Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Layoverland” as Want to Read:
Layoverland
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Layoverland

4.11  ·  Rating details ·  35 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Two teens, one stuck atoning for her sins and one destined for heaven, fall in love in purgatory in this darkly hilarious and heartfelt rom-com, perfect for fans of The Good Place.

Beatrice Fox deserves to go straight to hell. At least, that's what she thinks. On her last day on Earth, she ruined the life of the person she loves most--her little sister, Emmy. So when Bea
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Expected publication: January 21st 2020 by Razorbill
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Layoverland, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Layoverland

Untitled by Sarah J. MaasUntitled by Leigh BardugoOne of Us Is Next by Karen M. McManusThe Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne CollinsUntitled by Susan Dennard
YA Novels of 2020
668 books — 1,265 voters
All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn  GraceWhere Dreams Descend by Janella AngelesAll Your Twisted Secrets by Diana  UrbanThe Lucky Ones by Liz LawsonA Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown
YA Debuts 2020
110 books — 220 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.11  · 
Rating details
 ·  35 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Layoverland
Emily
Aug 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
There's a phrase that several of my writer friends and I use--that sometimes a book is so much better than it needs to be.

This book is so much better than it needs to be.

I laughed, I cried, I contemplated making coffee jello.
Vee ♔Vee_Bookish♔
Oct 24, 2019 marked it as to-read
love the concept, hate the cover.
Cheska the Great is Not Okay
Oct 23, 2019 marked it as to-buy-soon
THIS IS FOR FANS OF THE GOOD PLACE??

*SCREAMS FOR ETERNITY*
Rec-It Rachel
Sep 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
i really liked this
Leticia Vila-Sanjuán
i really liked this. bea is a flawed, witty and clever teenager. caleb is very lovable. a great ya debut to watch out for.
Gina Adams
Nov 11, 2019 rated it liked it
This concept was great and it was fun to read. I have severe death anxiety and this story was able to soothe that some by presenting the afterlife as something just as monotonous and frustrating as real life.

The feelings in this book were realistic. Like, the stages of grief but a person grieving themselves. There was plenty of humor and some deep moments too.

However the ending of this book just left me feeling incomplete. It makes sense for someone to have gone through dying and he
...more
Erin Kelly
Sep 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is the wholesome YA content I have been craving. I felt like I was truly inside of a 17-year old teen mind. Bea is an admirable, yet flawed character who I totally would have looked up to and related with as a teen. She is smart, witty, funny, and outspoken. You watch her grow into a mature young ~ but dead~ adult throughout the story. Gabby Noone has an amazing voice that is FUN, SMART and MODERN. It took me way too long to finish the book because I didn't want it to end!!! Like when your ...more
Edward
Aug 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book is absolutely brilliant. Noone's voice is a totally unique one - she's a laugh-out-loud funny writer, one able to mine humor from both banal and dark places with ease. At the same time, her ability to write dramatic moments is extremely heartfelt and real, yet not saccharine. All this comes together for an incredible book by a first-time author I cannot wait to read for years and years to come. I loved Layoverland.
Michaela L.
Oct 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I won an arc of this book and I thoroughly enjoyed the read! Our MC is relatable and the dynamic between her and the love interest is very interesting and different in a good way. Though the story can make you laugh at times it also handles more complex topics. I highly suggest reading this book when you can!
Claire Salinda
Sep 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
No need for any "...for a YA novel" caveats here -- this was an engrossing and smart debut that transcends genre from a fresh voice. A literal page-turner, I was absolutely captivated by Bea as she navigated her complicated yet relatable challenges both in her previous life and her afterlife. And thank god for the non-cheesy ending -- I cannot wait to read more from Noone!
lola
Nov 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: obtain_buy
I freaked out over the perfect pitch of each detail in this glorious, funny, wry, heart-swelling book. Well worth being put off jello for prob the rest of eternity
Book
Nov 14, 2019 added it
Shelves: 2019
Cool premise, but I wish it had dug a little deeper.
Lotte Dunnell
rated it liked it
Nov 03, 2019
Anita
rated it really liked it
Oct 29, 2019
jane w.
rated it really liked it
Sep 05, 2019
Sandy
rated it really liked it
Oct 30, 2019
Jenna Miller
rated it really liked it
Oct 26, 2019
Robyn Courtney
rated it it was amazing
Aug 24, 2019
Amanda
rated it liked it
Oct 26, 2019
Wendy E
rated it really liked it
Sep 02, 2019
Jordan
rated it liked it
Oct 31, 2019
Nichole
rated it really liked it
Oct 17, 2019
Aria
rated it it was amazing
Nov 09, 2019
Sami
rated it really liked it
Oct 26, 2019
Books4Jessica
rated it really liked it
Nov 17, 2019
Brandy Luther
rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2019
Sofia
rated it liked it
Aug 18, 2019
J.
rated it it was amazing
Nov 03, 2019
Lauren
rated it really liked it
Oct 30, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Seafire (Seafire, #1)
  • Anna K.: A Love Story
  • The Dutch House
  • Bringing Down the Duke (A League of Extraordinary Women, #1)
  • American Royals (American Royals, #1)
  • Sin Eater
  • The Fountains of Silence
  • Wayside School: Beneath the Cloud of Doom (Wayside School, #4)
  • Permanent Record
  • Be Not Far From Me
  • Wayward Son (Simon Snow, #2)
  • Imaginary Friend
  • Ninth House (Alex Stern, #1)
  • Frankly in Love (Frankly in Love, #1)
  • Waiting for Tom Hanks (Waiting for Tom Hanks, #1)
  • The Flatshare
  • Gods of Jade and Shadow
  • Guts
See similar books…
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »