Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Mengele: Unmasking the "Angel of Death"” as Want to Read:
Mengele: Unmasking the "Angel of Death"
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Mengele: Unmasking the "Angel of Death"

by
3.94  ·  Rating details ·  50 ratings  ·  17 reviews
A gripping account of the infamous Nazi doctor, from a former Justice Department official tasked with uncovering his fate.

One of the most notorious war criminals of all time, Dr. Josef Mengele has come to symbolize both the evil of the Nazi regime and the failure of justice in the postwar world. Drawing on new scholarship and sources, historian David G. Marwell examines
...more
Hardcover, 448 pages
Published January 28th 2020 by W. W. Norton Company
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Mengele, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Mengele

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.94  · 
Rating details
 ·  50 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Mengele: Unmasking the "Angel of Death"
Kylie D
Dec 30, 2019 rated it liked it
A well researched and factual book, based on the findings of the Justice Department teams sent to discover notorious Nazi Dr Joseph Mengele's whereabouts in the 1980's. The first half of the books looks at Mengele's life and the second half the search for him, and the forensic proofs that the team found.

My main problem with this book was the delivery. If you want the information on the case, it's all there. If you want the facts presented in an engaging and entertaining way, you wont find that
...more
Theresa Lorenzo
Dec 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
There is not much I can say about this book because I think the title says it all. However, that being said, it is such a scholarly work by Mr. Marwell who worked on this at the Justice Department. Mr. Marwell did not dwell on the atrocities Mengele committed but rather on the breadth of the investigation into him and the attempts to bring him to justice. His information is impeccably highlighted and he brings into stark reality the evils of the Nazis.

In this day and age when people are being
...more
Fredrick Danysh
The author spent years in the Special Investigations Office of the Justice Department investigating Joseph Mengele. While some of Mengele's actions are recorded, most of the work is a history of the Holocaust. This book presents an informative history of the Holocaust. This was a free review copy obtained through Goodreads.com.
Dawn
Feb 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
First half is a biography and look into the myths surrounding this man. I felt it was pretty unbiased and well researched. The second half is about the investigations and trying to find Mengele. The author was an investigator in the 80s I believe.
Rhiannon Johnson
Jan 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Thank you to W.W. Norton for my complimentary review copy.

Read this review on my blog: https://ivoryowlreviews.blogspot.com/...

Tuesday 1/28/2020 marked the 75th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz, a place where Josef Mengele determined the fate of countless innocents and selected thousands more for his “scientific” pursuits. In “Mengele: Unmasking the ‘Angel of Death’” (released today) former chief of investigative research at the Justice Department’s Office of Special Investigations
...more
Theediscerning
Dec 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
Five, then four, stars.

This is a brilliant biography of Josef Mengele, that proves once and for all that there is too much negative hype about the man. Too many witnesses claim he was doing the selection at Birkenau for the gas chambers for him ever to have taken a loo break; too many people give inaccurate descriptions of the man when they declare he was evil to them personally. Also, the most heinous things he was accused of were likely to be balderdash, considering the real science behind
...more
Ionia
Jan 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I thought this was a phenomenal book. Incredibly well-researched, presented in a format that makes it easy to follow and enjoy and by a more than credible source.

If you are looking for the answers to who Mengele was, what his life was like before and after his involvement in WWII and trying to draw a conclusion about what happened to him, this is the book to read. If you are bothered by discussions of the Shoah, you should perhaps be warned that this book does go into detail on some of the
...more
june3
Feb 17, 2020 rated it really liked it
Mr. Marwell presents us with Mengele. The name alone sends shivers down the spine of anyone familiar with, indeed raised on Holocaust literature. Mengele. Who was he and how did he become, well, Mengele???

Mr. Marwell's new book does not disappoint. At all. Indeed, his extensive research into these questions (and more) ultimately stands in support of the infamous observations of the philosopher, Hannah Arendt, who coined the phrase "the banality of evil." While Arendt was reporting on the trial
...more
Oliver Bogler
Feb 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
A well written and researched biography of Mengele that lays out clearly the man's life and career. The book is more or less split between the biographical section and then the story of how Mengele's remains were tracked down in Brazil and identified by a large, international team of scientists. Mr. Marwell participated actively in the investigations and brings much detail and perspective to that part of the story. I found the biography of Mengele more interesting. Since I never doubted that the ...more
Nicola
Jan 11, 2020 rated it really liked it
'Mengele' is well-researched and gives an excellent insight into the notorious Josef Megele. I have read several books about the Holocaust recently where Mengele features as a character, and I was interested in reading more about the doctor referred to as the 'Angel of Death'. The author, David G Marwell, was part of the international investigation team from the US Department of Justice tased with locating Mengele. This element adds further interest to this well written, comprehensive historical ...more
Paul Gaglio
Feb 19, 2020 rated it liked it
I really thought I was going to be fascinated by this book. It is such an interesting story it could be a work a fiction. So I cannot tell you how truly disappointed I was with it.
The book is very well researched and the author is definitely knowledgeable on the subject matter as he played an active part in it. However it is written in such a clinical boring prose. It is perplexing to wonder how such a fascinating subject could be turned into a mundane novel
Steve
Feb 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The author of this book, was a former member at the Justice Department's Office of Special Investigations in the 1980's. This book to me is part biography and part mystery. The biography part tells of the Nazi doctor Josef Mengele who was a doctor at Auschwitz responsible for numerous deaths and scientific experiments on prisoners at Auschwitz.After the war, he fled to South America which became a refuge for Nazi war criminals. Mengele later died in 1985 in Sao Paulo, Brazil.
Jennybeast
Nov 19, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: nonfiction
An incredibly detailed and thorough documenting of what is know about Mengele's life and movements, and the efforts to capture him after WWII. Well written and researched. Chilling to see that his horrifying human experimentation was based on the science of the time.

Advanced Readers copy provided by Edelweiss.
Melanie
Nov 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
I received an ARC of this through Goodreads. I enjoyed this glimpse into the life of Josef Mengele and the following hunt for him. My only issue was that the notes in Chapter 6 end up being 2 behind, so note 47 for example is actually note 49 and so on. Hopefully that can be fixed before finished copies are released. But other than that, I liked this a lot!
Peter L
Unmasking the Angel of Death ( Mengele )

This is the Latest book on Mengele, the so-called Angel of Death. This gives full detailed account of his crimes against humanity before explaining how he escaped to Argentina & other location. Interesting but hard to take and/or comprehend. Skipped for many reasons.
Nissa
A very well-written and researched book on one of the most notorious Nazi war criminals there ever was. Not a dull moment and easy to read. I found it hard to put down. I recommend it to all WW2/Holocaust readers.
Doug Maffett
Feb 21, 2020 rated it liked it
Straight forward informative book. Lots of details about his life.
Rebecca
rated it liked it
Feb 06, 2020
Amanda
rated it liked it
Feb 17, 2020
Liz M.
rated it liked it
Feb 12, 2020
Tara
rated it really liked it
Nov 22, 2019
Bee
rated it it was amazing
Feb 11, 2020
Lynda Kraar
rated it it was amazing
Feb 12, 2020
David Kirby
rated it really liked it
Feb 12, 2020
Corey Graziade
rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2020
Carol
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2019
Wesley Policky
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2020
Alison Wilson
rated it really liked it
Feb 17, 2020
Brian Durfee
rated it really liked it
Jan 26, 2020
Dennis Kocik
rated it it was amazing
Feb 01, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • 999: The Extraordinary Young Women of the First Official Jewish Transport to Auschwitz
  • The Prince and the Dressmaker
  • The Princess Bride
  • Caffeine: How Caffeine Created the Modern World
  • A Guest of the Reich
  • A Die Hard Christmas: The Illustrated Holiday Classic
  • The Game
  • Don't You Forget About Me
  • In the Dark
  • Mooncakes
  • Super Sons: The Polarshield Project
  • The Umbrella Academy, Vol. 2: Dallas
  • The Umbrella Academy, Vol. 3: Hotel Oblivion
  • The Umbrella Academy, Vol. 1: The Apocalypse Suite
  • Paper Girls: Book One
  • Westering Women
  • Paper Girls: Book Two
  • The German House
See similar books…
25 followers
David G. MarwellDavid G. Marwell, Ph.D. has had a distinguished career in public history. He spent nine years at the US Department of Justice, where, as Chief of Investigative Research, he conducted research in support of the investigation and prosecution of Nazi war criminals in the United States. As a part of this effort, he played major roles in the Klaus Barbie and Josef Mengele investigations ...more