Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Farewell My Life: Buona Notte Vita Mia” as Want to Read:
Farewell My Life: Buona Notte Vita Mia
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Farewell My Life: Buona Notte Vita Mia

by
4.40  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  15 reviews
"Angelina led a life which required her to fib."

When Angelina, the black sheep of the Pagano family, meets the mysterious Mr. Russell, she has no idea that she has seen him before...in another country. And so begins "Farewell My Life," a novel in three parts, which spins an operatic tale of dangerous love and loss.

"The Lost Mother," the first part of this novel, slices
...more
Paperback, 588 pages
Published April 7th 2019 by Independently Published
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Farewell My Life, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Farewell My Life

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
Average rating 4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Farewell My Life: Buona Notte Vita Mia
Chelsie
Sep 27, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: on-my-shelves
Interesting read about a family, through two generations of women and how sometimes history can, and does repeat itself. Angelina was considered a black sheep in her family, and her father shipped her off to live with her Aunt P. It does not take her too long to be with child, however that unburdens her aunt from the responsibility. All too quickly, she is back under her aunts roof, but with two girls as well. After a well-to-do man, Nico Russell unexpectedly comes in her life, things change for ...more
Amy
Sep 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
After reading Cynthia Sally Haggard’s Thwarted Queen Saga, I was looking forward to her newest release, Farewell My Life. I was not disappointed. She has a special talent of transporting her readers back in time, feel as though they are part of the story, and living in that moment in history.

Farewell My Live gets a very well deserved five plus stars from me. I highly recommend it and plan on reading it again in the near future. It is definitely a keeper.

I received this book from the publisher.
...more
Billy Buttons
Jun 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
THE WISHING SHELF BOOK AWARDS
23rd June, 2019

TITLE: Farewell My Life
AUTHOR: Cynthia Sally Haggard
Star Rating: 4.5

‘A gripping historical saga written with energy and literary flare. Highly recommended.’ Wishing Shelf

REVIEW
Set in three parts, this superbly written historical novel is (mostly) set in Berlin between the wars and, subsequently, the setting is very much overshadowed by the rise of the Nazis. Written in a very literary way, the writing style reflects the time of the story. It is very
...more
Naomi Wilson
Nov 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Audra (Unabridged Chick)
The war had been over for less than four years, and Berlin was full of amputees begging on the streets, of gaunt young men startling at the slightest thing.

This is a splashy, dramatic historical novel that reads like a mix of penny dreadfuls, 1980s Joan Collins romances, and any number of thrillers. Mixing a tumultuous, intriguing setting -- Europe in 1921 and 1922, then a jump to 1938 -- with a dysfunctional family saga, this book is like a froofy cocktail in a bubble bath: a little excessive
...more
Patty
Nov 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
Farewell My Life is really three books in one; the first The Lost Mother, then An Unsuitable Suitor and finally the last book, Farewell My Life. They tell the story of an Italian family living in Washington – a mother – Angelina, her two daughters – Grace and Violet, and their aunt – Paulina.

In the first section the story begins with the girls’ mother Angelina and her unconventional manner of earning her living in the nation’s capitol. It was not a time when women generally worked and so she
...more
gwendalyn _books_
Sep 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Farewell My Life is a coming of age period drama, the book is set in between World War I and World War II. Written in third person narration the author has creatively set the novel into three distinctive parts. The opening of the book is set in Georgetown, Washington DC Angelina, a single mother to Violent and Grace is the black sheep of the Pagano family. She does not follow the norm. Her morals are questionable to say the least. A chance meeting she finds introducing handsome Nicholas Russell ...more
Happy Booker
Nov 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Farewell, my life, is a historical fiction written in three parts. The story was primarily set around the time when the Nazis rose, and so it has many war scenes.


The literature matched the time set of the story. The author kept the descriptive nature of the history and matched it well with the characters and growth of the storyline.



Angelina, for instance, was a widow born into an Italian- American family. She had two daughters and discovers that a man is interested in courting her daughter,
...more
Becky Baldridge
Nov 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
Farewell My Life was a bit outside the norm for me. I rarely read historical fiction, but this one caught my attention. Besides, it's always good to step outside our box every once in a while. Sometimes it works out, and sometimes not, and this one is firmly in the former category. The story is wonderfully written, and Cynthia Haggard certainly tells a compelling story. More than a mere story, this is a family saga, and the characters are so well-drawn that I felt like I knew them. I definitely ...more
Mavis Francis
Nov 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Farewell my life by Cynthia Sally Haggard was exceptionally written. It is a heart racing historical thriller that transports the reader into the lives of the characters. Though set in a period way before my time Cynthia’s impeccable writing skills ensured that I was able to relate the “family drama” and the predicaments that the characters often found themselves in. I felt like I was watching the lives of the characters and the plot unfold as opposed to reading it. This novel would make a great ...more
Misty
Nov 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Farewell My Life: Buona Notte Vita Mia by Cynthia Sally Haggard was interesting in how it was actually three books. I really liked how it took place over years. I really liked how the historical setting was kept as true to the time a possible and the characters fit into the time period perfectly as well.
Helen Hollick
Nov 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book has received a Discovering Diamonds Review:
Helen Hollick
founder #DDRevs

"Ms Haggard's writing is exquisite. Her characters are vibrant with life and colour"
Lisa Lemelin
Sep 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I received a complimentary copy from pumpupyourbook.com to read and review .

Highly recommend to readers who like books with 500+ pages
Pavani
May 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved the elaborate descriptions of all the places in this book. This is the kind of book that shows instead of just telling.

I also loved the historical setting and how the everyday situations were described. The novel is set in Berlin, in the middle of the two wars, so the Nazis are obviously an important factor in the story.

The characters are very well-developed and interesting to read about. Angelina is a fascinating character, as is Grace. Along the duration of the book, Grace learns a lot
...more
Kat
Sep 11, 2019 rated it liked it
IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK YET, DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW! I have to admit that when I received Farewell My Life I was a little worried. This is one big book! But as I started I realized that this would be a quick read because the author, Cynthia Sally Haggard, does a great job of bringing the characters to life. The story is based around the main character, Grace. When we first meet her she is 17 and to save she is niave would be an understatement. In fact at times I found myself getting ...more
Cynthia Haggard
Nov 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Cynthia Haggard
Nov 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Amy Bruno
rated it really liked it
Oct 04, 2019
Andi Guinn
rated it it was amazing
Dec 02, 2019
Sydney Stockton
rated it it was amazing
Dec 03, 2019
Caleigh
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2019
Melanie
marked it as to-read
Sep 09, 2019
Kathleen Kelly
marked it as to-read
Sep 09, 2019
Nancy
marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2019
Kathleen Bianchi
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Maritina Mela
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Dana Duplantis
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Darlene Owen
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2019
Alicia Haney
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2019
Peyton
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2019
Cassandra Darensbourg
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2019
Mike Bratek
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2019
Sunnymay
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Sam
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Gabby
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Brenda Maki
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Susan Campton
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Bettye Short
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Deborah Gerhart
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Amanda Sheridan
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Kim Friant
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Emily
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Kim Ellis
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Marnie Ward
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
Pamela Verardi Knutson
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Madam in Silk
  • The Emperor's Assassin
  • Katherine: Tudor Duchess (Brandon Trilogy, #3)
  • The First Lady and the Rebel
  • The Batter's Box: A Novel of Baseball, War, and Love
  • This Son of York
  • A Phoenix Rising (The House of the Red Duke, #1)
  • The Queen of Warriors  (Alexandra of Sparta Book 1)
  • Federal Pianist: The Rueful Tales... of the only one
  • Bittersweet Tapestry: A Novel of Eighteenth Century Europe (The Derrynane Saga, Book Three)
  • The Art of Escapism Cooking: A Survival Story, with Intensely Good Flavors
  • With Kisses From Cécile
  • The Spirit of Grace (The Sarah Bennett Mysteries, #1)
  • A Convenient Fiction (Parish Orphans of Devon, #3)
  • The Thankful Unicorn
  • Dragon Lady
  • Royal Beauty Bright
  • No Stone Unturned (The Lucy Lawrence Mysteries, #1)
See similar books…
Cynthia Sally Haggard was born and reared in Surrey, England. About 30 years ago she surfaced in the United States, inhabiting the Mid-Atlantic region as she wound her way through four careers: violinist, cognitive scientist, medical writer, and novelist.

Cynthia graduated with an MFA in Creative Writing from Lesley University, Cambridge MA, in June 2015.

Her first novel, Thwarted Queen, a
...more