Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Forest of Souls (Shamanborn, #1)” as Want to Read:
Forest of Souls (Shamanborn, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Forest of Souls

(Shamanborn #1)

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  16 ratings  ·  14 reviews
Danger lurks within the roots of Forest of Souls, an epic, unrelenting tale of destiny and sisterhood, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Susan Dennard.

Sirscha Ashwyn comes from nothing, but she’s intent on becoming something. After years of training to become the queen’s next royal spy, her plans are derailed when shamans attack and kill her best friend Saengo.

And
...more
Hardcover, 400 pages
Expected publication: June 23rd 2020 by Page Street Kids
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-57
Average rating 4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  16 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Forest of Souls (Shamanborn, #1)
Lori
May 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
To request an ARC, please fill out this form: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FA...

The first line of this book: "The earth is black with last night's rain--a perfect morning for shadows."

Thematically, Forest of Souls is about fighting to belong against every effort to push you out. It's about loyalty driven by insecurity and searching for self worth. It's about unconditional female friendship. It's also about a spy-in-training whose chosen path is upended, landing her under the scrutiny of a Spider King.

This isn’t an "Asian fantasy," according to my own definitions
...more
♠️ TABI ♠️
someone yeet me into 2020 so I can land at the feet of this book and its flawless cover

♡ ᴅ ʀ ᴇ ᴀ ᴍ ♡
Oct 09, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2020-release
Why does every book in 2020 seem to have gorgeous cover? This year I think I'm broke already but next year, I bet I'm gonna go bankrupt.🤣
Nia •ShadesOfPaper•
Oct 03, 2019 marked it as tbr-unreleased
Shelves: 2020-releases
I’m a hoe for a beautiful illustrated cover let’s be honest.

Blog | Twitter | Instagram | BlogLovin’
Sarah Henning
Oct 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Enchanting world-building, non-stop action, political intrigue, and dark magic are woven into the silky-yet-fast-paced daydream of a fantasy that is FOREST OF SOULS. Using shadows and light, Lori M. Lee casts the perfect web of unforgettable characters and an intriguing plot—you won’t want to escape.
Stephanie L (catteabooks)
I normally don't prefer people on book covers, but she looks like she could kill me so
Cassie
Oct 16, 2019 marked it as to-read
There are so many buzz words that grabbed my attention

royal spy, restore to life, Spider King, the Dead Wood, forest possessed by souls.

So, basically, sign me the fuck up right now!
axel
May 10, 2019 marked it as to-read
asian fantasy with shamanism??? spider king?? sign me the fuck up
((also the author's short story in a thousand beginnings and endings was fucking amazing))
Megan ❀
Oct 03, 2019 marked it as tbr-unreleased
This cover is EVERYTHING!!!
Andrea Wang
Oct 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy, poc, ya, ya-by-poc
Sirscha Ashwyn is an orphan intent on acquiring prestige and power by becoming the Queen's Shadow, who operates as the Queen's advisor and spy. Sirscha is a soldier in the Queen's Company, which is described as a "military finishing school." She has also already been tapped to train in secret with the current Shadow, raising her hopes that she'll be officially named the Shadow's apprentice any day now. But a routine trip to take criminals to the prison camp goes horribly awry, and her best frien ...more
Aggie
Oct 06, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
HMONG!??!?! FINALLY SOMETHING RELATEABLE!!!!~ Riding the hype train all the way to 2020! B^)

#SupportAsianAuthors
Tânia
Nov 09, 2019 marked it as to-read
There are no words to describe how freaking pretty this cover is. 😍

Blog // Instagram // Twitter // Redbubble


Ashley Holdren  | *Whimsies of a Nerd Girl ~ Fantasy Book Blogger
Is anyone else getting Grishaverse vibes from this? The plot sounds similar minus the different Grisha magic.
Subhajit Das
rated it really liked it
Nov 09, 2019
Liam S
rated it it was amazing
Oct 22, 2019
Laura Gallant
rated it it was amazing
May 28, 2019
Ashley Hearn
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2019
R.C
rated it did not like it
Nov 17, 2019
Ayana
rated it it was amazing
Jun 08, 2019
Heidi Heilig
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2019
Merricat
rated it really liked it
Oct 30, 2019
Mike
rated it it was amazing
Nov 11, 2019
Ani
rated it it was amazing
Oct 18, 2019
Marochka
rated it liked it
Jul 16, 2019
Panda Panda
rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2019
Avanda Lyndsay-miller
rated it it was amazing
May 10, 2019
Daiane
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Horse Cryptid
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Rita
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Janine
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Amanda D.
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Adelynne
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Luce
added it
May 07, 2019
Jackie
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Adriyanna Zimmermann
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Sydney
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
serena
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
sydney
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Jamie
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Becki
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Natalie ⭐
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
BookishLor
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Mackenzie
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Emily
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
BoMo
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Rebecca Blum
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Amanda
added it
May 07, 2019
Laura L
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Caitlin
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Maria2000
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)
  • Stand Up, Yumi Chung!
  • As You Wish
  • The Prince and the Dressmaker
  • Find Me
  • More Happy Than Not
  • Black Wings Beating (Skybound #1)
  • The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (The Hunger Games, #0)
  • The Dragon Warrior
  • Throw Like a Girl
  • Almas mortales (Un amor oscuro y peligroso, #1)
  • Wildcard (Warcross, #2)
  • Going Dutch
  • Reverie
  • Infinity Son Sequel (Infinity Cycle, #2)
  • Untitled (Infinity Cycle, #3)
  • Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
  • The Girl and the Grove
See similar books…
725 followers
Lori is an avid writer, reader, artist, and lover of unicorns. She should probably spend less time on the internet (but she won't). She considers herself a unicorn aficianado, is fond of talking in capslock, and loves to write about magic, manipulation, and family.

Other books in the series

Shamanborn (2 books)
  • Untitled (Shamanborn, #2)