Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Collaborator” as Want to Read:
The Collaborator
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Collaborator

4.50  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  10 reviews
Is he a hero or a traitor? Based on astonishing true events set in the darkest days of World War II in Budapest, this is an enthralling story of heroism, vengeance, passion, and betrayal. It is also the story of three women linked by a secret that threatens to destroy their lives. For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, All That I Am and Schindler's Ark (List).

An act of
...more
Paperback, 496 pages
Published August 19th 2019 by Harlequin Enterprises (Australia) Pty Ltd
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Collaborator, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Collaborator

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-40
4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Kylie D
An enjoyable read, The Collaborator is the story of one woman's journey to search out the truth of her family history. Annika travels to Budapest after seeing a photo of her grandmother in the Jewish museum in Sydney. Her grandmother denies it is her and immediately shuts the subject down, so Annika is on a mission to ferret out the truth. What she finds is much more than she bargained for! Her search takes her further afield to Tel Aviv, where she uncovers a transcript that reveals the shocking ...more
Carolyn
I always enjoy historical novels based on real people and events. In 1944 a Jewish businessman, Rudolf Kastner, was able to rescue a trainload of over 1600 Hungarian Jews from being sent to German gas chambers through negotiating with Adolf Eichmann to set them free in exchange for the possibility of tanks to fight the Russians (as well as money and jewelry). The Budapest Aid and Rescue Committee selected Jews from all areas of society to send to Switzerland with Kastner able to include members ...more
Brenda
Sydney, Australia in 2005 and Annika Barnett had quit her high-profile job as dissatisfaction threaded through her. Her life so far had been unfulfilling – when she heard about a Jewish man named Miklos Nagy from Budapest during the war, and saw her grandmother’s violent reaction to his name, Annika was determined to find answers. After all this man had saved her grandmother’s life back in 1944.

Annika headed first to Budapest, then on to Israel and her search for answers left her with many more
...more
Deb
Aug 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Just brilliant
Unseen Library
Aug 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I received a copy of The Collaborator from Harper Collins Australia to review.

Rating of 4.5.

I did a short review of this book in the Canberra Weekly:
https://unseenlibrary.com/2019/08/15/...

For other exciting reviews and content, check out my blog at:
https://unseenlibrary.com/
Scott Whitmont
Jul 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
In 1944 Nazi-occupied Budapest, Miklos Nagy puts his life on the line, negotiating with none other than the terrifying Adolph Eichmann himself to rescue thousands of Hungarian Jews from extermination camp deportation and almost certain death.
In 2005, Sydney journalist Annika Barnett desperately wants to unravel the mystery of who rescued her grandmother, Marika, during the Holocaust. Marika will not speak of the past but Annika sets out for Budapest and then Tel Aviv, determined to learn the tru
...more
Margaret Galbraith
Diane Armstrong, the author, is a child Holocaust survivor who arrived in Australia from Poland in 1948. She has written “Mosaic” and “Nocturne” and “Voyage of their life” all which have had great reviews but I have only read Mosaic a while ago. This was a proof read given to me at my local bookstore book club.
I am not sure how much of her life is actually in this book but she has based it on the real Rezso Kasztner who helped over 1500 Hungarian Jews escape going to the deaths camps. “Kasztner
...more
Jennifer (JC-S)
‘We all want truth, yes? But can you cut water with a knife?’

Budapest, 1944. In this novel, based on a true story, Ms Armstrong explores the moral complexities and human costs associated with the rescue of thousands of Budapest Jews from concentration camps. In this novel, the rescue was undertaken by Miklós Nagy, a Jewish businessman. For many he was a hero, but others saw him as a traitor. Why?

After Germany invaded Hungary in 1944, Miklós Nagy confronted Adolf Eichmann to negotiate for the liv
...more
Gloria Arthur
Aug 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
The Collaborator by Diane Armstrong

It’s Sydney Australia in 2005, where we're introduced to single and unlucky in love, forty year old Annika Barnett. On visiting the Sydney Jewish museum she notices a historical photo taken in Switzerland in 1944 of a group of Hungarian Jews just arrived by train, they were rescued by Miklos Nagy. In the photo she recognises her grandmother.

After resigning from her job as a journalist and being out of work Annika decides with her free time to travel to where he
...more
Tanya Hunter-Robinson
The word I uttered aloud when the final page was done, was ‘wow!’ I absolutely loved this book. The flipping back and forth between 1944 and its following years to the present day with Annika investigating her past, had me gripped from the beginning. I don’t know whether it’s just me, but I have found most historical fiction I’ve come across about WWII and the holocaust has centred around Germany or Poland. But this book highlights the plight of the last remaining Jewish settlement in Europe at ...more
Amber
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2019
Jill
added it
Apr 20, 2019
Lesley W10
marked it as to-read
May 12, 2019
Lucy Meeker
marked it as to-read
May 15, 2019
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2019
Helen
is currently reading it
May 17, 2019
Stacey
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Honeypleez
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Diane
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Jean Blankenship
marked it as to-read
May 21, 2019
Karren  Sandercock
marked it as to-read
May 22, 2019
Courtney Perry
marked it as to-read
May 22, 2019
Stephanie Lynn
marked it as to-read
May 22, 2019
Lori
marked it as to-read
May 23, 2019
Veronica
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2019
Alisha
added it
May 24, 2019
Sherri
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2019
Sally906
is currently reading it
Jun 01, 2019
Yvonne
marked it as to-read
Jun 01, 2019
Joanne
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2019
Louise Fisher
marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2019
Jackie Robinson
marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2019
Tracey
marked it as to-read
Jun 16, 2019
Serena Ford
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2019
Angela
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Carol Perreault
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Marissa Di
marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2019
Lizzie
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
39 followers
Diane was born in Poland and arrived in Australia in 1948.

At the age of seven she decided to become a writer. Her first article, about teaching at a Blackboard Jungle school in London, was published in The Australian Women's Weekly in 1965. Diane subsequently became a freelance journalist, and over three thousand of her investigative articles, personal experience stories, profiles and travel stori
...more