Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Chokehold (The Final War Book 3)” as Want to Read:
Chokehold (The Final War Book 3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Chokehold

(The Final War #3)

by
4.09  ·  Rating details ·  32 ratings  ·  13 reviews

The third book in the new series from Hater author David Moody is perfect for readers of John Maberry and Max Brooks

Set in the world of David Moody's Hater trilogy, Chokehold is the third book in David Moody’s new "top drawer horror" (Booklist, starred review) Final War series.

A series of nuclear strikes has left huge swathes of the country uninhabitable. It’s a level

...more
Kindle Edition, 348 pages
Published November 19th 2019 by St. Martin's Griffin
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Chokehold, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Chokehold

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.09  · 
Rating details
 ·  32 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Chokehold (The Final War Book 3)
Lisa
Sep 07, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I've had a bookish love affair with Mr. Moody for years. I've read everything I can by this man. He's someone that I have copies of real books and kindle books. So, to say that I have been looking forward to a continuation of this series is an understatement!
Unfortunately.....There was no closure. It was great meeting up with past characters. Sad as hell too! But, the war still rages. I hate that! Also, I've discovered that whereas before I had sympathy for both sides, I don't anymore. I wish
...more
Greg at 2 Book Lovers Reviews
*4.5 Stars

Authors are able to accomplish some incredible things: they create worlds that captivate people, they imagine characters that complete strangers connect with, they make people forget, temporarily, about the normal lives they live. David Moody has accomplished all of this with his Hater world.

Through my years of reading I’ve come to consider Danny McCoyne a good friend and, more recently, Matt Dunne one as well. Moody has created these characters who feel so real to me, I connect with
...more
Craig DiLouie
David Moody brings his HATER series into a spectacular landing with CHOKEHOLD, coming out from St. Martin’s Griffin November 19, 2019. I was lucky to receive an advance copy of the book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I first read HATER back when Moody was self-publishing his zombie fiction in PDFs, and fell in love with it. In this apocalyptic novel, a dormant genetic switch flips in a third of humanity, making them terrified and hateful of the other two-thirds, resulting in a
...more
Horror DNA
Dec 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: shane-d-keene
I have a confession. When it comes to zombies and most other end-of-the-world scenarios, I’ve become jaded and pretty much completely burnt. More and more it seems like there’s nothing new or unique to be found and I don’t find the themes to be even remotely entertaining anymore. It’s true that a thing can be done to death—or undeath—and the worst of all is the walking dead. So I’m an extremely hard sell when it comes to the trope. Almost 100% of the time, if you offer me this type of story for ...more
Lisa
Sep 07, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: net-galley
I've had a bookish love affair with Mr. Moody for years. I've read everything I can by this man. He's someone that I have copies of real books and kindle books. So, to say that I have been looking forward to a continuation of this series is an understatement! Unfortunately.....There was no closure. It was great meeting up with past characters. Sad as hell too! But, the war still rages. I hate that! Also, I've discovered that whereas before I had sympathy for both sides, I don't anymore. I wish ...more
Suzanne Bainbridge
Dec 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Although this review doesn't contain "spoilers" I will have to give you some of the backgrounds as although this is a book that can be read on its own really it's best enjoyed if you know the start, middle and now the ending of the end of the world? I've put the question mark there as I haven't actually finished my book so I don't know what's going to happen but I know for sure it's not going to be an ending of rainbows and unicorns it will probably be nasty and yet maybe still with a glimmer of ...more
OutlawPoet
Dec 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
I've read the other two books in the series and really enjoyed them.

As a result, I was surprised that it took me a bit to get into this one. In fact, I stopped and started about three times before it finally caught hold.

The thing is, it's a good book. It's got action and heartbreak iconic characters and fights that border on epic. I think maybe, though, it's a little too close to the world today. No, we're not battling a true pandemic of rage...but sometimes, looking at the news, it sure feels
...more
Amy Braun
Dec 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Actual rating is 4.5! I've been a huge fan of the HATER books for a long time and I'm sad to see the series come to a close. That said, it definitely went out with a bang! The one story was packed with action, drama, betrayal, and violence. Multiple perspectives added to the the world and its complexities. The entire story played out like an action movie with a fantastic, adrenaline-packed ending.

Many of the characters were great, though I must confess that Matt's attitude really bothered me
...more
Linda Bond
Sep 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It’s a dystopian novel with a twist. This is the third book in a series about the Haters and the Unchanged, who are about to face off in a war to end all wars, to herald the apocalypse that everyone expects but hopes to live through. Once the fighting starts, it’s horrific. The only problem: even though there are winners and losers, it’s not over yet. If you like to dig into an apocalyptic melee once in a while, check out Moody’s very realistic series – part social upheaval and part military ...more
Donna Hines
Sep 21, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: arc, netgalley
Survival of the fittest or the craziest you decide...
Truth be told this one is about two main groups the Unchanged v the Haters and it's anyone's guess as to whether or not they can survive the last major battle in an area that's been deemed uninhabitable from previous nuclear strikes.
The Unchanged have structure whereas the Haters operate more using individual aggression.
One thing is certain as they both are determined to fight till the death with no holds barred.
It's a fight for pure survival
...more
Jen Juenke
Aug 30, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: post-apocalyptic
Let me first preface this review by saying that I have NOT read the other books in the series....
It would have helped if the author had at some point given a brief synopsis of what had transpired before this book.
I thought that the book had an interesting concept...yet...by the middle of the book, I was not certain which side I should be on...the haters or the unchanged.
I felt that the book just lacked OOMPH! There was NO clear direction of where or who the main story should be about.
By the end
...more
Jess
Nov 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Loved it! Just like all the other books in the hater series I was totally gripped from page one and couldn't put it down. Really interesting to read from both sides of the war and finding that I sympathised with both sides depending on which book I was reading. Highly recommend the whole hater series.
Annarella
Nov 19, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I couldn't be involved in this book and it failed to keep my attention. Even if it's well written it's not my cup of tea.
Many thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.
Denise Sale
rated it really liked it
Nov 29, 2019
Rebecca
rated it it was amazing
Aug 29, 2019
Alice
rated it liked it
Dec 05, 2019
Scott
rated it really liked it
Dec 04, 2019
Asher
rated it it was amazing
Nov 26, 2019
Aaron Carroll
rated it really liked it
Dec 10, 2019
Joanne Dyck
rated it really liked it
Nov 27, 2019
Sabrina
rated it really liked it
Nov 25, 2019
Christian Haugh
rated it really liked it
Dec 04, 2019
Cory
rated it liked it
Nov 27, 2019
Trevor
rated it really liked it
Nov 24, 2019
Richard Cosgrove
rated it it was amazing
Aug 28, 2019
Garrett Herrington
rated it really liked it
Dec 10, 2019
Trevor
rated it really liked it
Sep 11, 2019
Thomas Mccarthy
rated it really liked it
Dec 03, 2019
R. Gregory
rated it really liked it
Dec 10, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Old Bones (Nora Kelly #1)
  • Violet
  • Blue Moon (Jack Reacher, #24)
  • Clowns Vs. Spiders
  • Full Throttle
  • American Predator: The Hunt for the Most Meticulous Serial Killer of the 21st Century
  • Beyond the Gate (Kathy Ryan, #4)
  • Wanderers
  • The Handmaid's Tale: The Graphic Novel
  • InkStained: On Creativity, Writing, and Art
  • Rise of the Governor (The Walking Dead #1)
  • Memories of Tomorrow (Nameless #6)
  • The Mercy of Snakes (Nameless #5)
  • Boy Erased: A Memoir of Identity, Faith, and Family
  • Farmhand, Vol. 2: Thorne in the Flesh
  • Batman: Damned
  • Beasts of Burden: Neighborhood Watch
  • Red Rain (Nameless #4)
See similar books…
1,066 followers
A pioneer of independent publishing, DAVID MOODY first released HATER in 2006, and without an agent, succeeded in selling the film rights for the novel to Mark Johnson (producer, Breaking Bad) and Guillermo Del Toro (director, The Shape of Water, Pan's Labyrinth). Moody's seminal zombie novel AUTUMN was made into an (admittedly terrible) movie starring Dexter Fletcher and David Carradine. He has ...more

Other books in the series

The Final War (3 books)
  • One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning
  • All Roads End Here