Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Black Child to Black Woman” as Want to Read:
Black Child to Black Woman
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Black Child to Black Woman

by
4.77  ·  Rating details ·  13 ratings  ·  8 reviews
“If you are looking for a true, gritty story about life in its rawest form, then Black Child to Black Woman...will fit the bill.” — Readers Favorite

When twenty-four-year-old Tara Walker goes home for her brother’s funeral, she discovers the secret journal she started when she was eight. As she reads, she is pulled back into her complicated, raw, and often frightening child
...more
Paperback, 2
Published May 2nd 2019 by Bublish (first published July 29th 2010)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Black Child to Black Woman, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Black Child to Black Woman

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-35
Average rating 4.77  · 
Rating details
 ·  13 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Black Child to Black Woman
NicCole
Feb 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Based on the title alone, one would assume it could be about a black child being raised by their black mother and their experiences growing up. That’s only part of it, but you also learn more about what it was like from the perspective of a young black individual and how life became many lessons learned. If growing up to become what you’re destined to be wasn’t bad enough, try having to fight constant battles of wrenches thrown in the mix. The wonder of not knowing if you’ll survive to see a day ...more
Cheryl
I loved the way this book was written--like a journal. It was like taking a step right into Tara Walker's life from when she was 9 until she is in her 30's. I got to read all of her deepest thoughts--things that probably not many people in her life knew about. The only thing I thought was kind of strange is that she was writing in her journal at graduation, but I guess it could happen?

Tara is a comical little girl. She talks about mom being mad at her dad for drinking "acka-hall (that's a bad d
...more
Julie Ann
Aug 10, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book, it was a quick read because the pace just zoomed along, I really got into Tara's story and thought it was such an engaging and entertaining read. It felt like chatting with a girlfriend about all the ups and downs in life and I really admired the main characters fortitude and resiliency.
Highly recommend!
Jewel Hart
Jan 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Black Child to Black Woman by Cheryl Denise Bannerman is an incredible read filled with raw, honest and emotional narrative. It is an interesting, startling and poignant look into one girl’s tragic, yet inspiring life story. This is one of the best books I have read this year.

Tara Walker returns home for her brother’s funeral. While there, she finds her old journal from when she was eight years old living in the Deep South. Immediately she is reminded of the chaos of her shocking dysfunctional c
...more
Diane
Mar 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Tara Walker is nine years old when she begins a diary in Black Child to Black Woman: an effort that follows her emergence into adulthood, sweeping readers into her perceptions and interpretations of life from first a child's eye, then from an adult perspective.

Tara's voice notably changes as she matures, and this is just one strength to a powerful presentation which succeeds in imparting a realistic sense of progressive growth as it follows the fictional evolution of a girl to womanhood.

Another
...more
Samantha Canesi
Black Child to Black Woman is a relatively quick but solid read about growing up in a world that is not the kindest.
Bannerman does a great job of allowing us to truly see through the eyes of a very young Tara as she tries to understand her father's drinking, her parents fighting, and the way men and boys treat her. We can a real sense of her naivety and innocence and we follow her as she loses some of that.
We follow along as she grows up and better understands why some of these things are happ
...more
Crystal Luckey
Aug 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book made me think about my childhood and what I experienced from the age of nine into adulthood. Tara journaled her life and shared her experiences that she felt helped shaped the person she became. This book became an eye opener to me because as we become adults do we ever sit back and think about things we saw and did as children, no, but Tara sat back and stated as she was just going through the motions of life the little girl inside was worried. I loved every journal entry and saw why ...more
Ella James
Jan 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent must read 5 star read. Recommended to me by Chick Lit Cafe
Kim Bunneh
rated it liked it
Aug 27, 2020
Cheryl Bannerman
Oct 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Lucianna Wolfstone
rated it it was amazing
Jan 18, 2018
Kenya O
rated it it was amazing
Sep 19, 2019
Quatina Rockmore
rated it really liked it
Feb 14, 2020
Cheryl Bannerman
Oct 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Tamara
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2011
Candis Stevens
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2011
Jackie
marked it as to-read
May 08, 2013
Kmnp
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2013
Ummmohd75
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2018
Claudia1930gmail.Com
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2018
Sophia Flemming
marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2018
HerBrina Shepherd
marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2018
Smiley
marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2018
Evangeline Grant
marked it as to-read
Dec 13, 2018
mama mo
marked it as to-read
Mar 09, 2019
Tamtee23
marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2019
Latronda
marked it as to-read
Aug 16, 2019
Pawpaw
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Enithia Jones
marked it as to-read
Sep 05, 2020
Kyra Gates
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2011
Natalie
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2011
Tiara
marked it as to-read
Jun 14, 2019
R. Pursell
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2019
Ciara Francois
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Kia
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Darwin Affair
  • Suspicious Minds (Stranger Things #1)
  • Horns
  • The Tommyknockers
  • The Forest of Hands and Teeth (The Forest of Hands and Teeth, #1)
  • Christine
  • The Pretender
  • Husband Material
  • 30 Days of Night, Vol. 1
  • Death in Paraiso
  • The Governor's Appointment: "The South Shall Rise Again"
  • Sh*t My Dad Says
  • Trapped in Bat Wing Hall (Give Yourself Goosebumps, #3)
  • Egg Monsters from Mars (Goosebumps, #42)
  • No Holds Barred (In the Heart of a Valentine, #1)
  • Let Me Please You (McClain Brothers #4.5)
  • Arrested Heart (Arrested, #1)
  • The One He Needs
See similar books…
Even at the age of seven, up and coming Author Cheryl Denise Bannerman, would sit for hours on end reading about faraway lands, intriguing characters and intoxicating storylines.

And by a pre-teen, she was writing poetry for publication and short stories for school that moved the reader to laughter, tears, and sometimes anger. She was an old creative soul from a young age, experiencing way too much
...more

News & Interviews

  Award-winning journalist Maria Hinojosa’s highly anticipated new book, Once I Was You: A Memoir of Love and Hate in a Torn America, arrives...
6 likes · 0 comments