Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hard Wired” as Want to Read:
Hard Wired
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hard Wired

by
4.18  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  9 reviews
From Morris finalist Len Vlahos comes a contemporary sci-fi story about a boy who might not be humanfor fans of Westworld and Black Mirror.

Quinn thinks hes a normal boy with an average life. That is, until he finds a trail of clues the father he barely knew left behind.
After Quinn unravels his fathers puzzles, he wakes up ... and realizes his world was nothing more than a
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: July 7th 2020 by Bloomsbury YA (first published April 28th 2020)
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Hard Wired by Len Vlahos
    Hard Wired
    by
    Release date: Apr 28, 2020
    Enter to win 1 of 5 galleys of HARD WIRED by award-winning author Len Vlahos!

    "A wildly inventive page-turner of a novel." - Jessica Brody,
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1440 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Mar 23 - Apr 22, 2020

    Countries available: U.S. and Canada

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Hard Wired, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Hard Wired

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-47
    Average rating 4.18  · 
    Rating details
     ·  17 ratings  ·  9 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Hard Wired
    Nenia ⚡ Aspiring Evil Overlord ⚡ Campbell

    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || Pinterest


    HARD WIRED is a surprisingly deep and philosophical book that meditates on what it means to be truly alive. Honestly, this is the kind of book where it's best to go in cold, but I'm going to discuss it with the mild spoilers that are mentioned on the Goodreads blurb and the back cover of this paperback copy, so if you're one of those people who thinks less is more, maybe skip my review.



    Quinn thinks he is a normal teenage boy. He likes
    ...more
    Jenn
    Jan 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Shelves: arc
    Quinn is a relatively normal, if rather geeky, fifteen year old boy. He plays Magic The Gathering and numerous video games with his three best friends. And he has a massive crush on She's, the most beautiful girl in his school. But he has a medical condition where he faints and remains unconscious for a few minutes. But he's staying out after these episodes longer and longer. But after his last episode, when he wakes up, he sees his father sitting in his room. The only problem is that his father ...more
    Pop Bop
    Feb 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Shelves: reviewed
    An Intelligent and Compelling Meditation on AI, From the Inside Out


    This is easily, absolutely, the best Artificial Intelligence book I've read in the past few years, in any genre and for any age demo. We start with teen Quinn who has the usual teen angst issues - friends, school, girls - and the usual teen experiences. MILD OBVIOUS SPOILER. In short order, though, we find out that Quinn is an artificial intelligence who has been cocooned in a virtual reality construct during the course of his
    ...more
    Kenzie The Dragon Queen
    Feb 13, 2020 marked it as to-read
    Westworld meets Black Mirror you say? Sign me up!
    Joanna Bennett
    Feb 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Although not a lot happened I still found myself invested with the MC!

    Review to Come.
    Teri
    Mar 18, 2020 rated it really liked it
    I've read several books and watched many movies about artificial intelligence, so there's no way I could pass this up on NetGalley.

    During the first few chapters, Quinn charmed me.  He's a geeky guy desperately crushing on a pretty girl in his class and spends most of his free time playing a game probably similar to D&D.  It initially read more like a middle grade book to me - but not for long.  Once Quinn discovers what he is, all sorts of thought-provoking questions come into play.  Does he
    ...more
    Amanda Greco
    Mar 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for this ARC!

    Holy hells, reboot my mainframe this was a READ.
    I've never in my years of loving science fiction found such a lyrical read. The way that Len Vlahos relays Quinn's story and all the complicated computer science and neurological aspects to the reader is impressive. The lines flowed so smoothly and allowed me to devour this book in just a few hours. I craved coming to life as Quinn did, realizing the faults of his existence the same way humans
    ...more
    Aoife
    Apr 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Shelves: 2020arc, 2020e
    Quinn is just like other boys - until he realises he isn't.

    I very much enjoyed Life in a Fishbowl (and the sneaky shoutout to it in this one) and this one was very enjoyable too. A couple of small time jumps confused me a little and something that was obviously designed as a huge surprise was telegraphed pretty early on. Overall, though, this was a great read and raised some very interesting topics. Also, that ending is basically torture and I very much want to know what happens afterwards!

    Len
    ...more
    Karen Gedeon
    Hard Wired by Len Vlahos a smartly constructed story about a boy who is actually AI. Typical parent/child struggles, romance and feelings of superior intelligence/invincibility. Those in higher level and sci-fi readers in grades 7+ will gravitate toward this choice. ...more
    Lucy
    rated it really liked it
    Mar 09, 2020
    Nannette Demmler
    rated it really liked it
    Apr 04, 2020
    Bruce MacIntosh
    rated it it was amazing
    Mar 07, 2020
    Eleanor Roth
    rated it really liked it
    Feb 18, 2020
    Tony
    rated it it was amazing
    Feb 18, 2020
    Rebel
    rated it really liked it
    Mar 21, 2020
    J
    rated it really liked it
    Mar 01, 2020
    Kiana
    rated it it was amazing
    Apr 05, 2020
    Kelsey McLane
    rated it liked it
    Feb 26, 2020
    Haydn
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 29, 2019
    Tammy
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 02, 2019
    Djezelle
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 03, 2019
    Lizzie
    added it
    Nov 03, 2019
    Mira Mio
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 04, 2019
    Lauren Stoolfire
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 12, 2019
    Patti
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 12, 2019
    Gail Mutrux
    is currently reading it
    Nov 18, 2019
    Alyson Kent
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 19, 2019
    Kelly
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 20, 2019
    Ria the Reader
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 21, 2019
    ♠ TABI ♠
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 22, 2019
    Lisa
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 26, 2019
    Ɛɾιɳ
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 27, 2019
    Sara Wenschhof
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 28, 2019
    Rachel Copeland
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 01, 2019
    Alex
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 03, 2019
    Bree Dumont
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 04, 2019
    Christina
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 04, 2019
    Staci Vought
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 07, 2019
    Jess
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 07, 2019
    Sue
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 10, 2019
    Jamie
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 11, 2019
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • Maya and the Rising Dark
    • Incendiary (Hollow Crown, #1)
    • Heavy: An American Memoir
    • Fractured Tide
    • The Greatest Love Story Ever Told
    • This Will Only Hurt a Little
    • Every Reason We Shouldn't (Every Reason We Shouldn't, #1)
    • Pet
    • The List of Things That Will Not Change
    • We Are Never Meeting In Real Life: Essays
    • Nameless Queen
    • The Gilded Ones (Deathless, #1)
    • The Mere Wife
    • All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
    • Waiting for Eden
    • How We Fight For Our Lives
    • Tell the Machine Goodnight
    • Sabrina & Corina: Stories
    See similar books…
    136 followers
    I dropped out of NYU film school in the mid 80s to play guitar and write songs for Woofing Cookies. We were a punk-pop four piece -- think R.E.M. meets the Ramones -- that toured up and down the East Coast, and had two singles and one full-length LP on Midnight Records.

    The band broke up in 1987 and I followed my other passion, books. I've worked in the book industry ever since. And, of course, I
    ...more

    Related Articles

    Veronica Roth's newest book, Chosen Ones, arrives in U.S. stores on April 7. Known for the Divergent trilogy and the Carve the Mark duology, the ...
    18 likes · 5 comments
    No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »