Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Gheidh” as Want to Read:
Gheidh
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Gheidh

by
4.03  ·  Rating details ·  36 ratings  ·  19 reviews
"What if you meet the guy of your dreams, but the world is ending? Because love requires time and we've just run out of it."

Riveting and remarkably original, this steamy, paranormal romance is a thrilling, sexy ride with all the trimmings; witches, kings & queens, and plenty of shape-shifters.

It begins with another sunny day in California when college student, Tate Akerbe
...more
Kindle Edition, First
Published by Sea Otter Publishing, LLC (first published September 15th 2018)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Gheidh, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Gheidh

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.03  · 
Rating details
 ·  36 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Gheidh
John-Torleif  Harris
First and foremost, this is the first book with Irish mythology that I’ve ever read where the Fomoire are set in a relatively positive light. In this book, I found it interesting how the Fomoire were still very much the aggressors and invaders of our world, and yet there was a clearly evil faction under Morfran, while the rest of their people were more resonable.

I found this story to be.very fast paced and often exciting. I loved the characters that Tate meets and works with. Unfortunately, that
...more
Bryee
Dec 05, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaway, 2018-reads
 photo nnn139.gif

How I felt during this book. Not saying it was bad... just.... interesting?
I don't understand the hatred tate had toward faolan in the beginning. He barely knew the guy, and he hated him so much.
I feel at times things were very over dramatic. When tate broke the window.. I don't feel that was necessary O.O.. I don't know.
I didn't feel sad when the author killed off characters. I was surprised.. but not upset.
At 15% someone dies.. I was like whaaaaat, no way.

Tate uses the word God Damn a
...more
Marishka Grayson
Oct 05, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
"My Fianna is my family". After reading the Sibling Archetype book, I felt it was relevant to re-evaluate this book. This was an interesting story to write. I wrote it to support a friend who was heartbroken and this was supposed to cheer him up. It's about deep love and the connections you make to others around—and to follow your heart, even if it takes you into a realm you wouldn't voluntarily opt for. Note the absence of vertical relationships to Father and Mother, allows the horizontal ones ...more
blub
This was a very interesting read set in modern times and involving an ongoing fight around the Tuatha Dé Danann (race of people), Fomoire (considered supernatural people) and evil entity Morfran and his army, the Cliency. The Fomoire have secretly sneaked into human society and have managed to blend in. Our protagonist is Tate a college student. We meet him in a history class when his enemy to lover Faolan enters. Tate silently gripes about Faolan being cool and a jerk for joining his fraternity ...more
Gea
Nov 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved the whole setting of different realms, the mysteries, which were unraveled bit by bit!
The Shakespeare references and the comparison of the tragic stories. And of course the gay interactions, they were scorching!
While at first the repulsion and attraction are battling with each other, further on it gets truly interesting!
At some point I got frustrated the same as the main character because of the others being non-human and it wasn’t clear what species they were exactly. But patience is re
...more
Dorothy
Sep 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What can I say, Marishka Grayson has done it again! Honestly, one of the most talented, creative and captivating authors out there! Her incredible writing style, captivates you, sucks you in, keeps you glued, you simply cannot look away! Your eyes read as fast as they can just to see what the next sentence brings! Marishka brings such a fresh style to writing, one that I’ve only found in a few authors. Her dark, action packed, sometimes twisted storylines are passionate and deep and full of ever ...more
Joyffree
Dec 03, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arc-tbr
Where to start -
World Building -
The legends of the Fae and the Irish Mythology that this story carried had me greedy for more. Enjoyed the realm hopping and the colorful backdrops that provided the landscape for the story
Characters -
We have Tate, some mortals and some Baobhs mixed with some very sexy and at times confused Fomoire battling some very dark antagonists. The relationship between Tate and Faolan was a whirlwind of want and need. I was also drawn in by the supporting cast who all carr
...more
Marsha
Mar 09, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was an interesting tale. It is a fantasy (including witches and shapeshifters) surrounding Irish folklore, so many terms names used are not in your everyday vocabulary.. good thing there is a list of definitions included. :) While the sex scenes were pretty hot, many felt odd for some reason within the story. Almost like it was a scene you might expect in a modern romance, but placed in this fantasy world. Much of the book is the fight between one 'gang' trying to restore peace and the real ...more
Shivani McFarland
I love this book and was frustrated at the same time. Just like the main character Tate I didn't know what was happening until halfway through the book. I love the way the writer had me flipping through the pages eating up the scenes trying to figure out what was up just like Tate. But I was miffed at Tate because he was always pissed trying to get answers and never slowed down enough to try and communicate with Faolan.....but if he did that would have been a completely different story now would ...more
No Dammit
Mar 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Format: Kindle Edition
So I didn't read the description of the book. I just jumped right in after it was sent to me. Due to this, the beginning was a little confusing. I had no idea it was from the point of view of a man. Surprise! The world made sense again.

The beginning of the story is a little on the weak side compared to the rest of the book. Yet, even the beginning is better written than a lot books I have reviewed recently. Get through the first couple chapters and I promise, it's mind blow
...more
Pamela Cunningham
Aug 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is the first book in the Fae-Tails

This was a great start to a new supernatural series with a unique and modern twist I have to say that I didn't know what too think of this book when I started reading it but I just say that I'm more than pleasantly surprised . The main characters are relatable and likable the main couple where totally meant for each other their love for each other was amazing I hope that we see more of this couple I want to know what happened too them . Or for that fact wh
...more
April Collins
Sep 18, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Give this book a try

I got this book on a whim to try something new. It took me a few minutes to catch on to where this story was leading and once it clicked I could not stop.
It's a M on M book so if that's not your thing dont snag this. But if it is this one is up your alley. The ending had a few tears coming from me but the overall of it was not bad. New writer for me also so I'll be checking out more from them.
Carol (bookish_notes)
The story is intriguing but the writing needs a lot of work. Tate, the MC, would say one thing and then do the complete opposite in a later scene with no explanation. The scenes don’t flow either. Nothing about the story makes sense so far, and usually that’s okay, BUT the book feels like it needs to go through several more rounds of edits.

DNF @ 10%.
Stephanie
Nov 20, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: adult, arc-copy
What a great book! Excitement.. check... Dark characters... check... A great storyline... CHECK!!
I loved reading about the Fomoire, the Tuatha De Danann, and the Baobhs. This story was crazy-amazing from page one until the last page. This is my first book by Marishka Grayson but I promise it won't be my last.

I was gifted an ARC in return of an honest review.
Galina Sulaiman
Gheidh

It took me awhile to get into this totally different book. About the fifth chapter it finally got my attention. I give this a 3+ stars. This is a pretty dark book. The characters are believable and they do hook you. Not my normal book, but did like it.
Daniella
Mar 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arc
This is a voluntary review of an advance reader copy.

Amazing romance scifi and adventure for Tate and the male lead, and it's everything to strap in for it. The writing is solid and characters well done.
Holly Mavigliano
Eh

Probably would have been a good book, but I don't care for books from the male point of view. Thanks anyway.
Lee
Oct 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great read

Very good book. I couldnt stop reading it.
I highly reccomend this author. Read all of her books.
Great author.
Andi
I wasn't sure what to expect with a M/M fairy tale for adults, but I was hooked with the quote "What if you meet the guy of your dreams, but the world is ending? Because love requires time and we've just run out of it.".

Grayson created a unique take on some very old tales. Gheidh is original and imaginative. Grayson managed to weave a little bit of everything in this tale. Witches, kings, queens, magic, ancient evil and an impossible quest to save the world.

Tate is just trying to find himself. H
...more
Kirsten
rated it really liked it
Dec 11, 2019
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it really liked it
Mar 17, 2019
Diana
rated it liked it
Oct 04, 2019
CJM
rated it really liked it
Apr 10, 2019
Jennifer Hunt
rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2019
Marsha
rated it it was amazing
Feb 23, 2019
Andrew Wilson
rated it it was amazing
Nov 04, 2018
Lori
rated it liked it
Jan 18, 2019
Jol Padgett
rated it it was ok
Sep 19, 2018
Beth Tilley
rated it really liked it
Jul 21, 2019
Marieoakleaf
rated it really liked it
Jun 16, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Enchanter's Flame (The Ellwood Chronicles #1)
  • Spectred Isle (Green Men, #1)
  • Spellbound (Magic in Manhattan, #1)
  • Fourth Point of Contact (Legends of Lobe den Herren #1)
  • Saving Connor (Sacrifices Arc, #1)
  • The Shattered Gates (Rifter #1)
  • Sebastian (Family of Lies, #1)
  • Lord Mouse (Lords of Davenia, #1)
  • Kei's Gift (Darshian Tales, #1)
  • The Adorned
  • After Midnight
  • The Beauty's Brother
  • The White Lake School for Wizards
  • All Souls Near & Nigh (Soulbound, #2)
  • The Gilded Scarab (Lancaster's Luck,  #1)
  • Cut & Run (Cut & Run, #1)
  • Dark Space (Dark Space, #1)
  • The Lion and the Crow
See similar books…
35 followers
I write books that I've always wanted to read. They're complex, filled with symbolism and bizarre characters, but in the end, they're entertaining, and very brazenly so...

My stories are dark, steamy fantasy infused with elements of fairy tales, historical fiction, science fiction and classical gothic literature. It’s unusual, but I think once you get a taste for it, you’ll enjoy the wildness of e
...more

Related Articles

As serious bookworms know, autumn reading is particularly rewarding. The days get shorter, the air gets cooler, and curling up with a...
429 likes · 192 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »