Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Truths I Never Told You” as Want to Read:
Truths I Never Told You
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Truths I Never Told You

by
4.35  ·  Rating details ·  26 ratings  ·  13 reviews
“Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author.” —Sally Hepworth, bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives

From the bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say comes a poignant novel about the fault in memories and the lies that can bond a family together—or tear it apart.


With her father recently moved to a care facility for his worsening
...more
Hardcover, 352 pages
Expected publication: April 14th 2020 by Graydon House
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer
    Truths I Never Told You
    by
    Release date: Apr 14, 2020
    Enter to win 1 of 50 Advanced Reader Copies of Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer!

    With her father recently moved to a care facility for his
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 50 copies available, 2934 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jan 15 - Jan 31, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Truths I Never Told You, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Truths I Never Told You

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-55
    Average rating 4.35  · 
    Rating details
     ·  26 ratings  ·  13 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Truths I Never Told You
    Nenia ⚡ Aspiring Evil Overlord ⚡ Campbell

    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || Pinterest


    I think this might be a better fit for readers who really enjoy "mysteries" written in the vein of Liane Moriarty in the sense that the focus of the story is less on the payoff of the suspense and more on the relationship between characters in the home. TRUTHS I NEVER TOLD YOU is a domestic mystery that revolves around three women: Beth, Maryanne, and Grace.



    Beth's father is suffering from cognitive decline due to complications from illness
    ...more
    Katie B
    Dec 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
    3.5 stars

    This is the type of story that I felt a personal connection to but that might not be the case for every reader. I thought by far the strength of the book was how the author dealt with the topic of depression, specifically postpartum depression. I maybe had other issues with the book but the realistic portrayal of women battling depression made this a worthwhile read for me.

    Beth Walsh dreamt of becoming a mother but now that she has a newborn, she has found she is struggling to adjust.
    ...more
    Sally Hepworth
    Dec 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    ANOTHER SURE FIRE HIT FROM KELLY RIMMER
    Jen
    Jan 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Kelly Rimmer has firmly cemented herself as one of my favorite authors. Her newest was another emotionally gutting tale, beautifully woven and completely relatable. She weaves dual timelines and multiple viewpoints seamlessly. In Truths I Never Told You, she perfectly captured the stigma of mental illness and the progression of the mental health field from the 1960’s until today. While we’ve come a long way, we still have work to do to end the stigma and that is perfectly reflected in this book. ...more
    Jamie beauty_andthebook_
    As I've said time and time again, Kelly Rimmer found her way into my heart when I first read Before I Let You Go and when I read The Things We Cannot Say, she permanently cemented her place on my favorite author list. I have always been in awe of Rimmer's talent to write across a variety of genres and excel in each genre. In Truths I Never Told You, we have a mix of contemporary and the 1960s as our dual timelines and the subject in question is postpartum depression.

    Rimmer creates characters
    ...more
    Vanessa Carnevale
    Bravo! Kelly Rimmer is an author to admire. She has a knack for weaving poignant and compelling stories that don’t shy away from tough topics. Filled with twists and turns that pull on the heartstrings, readers who love stories about family secrets will devour this one.
    Genevieve Trono
    Jan 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    Last year I was introduced to author Kelly Rimmer by one of my book reviewing friends. I devoured The Things We Cannot Say and was blown away by Rimmer' ability to share multi-faceted characters that felt so real and raw while also diving into a heartbreaking part of our not so distant history.

    I loved the dual storylines and how they wove together and kept me guessing until the end. Rimmer captured the power of sharing our stories while also reminding us that many people have a history we might
    ...more
    Nicola Marsh
    A wonderfully poignant story that had me curled up on the couch turning pages rapidly to finish it.

    A dual timeline story told from three POVs: Grace, Beth and MaryAnne, covering relevant and heartbreaking topics that affected women across the years.

    A lovely story of family, support and learning to depend on those we love.

    Recommend!
    Nancy
    Jan 21, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    This is a very well written book that tackles some very difficult issues. One of the issues is far too polarizing, hence, I will not discuss it since it also would be a spoiler.

    The issues at the center of the story are post partum depression, aging parents, and relationships. I found the story to perfectly align with addressing the issues at hand. A very adept writer, as Rimmer clearly is, is able to seamlessly allow the characters to develop and interact with one another while allowing a story
    ...more
    Katie Farnsworth
    Dec 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Wow, I absolutely loved this. Sensitive, emotional, heart-wrenching. I love Kelly Rimmer's writing as she always delves into big themes and explores them with rawness, heart and truth. I still very emotional right now so don't feel I can do this review justice yet...will update soon.
    Debbie
    Jan 21, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    This book deals with some serious subject matter and the author does a good job. There are two storylines dealing with postpartum depression and the effects on the family. Kelly Rimmer tackles this issue with highlighting two different time periods and how times have changed. This is a character driven novel with a family mystery that needs to be discussed for the family to move forward and heal. #TruthsINeverToldYou #KellyRimmer #NetGalley
    Kimberly Mussell
    Thank you @this_is_edelweiss for this amazing piece of art. Such a beautiful story that will definitely pull at your heartstrings.
    Ellen
    Jan 14, 2020 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
    I received this book "Truths I Never Told You" from NetGalley and all opinions expressed are my own. Although I liked some of the authors other books, this one didn't do it for me. I almost DNF this one. It took a long time to get into this book. I felt bored in the beginning but then it picked up a bit. I wanted more of Patrick's story. The book just didn't feel complete.
    Bobolinks
    rated it really liked it
    Jan 14, 2020
    Pamela Osti
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 21, 2020
    Katie
    rated it really liked it
    Nov 21, 2019
    Laurie Vesper
    rated it it was amazing
    Dec 08, 2019
    Kristy
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 17, 2020
    Jenny
    rated it it was amazing
    Nov 06, 2019
    Lynn
    rated it really liked it
    Jan 20, 2020
    Leslie Connor
    rated it really liked it
    Dec 26, 2019
    zod
    rated it really liked it
    Dec 25, 2019
    Emily
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 01, 2020
    Lisa Ireland
    rated it it was amazing
    Aug 25, 2019
    Jackie
    rated it it was ok
    Dec 27, 2019
    Ana Luxton
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 23, 2020
    P
    marked it as to-read
    Apr 19, 2019
    Amanda Green
    marked it as to-read
    Apr 22, 2019
    Jo
    marked it as to-read
    Apr 28, 2019
    Athena
    marked it as to-read
    Apr 30, 2019
    Gail Lovelady
    marked it as to-read
    May 03, 2019
    Susan Peterson
    marked it as to-read
    May 09, 2019
    Courtney Perry
    marked it as to-read
    May 09, 2019
    Brandie
    marked it as to-read
    May 10, 2019
    Rhonda
    marked it as to-read
    May 15, 2019
    Mercedes
    marked it as to-read
    May 15, 2019
    Heather
    marked it as to-read
    May 18, 2019
    Jacky
    marked it as to-read
    May 21, 2019
    Janie
    marked it as to-read
    May 27, 2019
    Caro
    marked it as to-read
    May 28, 2019
    SB
    added it
    May 28, 2019
    Delaney
    marked it as to-read
    May 30, 2019
    Lori Johnson
    marked it as to-read
    May 31, 2019
    Nicole Mortenson
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 01, 2019
    Dorit
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 06, 2019
    Tiffany Foskey
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 06, 2019
    Caroline
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 08, 2019
    Cassie Bennett
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 09, 2019
    Jennifer
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 11, 2019
    Shannon Carraway
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 11, 2019
    Peggy
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 12, 2019
    Miriam Cruz
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 13, 2019
    Jo Geddes
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 14, 2019
    Tina Woodbury
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 15, 2019
    Meredith Bordas
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 15, 2019
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • Happy & You Know It
    • In Five Years
    • You Are Not Alone
    • Such a Fun Age
    • The Vanishing Half
    • The Family Upstairs
    • The Dilemma
    • Please See Us
    • Invisible Boys
    • The Wicked Redhead (The Wicked City #2)
    • Unfollow: A Journey from Hatred to Hope
    • Know My Name: A Memoir
    • The Clergyman's Wife: A Pride and Prejudice Novel
    • Dear Edward
    • The Butterfly Girl (Naomi Cottle, #2)
    • The House of Brides
    • Saint X
    • Big Lies in a Small Town
    See similar books…
    1,386 followers
    Kelly Rimmer is the USA Today bestselling women’s fiction author of five novels, including Me Without You and The Secret Daughter. Her most recent release is Before I Let You Go. She lives in rural Australia with her husband, 2 children and fantastically naughty dogs, Sully and Basil. Her novels have been translated into more than 20 languages.