are fans of Adventure Time, Steven Universe, and just plain good fun.
Dai Guerra
Nov 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is such a cute collection of different stories about two bugs who go on so many adventures. It's a nice quick read that you can read with your kids. It's also a great read for children who are learning to read.
Marta Boksenbaum
Nov 11, 2019 rated it it was ok
I thought this book was cute but I didn’t love it. However I think kids might enjoy the simple episodic stories and cute cartoons of bugs.
Andrea
More reviews and book-ish content @ Club Book Mobile & Andrea RBK

Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger was the story of two friends who are bugs and the adventures they find together. What's great about this is that those adventures involve how the interface with the human world, other bugs and various science things. The learning of this novel is seamlessly infused into the stories of Rhino-B and Stag-B which is again a perk of having kids check this one out. In addition the learning about science-y
...more
Michele
Aug 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Series of very cute short stories told from the point of view of bugs.
Jamus
rated it really liked it
Jun 20, 2019
Julia Gilbert
rated it liked it
Nov 08, 2019
Lesley
rated it liked it
Nov 27, 2019
Kristin
rated it really liked it
Nov 25, 2019
colin
rated it really liked it
Jun 25, 2019
Jonathan Khan
rated it it was amazing
Nov 19, 2019
M Blankier
rated it it was amazing
Oct 14, 2019
Vero Stewart
rated it really liked it
Dec 25, 2019
Lauren Mackey
rated it it was amazing
Jun 19, 2019
Laura
rated it liked it
Dec 05, 2019
Andres Catter
rated it it was amazing
Jul 21, 2019
Debbie
rated it liked it
Nov 11, 2019
Meg
rated it it was amazing
Aug 15, 2019
Cole
rated it it was amazing
Nov 25, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Runaway Princess
  • Witchlight
  • Stepping Stones
  • The Lonely Heart of Maybelle Lane
  • Le Génie Saligaud (Aubépine #1)
  • Estranged (Estranged, #1)
  • The Midwinter Witch (The Witch Boy, #3)
  • Clean Getaway
  • All Aboard the Moonlight Train
  • Patron Saints of Nothing
  • The Babysitters Coven (The Babysitters Coven, #1)
  • Look Both Ways
  • The Changeling King (Estranged, #2)
  • White Bird
  • Things Seen from Above
  • Hair Love
  • Shine!
  • Are You Listening?
See similar books…
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »