Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Black Child to Black Woman” as Want to Read:
Black Child to Black Woman
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Black Child to Black Woman

by
4.21  ·  Rating details ·  28 ratings  ·  19 reviews
“If you are looking for a true, gritty story about life in its rawest form, then Black Child to Black Woman...will fit the bill.” — Readers Favorite

When twenty-four-year-old Tara Walker goes home for her brother’s funeral, she discovers the secret journal she started when she was eight. As she reads, she is pulled back into her complicated, raw, and often frightening child
...more
Paperback, 2
Published May 2nd 2019 by Bublish (first published July 29th 2010)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Black Child to Black Woman, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Black Child to Black Woman

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.21  · 
Rating details
 ·  28 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Black Child to Black Woman
MeMe
Apr 21, 2022 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
When it comes to the title, one might assume it would be about a black child and their experiences growing up under the influence of their black mother. There is more to it than that, however, since we also get to learn how life was lived from a young black perspective and how we learned many lessons along the way. Try facing constant battles with wrenches thrown into the mix as you grow up to be what you're meant to be. Uncertainty about your ability to experience happiness as your best friend ...more
Emma Minazza
Mar 25, 2022 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Follwing the story of Tara, she describes her life as she grows up, the family torment she endures, the relationships with men, her family and life/work. Somethings happen that shouldn't have at a certain age but that makes her stronger and more aware of things as she gets older and how to control feelings and emotions.

Some bits were hard to read as trauma's evolved but overall, a good page turner.
I felt sorry for Tara but also could see her side of things and connected with her to a point. She
...more
Samantha (bookstasamm)
I was definitely not the right audience for this book. I read it for a book tour, and it just wasn’t for me. I didn’t enjoy the writing, and I could not connect with the main character. I’ve seen so many rave reviews for this book so don’t let mine sway you if you want to read it.
Moná
Feb 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Based on the title alone, one would assume it could be about a black child being raised by their black mother and their experiences growing up. That’s only part of it, but you also learn more about what it was like from the perspective of a young black individual and how life became many lessons learned. If growing up to become what you’re destined to be wasn’t bad enough, try having to fight constant battles of wrenches thrown in the mix. The wonder of not knowing if you’ll survive to see a day ...more
Cheryl
I loved the way this book was written--like a journal. It was like taking a step right into Tara Walker's life from when she was 9 until she is in her 30's. I got to read all of her deepest thoughts--things that probably not many people in her life knew about. The only thing I thought was kind of strange is that she was writing in her journal at graduation, but I guess it could happen?

Tara is a comical little girl. She talks about mom being mad at her dad for drinking "acka-hall (that's a bad d
...more
Julie Ann
Aug 10, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book, it was a quick read because the pace just zoomed along, I really got into Tara's story and thought it was such an engaging and entertaining read. It felt like chatting with a girlfriend about all the ups and downs in life and I really admired the main characters fortitude and resiliency.
Highly recommend!
...more
Kristel Greer
Apr 25, 2022 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was sent a copy of this book for review.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~.
Tara has dealt with a lot in her 24 years. Returning to her family home to attend her brother's funeral, discovers a journal she started writing at aged 8 and it brings back so many memories from her past through flashbacks to a cousin taking advantage, a disturbing lecherous father of a friend and a traumatic sexual assault She has always sought love in her relationships but as she delves into her past she uncovers t
...more
Diane
Mar 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Tara Walker is nine years old when she begins a diary in Black Child to Black Woman: an effort that follows her emergence into adulthood, sweeping readers into her perceptions and interpretations of life from first a child's eye, then from an adult perspective.

Tara's voice notably changes as she matures, and this is just one strength to a powerful presentation which succeeds in imparting a realistic sense of progressive growth as it follows the fictional evolution of a girl to womanhood.

Another
...more
Samantha Canesi
Black Child to Black Woman is a relatively quick but solid read about growing up in a world that is not the kindest.
Bannerman does a great job of allowing us to truly see through the eyes of a very young Tara as she tries to understand her father's drinking, her parents fighting, and the way men and boys treat her. We can a real sense of her naivety and innocence and we follow her as she loses some of that.
We follow along as she grows up and better understands why some of these things are happ
...more
Jessica
Apr 21, 2022 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: book-tours
Black Child to Black Woman by Cheryl Bannerman

⭐️⭐️⭐️

Thank you to author @bannermanbooks18 & @lovebookstours for my gifted copy.

My thoughts: truly enjoyed this coming of age story in journal entry form. I felt that reading the journal entries brought you along through her family tragedies, her growing up and becoming an adult through all of her experiences. The writing style grows with the character and I enjoyed her endurance & strength to make it through all the tough times.

Blurb 
When twenty
...more
Crystal Luckey
Aug 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book made me think about my childhood and what I experienced from the age of nine into adulthood. Tara journaled her life and shared her experiences that she felt helped shaped the person she became. This book became an eye opener to me because as we become adults do we ever sit back and think about things we saw and did as children, no, but Tara sat back and stated as she was just going through the motions of life the little girl inside was worried. I loved every journal entry and saw why ...more
Krys Vielman-Diaz
I love a book that deviates from a traditional reading experience and this book was just that! In “Black Child to Black Woman”, you follow Tara finding her old diary that chronicles her life from being a 9 year old child to a grown adult with her own child. I really enjoyed seeing her voice grow and develop over time as she had more experiences and watching as her understanding of her familial relationships shifted as time went on.

There were some parts I was confused about, because it seemed th
...more
Rach ☀️
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Chloe Mcnaught
This book is written entirely through
Diary inserts as we follow Tara’s life from a black child to a black woman. The diary extracts are raw and at times heart wrenching and it really makes you think about the racism that black people faced, and still face today. The blurb for the book isn’t entirely accurate in my opinion, before reading this book I didn’t realise the story would be told through diary extracts alone, I was expecting more of a back story to the book alongside the diary, and I fel
...more
Sabrina Lipowski
This story follows our main character Tara, who is returning home following the death of her brother. There she finds an old journal she started when she was 8, and the story unfolds as she rereads her journal entries.

This book was a short, quick read! I found the story-telling through journal entries to be so interesting, especially as Bannerman depicted each age so well in its entry. It made the story so emotional because you get Tara’s innermost thoughts and feelings, ones she won’t share w
...more
Ash
Apr 24, 2022 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
𝚃𝚊𝚛𝚊 𝚆𝚊𝚕𝚔𝚎𝚛 𝚜𝚝𝚞𝚖𝚋𝚕𝚎𝚜 𝚊𝚌𝚛𝚘𝚜𝚜 𝚑𝚎𝚛 𝚓𝚘𝚞𝚛𝚗𝚊𝚕 𝚝𝚑𝚊𝚝 𝚜𝚑𝚎 𝚔𝚎𝚙𝚝 𝚠𝚑𝚎𝚗 𝚜𝚑𝚎 𝚠𝚊𝚜 𝚢𝚘𝚞𝚗𝚐. 𝙰𝚝 𝚝𝚠𝚎𝚗𝚝𝚢 𝚏𝚘𝚞𝚛, 𝚜𝚑𝚎 𝚒𝚜 𝚝𝚊𝚔𝚎𝚗 𝚋𝚊𝚌𝚔 𝚝𝚘 𝚝𝚑𝚘𝚜𝚎 𝚎𝚊𝚛𝚕𝚢 𝚍𝚊𝚢𝚜 𝚠𝚑𝚎𝚗 𝚑𝚎𝚛 𝚕𝚒𝚏𝚎 𝚠𝚊𝚜 𝚏𝚒𝚕𝚕𝚎𝚍 𝚠𝚒𝚝𝚑 𝚝𝚛𝚒𝚊𝚕𝚜 𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚝𝚛𝚒𝚋𝚞𝚕𝚊𝚝𝚒𝚘𝚗𝚜. 𝚃𝚑𝚛𝚘𝚞𝚐𝚑 𝚕𝚘𝚟𝚎 𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚐𝚞𝚒𝚍𝚊𝚗𝚌𝚎 𝚏𝚛𝚘𝚖 𝚑𝚎𝚛 𝚙𝚊𝚛𝚎𝚗𝚝𝚜, 𝚜𝚑𝚎 𝚕𝚎𝚊𝚛𝚗𝚜 𝚑𝚘𝚠 𝚝𝚘 𝚙𝚛𝚘𝚐𝚛𝚎𝚜𝚜 𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚖𝚊𝚝𝚞𝚛𝚎 𝚒𝚗𝚝𝚘 𝚊 𝚠𝚘𝚖𝚊𝚗. 𝚃𝚑𝚒𝚜 𝚌𝚘𝚖𝚒𝚗𝚐 𝚘𝚏 𝚊𝚐𝚎 𝚜𝚝𝚘𝚛𝚢 𝚒𝚜 𝚛𝚊𝚠 𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚌𝚊𝚙𝚝𝚒𝚟𝚊𝚝𝚒𝚗𝚐, 𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚒𝚝 𝚠𝚒𝚕𝚕 𝚜𝚞𝚌𝚔 𝚢𝚘𝚞 𝚒𝚗!

𝙸 𝚍𝚎𝚟𝚘𝚞𝚛𝚎𝚍 𝚝𝚑𝚒𝚜 𝚗𝚘𝚟𝚎𝚕 𝚒𝚗 𝚘𝚗𝚎 𝚜𝚒𝚝𝚝𝚒𝚗𝚐! 𝚃𝚑𝚎 𝚌𝚑𝚊𝚛𝚊𝚌𝚝𝚎𝚛𝚜 𝚠𝚎𝚛𝚎 𝚛𝚎𝚕𝚊𝚝𝚊𝚋𝚕𝚎 𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚕𝚒𝚜𝚝𝚒𝚌. 𝚃𝚑𝚎 𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚍𝚎𝚛 𝚌𝚊𝚗’𝚝 𝚑𝚎𝚕𝚙 𝚋𝚞𝚝 𝚌𝚘𝚗𝚗𝚎𝚌𝚝 𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚜𝚢𝚖𝚙𝚊𝚝𝚑𝚒𝚣𝚎 𝚠𝚒𝚝𝚑 𝚃𝚊𝚛𝚊. 𝚂𝚑𝚎
...more
Layla Penfold
Apr 16, 2022 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book allured me in straight away within the first few paragraphs.
I really enjoyed the first person narrative from Tara, loved the way the book was presented, in journal entries. Really enjoyed reading about the way Tara saw and felt everything.
She had it extremely tough, from abuse of all forms to very troubled siblings.
Tara got put through so many trials and tribulations, but she overcome every single thing with such great strength.
This was a incredible book, she definitely told you ab
...more
Fay Christensen
Oct 07, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book immersed me into Tara's life in a fantastic, heartfelt way. I loved the writing style, it truly helped me feel her struggles and her darkest moments, it helped me enjoy the happiness that Tara felt. I absolutely recommend this book. ...more
Charlotte Knight
Apr 17, 2022 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I think it’s quite obvious from the title that this is a coming of age tale, I’ll be honest, I really wasn’t expecting to enjoy this novella as much as I did.

Tara shares her story of growing up in America and the traumas she went through from childhood to adulthood. What I loved so much about this one was how it tackled some hard hitting topics but the story still felt light. It’s in a diary format which worked exceptionally well and allowed me to feel Tara’s frustration with a lot of the scena
...more
Alnaya Kendrick
rated it it was amazing
Mar 07, 2022
Michelle Hunter-Gray
rated it really liked it
Apr 08, 2022
Bookshelf Bunny
rated it liked it
Aug 27, 2020
Cheryl Bannerman
Oct 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Kristen Hollister
rated it it was amazing
Oct 13, 2021
Lucianna Wolfstone
rated it it was amazing
Jan 18, 2018
Hannah
rated it liked it
Apr 10, 2022
Tonya Wilson
rated it it was amazing
Mar 15, 2022
Kenya O
rated it it was amazing
Sep 19, 2019
Quatina Rockmore
rated it really liked it
Feb 14, 2020
Evangeline Grant
rated it liked it
Jan 05, 2022
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • I Know What You're Thinking
  • Pushing Through The Cracks
  • Husband Material
  • No Holds Barred (In the Heart of a Valentine, #1)
  • The Darwin Affair
  • Let Me Please You (McClain Brothers #4.5)
  • The One He Needs
  • Yearn for Me
  • Feign for Me
  • The Allure of You: Harmony and Remi (The Allure of You Series Book 2)
  • Forever Ain't Enough
  • The Allure Of You: A Novella (The Allure of You Series Book 1)
  • Christine
  • Horns
  • The Tommyknockers
  • My Mother's Man
  • Let Me Free You (McClain Brothers #4)
See similar books…
Cheryl Denise Bannerman is an award-winning, multi-genre author of seven self-published books. She is the winner of the 2018 Book Excellence Award for her book of poetry, Words Never Spoken, winner of the Best Books Awards in the category of African American fiction in 2020 for Black Child to Black Woman, and 2021 Readers' Favorite Honorable Mention in the Fiction - Urban genre for Black Child to ...more

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
25 likes · 0 comments