Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The New David Espinoza” as Want to Read:
The New David Espinoza
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The New David Espinoza

by
3.91  ·  Rating details ·  22 ratings  ·  7 reviews
This own voices story from the acclaimed author of The Closest I’ve Come unflinchingly examines steroid abuse and male body dysmorphia. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Matt De La Peña.

David Espinoza is tired of being messed with. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully’s slap goes viral at the end of junior year, David vows to use the summer to bulk up—
...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published February 11th 2020 by HarperTeen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The New David Espinoza, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Rebecca David has a girlfriend, and the book mentions that they had sex in the past, and David discusses topics related to sex with his friend Alpha. There is…moreDavid has a girlfriend, and the book mentions that they had sex in the past, and David discusses topics related to sex with his friend Alpha. There is a scene where David and Karina (his girlfriend) are making out and David wants to have sex, but it never goes any further than that. None of the kissing and making out in the book is described in detail, only that it is happening. I'd say this is a very chaste book as young adult novels go.(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-53
Average rating 3.91  · 
Rating details
 ·  22 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The New David Espinoza
Lea (drumsofautumn)
FRIENDS! This is a book about steroid abuse and male body dysmorphia!!!!!! Can we please make sure to support and hype the shit out of this????
Amy
Feb 08, 2020 rated it liked it
#gifted Thank you @harperya360 for sending me this ARC for an honest review in return.

The New David Espinoza. I really, really wanted to love this book as it’s about male body dysmorphia and steroid abuse, but unfortunately it fell flat for me *face palm*.
This book covers a really important topic which has been rarely touched and I want people to read it and support it! Just because in the end it wasn’t my favourite book of all time doesn’t mean I want others to be put off by it! Please do pick
...more
Alex Richey
Feb 12, 2020 rated it really liked it
AudioFile Review: Coming Soon!

This was eye opening. Bullying, body dysmorphia, steroid abuse... This was an unflinching look at the pressure faced by teens and young men, and shows how powerful the desire to change can be, to the point of destroying their own bodies.
Ms. Yingling
Dec 16, 2019 rated it liked it
E ARC from Edelweiss Plus

I really, really wanted to like this story about body dysmorphia in a boy, and I am very grateful to the author for dropping the f-bomb early and often so that I knew that it was not a middle grade book right away.

Very intriguing story, and I would buy this for high school, but it was a bit much for middle school.
Justin
Feb 18, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya-adjacent
While not the most subtle book ever written, The New David Espinoza confronts the realities of male body dysmorphia/steroid use and does so in an affecting way. The complex relationship between David and his well-meaning but misguided mentor Alpha is especially moving.
Dani Amaya
Feb 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
Could not put this down! What an emotional read! RTC
Amanda Cresse
Feb 12, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audio
3.5 stars
Amy
rated it it was amazing
Sep 12, 2019
Michelle
rated it really liked it
Dec 21, 2019
Brooke
rated it it was amazing
Jan 25, 2020
Rachelle
rated it really liked it
Jan 16, 2020
Emi
rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2020
Lulu
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2019
Ethan Walker
rated it really liked it
Feb 17, 2020
Ms. Turley
rated it liked it
Feb 19, 2020
Sofie Beck
rated it really liked it
Feb 16, 2020
Adi Alsaid
rated it really liked it
Aug 12, 2019
Nina O'Daniels
rated it liked it
Feb 19, 2020
Nicole Harder
rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2020
Karen
rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2020
John
rated it it was ok
Feb 17, 2020
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2020
Rebecca
rated it liked it
Jan 04, 2020
Savannah
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2019
Daiane
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2019
Trevor
marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2019
Max Baker
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Hallie
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2019
Audry Wallace
marked it as to-read
Jul 16, 2019
Samantha Edwards
marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2019
Levi van Zyl
marked it as to-read
Dec 15, 2019
Courtney Deck
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2019
Anika
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2019
Alivia
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2020
Kirsten
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2020
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2020
Elana Israel
marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2020
CDH
marked it as to-read
May 22, 2019
Ryan Bada
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Margaret
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Mette Jacobsen
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Shenwei
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Paige
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Devera Chandler
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Peg Rosa
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Leesa
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Carol Gabriel valenciano
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Three Things I Know Are True
  • Woven in Moonlight
  • We Are Totally Normal
  • The Gentleman’s Guide to Getting Lucky (Montague Siblings, #1.5)
  • Young Jane Young
  • Why Didn't They Teach Me This in School?: 99 Personal Money Management Principles to Live by
  • Wondrous Rex
  • We Met in December
  • Jane Anonymous
  • Tilly and the Bookwanderers (Pages & Co. #1)
  • The Duke and I (Bridgertons, #1)
  • Mr. Cavendish, I Presume (Two Dukes of Wyndham, #2)
  • The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever (Bevelstoke, #1)
  • The Lost Duke of Wyndham (Two Dukes of Wyndham, #1)
  • The Retreat
  • Let it Snow
  • Patron Saints of Nothing
  • Best Friends (Real Friends, #2)
See similar books…
43 followers
Fred Aceves was born in New York to A Mexican father, and a Dominican mother, which makes him 100% Mexican, 100% Dominican, and 100% American. He spent most of his youth in Southern California and Tampa, Florida, where he lived in a poor, working class neighborhood like the one described in The Closest I’ve Come. At the age of 21 he started traveling around the world, living in Chicago, New York, ...more