Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Stay Gold” as Want to Read:
Stay Gold
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Stay Gold

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  22 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

Pony just wants to fly under the radar during senior year. Tired from
...more
ebook, 368 pages
Expected publication: May 26th 2020 by HarperTeen (first published May 5th 2020)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.36  · 
Rating details
 ·  22 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Stay Gold
✨    jamieson   ✨
Thankyou to the publisher for providing me with a review copy of this book !

This is an ownvoices book about a trans mc falling for a girl at his school, and it looks so cute. Can't wait !!
noah
Dec 13, 2019 rated it liked it
oh man i have so many conflicting feelings about this book.

it was so nice to read a book about a trans dude. there really isn't enough representation out there, but, i gotta say, this was pretty much the boy version of If I Was Your Girl. plotwise it was so similar.

the first chapter from pony's pov was a lot of info dumping on what being transgender is for him, it felt a little stiff, but thankfully pony's pov became a lot more casual and i ended up really liking him. it was really cute
...more
Gabrielle
Oct 14, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
10/14/19

"Stay Gold" ? "Pony" ? THE OUTSIDERS, anyone? Hello????
Ben Ace
Why did no one tell me about this sooner??!?!!?!
Sana
Dec 01, 2019 marked it as anti-library
Shelves: arcs
A love story featuring an #ownvoices trans main character, yessss
✿
Jan 07, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: rep-trans
2.5 stars

tws: transphobia (assault, bullying, deadnaming, slurs), lesbophobia

rep: trans mc

Sophie Elaina
So so so excited for this!!!

Thank you so much to Harper Collins for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review!
...more
Fanna
Dec 18, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2020-releases
- ownvoices transgender rep
- coming of age rom-com, compared to To All the Boys I've Loved Before
- alternate pov
- opposites attract trope

THIS debut novel will definitely be anticipated by me with all my heart!
Akelly
Dec 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Everybody get ready for this new YA release! An exploration of how we all withhold information and essential parts of ourselves to fit in and experience an uncomplicated existence. The characters were believable, relatable and fun to follow. Also my girlfriend was proud of me for reading something that didn’t leave me crying or having an existential crises for once ...more
|| Soph ||
Jan 07, 2020 marked it as to-read
*inhales* HIS NAME IS PONY OHEMGEEE
Michelle
Jan 22, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: lgbtq, sss, wishlist
did... did anyone say druck season three
rachel ☾
Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

BlogGoodreadsTwitterInstagramThe Book Depository
...more
Chloe
Jan 04, 2020 added it
*Spoiler free*

This was a book with a trans main character, who is going to a new school and wants to keep his identity under wraps. He also develops a crush on a cheerleader and she feels the same connection he does. I practically pounced on this book when I heard about it. Honestly, I heard it had a trans main character and that's all I needed to want to read it, everything else was just a major bonus. Trigger warnings: transphobia, homophobia, transphobic attack, suicidal ideation, implied
...more
samantha
Dec 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Mary
Dec 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I am going to totally steal the review of Riley Davis (Next Chapter Booksellers, St. Paul, MN) who says: "Stay Gold is the classic boy-meets-girl romantic comedy with characters that break the traditional tropes of a rom-com." Genius to have the reader rooting for Pony's success. And kudos to the author for really putting his money where his mouth is by creating the Stay Gold Fund.
Leo
Jan 15, 2020 marked it as to-read
own voices own voices own voices own voices own voices own voices own voices
trans mc trans mc trans mc trans mc trans mc trans mc trans mc trans mc trans mc
Heather Doss
rated it it was amazing
Oct 28, 2019
Meredith Salisbury
rated it liked it
Dec 27, 2019
Kaitlin
rated it it was amazing
Oct 31, 2019
Kristen
rated it liked it
Nov 26, 2019
Julianna
rated it it was amazing
Sep 14, 2019
Serita
rated it it was amazing
Jun 21, 2019
Nicholas Calderon
rated it really liked it
Aug 01, 2019
Samantha
rated it it was amazing
Nov 22, 2019
Alyssa
rated it really liked it
Nov 01, 2019
Emet Marwell
rated it it was amazing
Jan 13, 2020
Alexx Delzer
rated it it was amazing
Jan 03, 2020
Andrea
rated it it was amazing
Sep 04, 2019
Pauline Mardoc
rated it it was amazing
Nov 25, 2019
Erika
rated it it was amazing
Aug 10, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Camp
  • Get a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1)
  • The Falling in Love Montage
  • In the Dream House
  • Such a Fun Age
  • Pet
  • Over the Top: A Raw Journey to Self-Love
  • Twice in a Blue Moon
  • Parrotfish
  • Conviction
  • Skim
  • The Grace Year
  • Dan Unmasked
  • How to Be a Girl in the World
  • The Right Swipe (Modern Love, #1)
  • Boundless
  • Call Down the Hawk (Dreamer, #1)
  • Tool and Die (Home Repair is Homicide, #8)
See similar books…
10 followers
Tobly McSmith is the co-creator/writer of eight somewhat successful musical parodies, including Friends! The Musical Parody and The Office! The Musical Parody. Tobly was born in Texas. He now lives in New York City with his two cats, Bam-Bam and Bananas McSmith. Tobly is proud to be transgender.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »