Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Upside of Falling” as Want to Read:
The Upside of Falling
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Upside of Falling

by
4.18  ·  Rating details ·  56 ratings  ·  17 reviews
It’s been years since seventeen-year-old Becca Hart believed in true love. But when her former best friend teases her for not having a boyfriend, Becca impulsively pretends she’s been secretly seeing someone.

Brett Wells has it all. Being captain of the football team and one of the most popular guys in school, he should have no problem finding someone to date, but he’s alwa
...more
Hardcover, 416 pages
Expected publication: February 18th 2020 by HarperTeen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Upside of Falling, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Upside of Falling

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.18  · 
Rating details
 ·  56 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Aimal (Bookshelves & Paperbacks)
Jul 04, 2019 marked it as anticipated-releases
FAKE DATING TO REAL DATING IS ALL I EVER WANT FROM MY CONTEMPORARY ROMANCES
Candace Robinson
My favorite sort of contemporaries are ones that are cute with humor! This was a fun story with a super adorable dose of romance. Of course there were factors that came along that broke the leads apart, and I did get stressed out during those aspects. But I can understand why, especially with them being teens.

Brett was swoony and gentlemanly, while Becca was an awesome girl who loved to read. Just my kind of characters! Also, there was a bakery and talk about desserts, and that alone would have
...more
Ahana M Rao (Heart’s Content)
*Receieved an ARC from publisher via Edelweiss+. Thank you!*
nick
Aug 09, 2019 rated it really liked it

3.5/5

Cute!
Kilikina
Jun 27, 2019 marked it as to-read
This cover is adorable!!
Lizzy
May 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Read this story on the Episode Interactive app and then again on Wattpad, when it was first under the name “Rivals.” So excites to read again with the new updates and new name, as Alex Light is a phenomenal author. Can’t wait to pre-order!
Anna
Jun 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I’m so excited to read this! It was such a great book on Wattpad and Alex has improved so much on her writing since then so I’m sure it’s going to be absolutely phenomenal.
Tina Christopher
Sep 07, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: contemporary, ya
Cute and funny, nice mix of rom com and teen-awkwardness and more serious subject of dealing with divorce. Ending a little too easy, but still delightful read.
Perfect for fans of Jenny Han - fake dating, clean.
John Shannon
Sep 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
The male romantic lead is an empty headed rich jock named fucking Brett and I still enjoyed most of what's going on in here.
Evelyn
Jun 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I've read her story on the Episode Interactive App and then I also read it under the name 'Rivals' at least 3 more times on Wattpad if not more! I absolutely loved it, it was so cute and her writing is phenominal as always! And I can guarantee you that I will love the book even more! ;) I've watched her grow as an author and seeing where she ended up, warms my heart! <3 You did an amazing job, and you should be so proud of yourself. I always adored Alex-Light's writing style and her way of pu ...more
Bella
May 25, 2019 marked it as to-read
I can’t wait for this book to come out!!!! Rivals was so cute !!
Caitlin Reads
Sep 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han! It features one of my favorite tropes - fake dating. The Upside of Falling was the first book I have read by Alex Light and I really enjoyed it. The main character, Becca, was really likable and a bookworm like me. I felt that the character of Brett could have been developed a little bit more but overall he was enjoyable as well. The kind of guy I would have liked in high school. This was a really cute young adult romance. It was well ...more
Louisa
Aug 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Such a fun, cute read! Really enjoyed it and it was just so easy and wonderful to read!
Rida
Sep 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
It is really a very cute book.
Bookevin
Sep 15, 2019 marked it as to-read
FAKE DATING. My favourite trope. GIMME!
Ramla
rated it it was amazing
Aug 02, 2019
Rachel Reeves
rated it really liked it
Aug 21, 2019
Mariana
rated it it was amazing
Sep 09, 2019
Krista Bocci
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2019
Shae
rated it really liked it
Sep 16, 2019
Ghada Abukhater
rated it it was ok
Jun 24, 2019
Your Boss
rated it it was amazing
Aug 20, 2019
Rocio
rated it it was amazing
Jun 03, 2019
Sommer N. K.
rated it really liked it
Jun 18, 2019
Gianna
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2019
Clare Donovan
rated it really liked it
Sep 15, 2019
Eliana Sokol
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2019
Alexis Sky
rated it liked it
Aug 10, 2019
Kristen
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
29 followers
Alex Light is a writer on Episode Interactive and Wattpad. She has written dozens of love stories, accumulating over 100-million reads online. With a BA in English Literature, she has the perfect excuse to read too many books when she isn’t busy writing her own. She lives in Toronto, Canada, with her dog, two cats, and a never-ending love for winter. THE UPSIDE OF FALLING is her first published no ...more