Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Upside of Falling” as Want to Read:
The Upside of Falling
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Upside of Falling

by
4.14  ·  Rating details ·  72 ratings  ·  21 reviews
It’s been years since seventeen-year-old Becca Hart believed in true love. But when her former best friend teases her for not having a boyfriend, Becca impulsively pretends she’s been secretly seeing someone.

Brett Wells has it all. Being captain of the football team and one of the most popular guys in school, he should have no problem finding someone to date, b
...more
Hardcover, 416 pages
Expected publication: February 18th 2020 by HarperTeen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Upside of Falling, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Upside of Falling

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  72 ratings  ·  21 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Aimal (Bookshelves & Paperbacks)
Jul 04, 2019 marked it as anticipated-releases
FAKE DATING TO REAL DATING IS ALL I EVER WANT FROM MY CONTEMPORARY ROMANCES
Candace Robinson
My favorite sort of contemporaries are ones that are cute with humor! This was a fun story with a super adorable dose of romance. Of course there were factors that came along that broke the leads apart, and I did get stressed out during those aspects. But I can understand why, especially with them being teens.

Brett was swoony and gentlemanly, while Becca was an awesome girl who loved to read. Just my kind of characters! Also, there was a bakery and talk about desserts, and that alone
...more
Ahana M Rao (Heart’s Content)
*Receieved an ARC from publisher via Edelweiss+. Thank you!*
nick
Aug 09, 2019 rated it really liked it

3.5/5

Cute!
Kilikina
Jun 27, 2019 marked it as to-read
This cover is adorable!!
Lizzy
May 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Read this story on the Episode Interactive app and then again on Wattpad, when it was first under the name “Rivals.” So excites to read again with the new updates and new name, as Alex Light is a phenomenal author. Can’t wait to pre-order!
Anna
Jun 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I’m so excited to read this! It was such a great book on Wattpad and Alex has improved so much on her writing since then so I’m sure it’s going to be absolutely phenomenal.
Cassie
Aug 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: new-release-2020
I mean, there’s a reason all books end right after the couple gets together. No one wants to keep reading long enough to see the happily ever after turn into an unhappily ever after. Right?

Thank you so much to Edelweiss, Harper TEEN and Alex Light for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.

The Upside of Falling is an adorable book that plays with the fake relationship trope, which is easily one of my favorite tropes. So when I saw that there was a new book coming out with this front and center, I
...more
Emily
Sep 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book is just so pure! I had a blast reading it, even if I felt attacked by the main character for being a lonely romance-novel lover. Both characters were a great study in how to deal with a parent’s divorce/affair and how those things affect their children and their relationships. Adorable, funny, and heartfelt, “The Upside of Falling” is a great read for anyone who wants to escape their life for a little bit.

I read it in one sitting and kept annoying my friends around me about
...more
Caitlin Reads
Sep 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han! It features one of my favorite tropes - fake dating. The Upside of Falling was the first book I have read by Alex Light and I really enjoyed it. The main character, Becca, was really likable and a bookworm like me. I felt that the character of Brett could have been developed a little bit more but overall he was enjoyable as well. The kind of guy I would have liked in high school. This was a really cute young adult romance. It was well ...more
Louisa
Aug 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Such a fun, cute read! Really enjoyed it and it was just so easy and wonderful to read!
Evelyn
Jun 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I've read her story on the Episode Interactive App and then I also read it under the name 'Rivals' at least 3 more times on Wattpad if not more! I absolutely loved it, it was so cute and her writing is phenominal as always! And I can guarantee you that I will love the book even more! ;) I've watched her grow as an author and seeing where she ended up, warms my heart! <3 You did an amazing job, and you should be so proud of yourself. I always adored Alex-Light's writing style and her way of pu ...more
Tina Christopher
Sep 07, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: contemporary, ya
Cute and funny, nice mix of rom com and teen-awkwardness and more serious subject of dealing with divorce. Ending a little too easy, but still delightful read.
Perfect for fans of Jenny Han - fake dating, clean.
Lindsay Zewronek
Oct 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
This was really cute!
John Shannon
Sep 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
The male romantic lead is an empty headed rich jock named fucking Brett and I still enjoyed most of what's going on in here.
Bookevin
Sep 15, 2019 marked it as to-read
FAKE DATING. My favourite trope. GIMME!
Andi (Andi's ABCs)
There was something equal parts enjoyable and equal parts off about this one. I can't put my finger on what I didn't love. It might have been the tone. Not really sure. All in all it was a very quick read though. Possible full review to come.
Rida
Sep 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
It is really a very cute book.
Bella
May 25, 2019 marked it as to-read
I can’t wait for this book to come out!!!! Rivals was so cute !!
Shirley Freeman
After her parent's divorce and her best friend's betrayal, Becca has chosen to go it alone. She always has her books for friendship and comfort. Brett is a handsome, popular, football star who appears to have it all together. On impulse, Brett pretends to be Becca's boyfriend when she is being teased. Becca and Brett set up a fake-dating arrangement to take family and peer pressure off both them. But of course they become good friends with more in common than they realized. A light-hearted and s ...more
Jamie
Sep 22, 2019 rated it liked it
Was fine. Sweet. Everything you expect to happen, happens just as you expect it to. Which is not to say that it’s unenjoyable. It’s just ultimately unremarkable sweet and fine.
Ramla
rated it it was amazing
Aug 02, 2019
Rachel Reeves
rated it really liked it
Aug 21, 2019
Mariana
rated it it was amazing
Sep 09, 2019
Krista Bocci
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2019
Shae
rated it really liked it
Sep 16, 2019
Ghada Abukhater
rated it it was ok
Jun 24, 2019
Your Boss
rated it it was amazing
Aug 20, 2019
Rocio
rated it it was amazing
Jun 03, 2019
Sommer N. K.
rated it really liked it
Jun 18, 2019
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
28 followers
Alex Light lives in Toronto, Canada, with her dog, two cats, and an endless love for winter. With a BA in English Literature, she has the perfect excuse to read too many books when she isn’t busy writing her own. She's been writing for three years, her journey beginning in the online communities of Wattpad and Episode Interactive. THE UPSIDE OF FALLING is her first published novel, hitting booksto ...more